Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great bluetooth mobile speaker, if not truly portable
Compact speakers are always a tricky prospect because reducing speaker size inherently compromises sound quality. Creative appear to be hitting a middle ground of sorts with a bluetooth mobile speaker that is not *truly* portable at this size (and without a battery) but greatly boosts its sound quality as a result.

Pairing the device using the Android app was...
Published on 28 Aug. 2012 by Priyan Meewella

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Superb technology, mediocre sound
After browsing Creative's superb website to compensate for the rather poor instructions in the box, I tried to set up the Axx 10 (apparently it's pronounced "Axe") with my MacBook... and failed, but more of that later.

Setting the device up on the iPhone and iPad was a doddle - just set the device looking for something to pair with, press the 'Bluetooth' button...
Published on 25 Aug. 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great bluetooth mobile speaker, if not truly portable, 28 Aug. 2012
By 
Priyan Meewella "Phoenix" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Creative Sound Blaster Axx 10 Wireless Bluetooth Speaker with Microphone for iPad, iPhone, Android, PC or Mac Devices (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Compact speakers are always a tricky prospect because reducing speaker size inherently compromises sound quality. Creative appear to be hitting a middle ground of sorts with a bluetooth mobile speaker that is not *truly* portable at this size (and without a battery) but greatly boosts its sound quality as a result.

Pairing the device using the Android app was startlingly easy. The app is simple, pleasant to look at thoughtfully designed, down to the single button press to activate or deactivate bluetooth without hunting through the device's settings menus. Once paired, the app will do so automatically whenever in range.

The Axx 10 itself is well built and attractive with an unusual hexagonal design and slanted touchscreen controls. However, despite the Sound Blaster processing inside, I found myself rarely touching those controls. Ostensibly providing options familiar to those who have used Creative's PC soundcards, like auditorium effects and virtual surround sound, the speaker is at its best with these options off: its sound is generally clear and warm.

An integrated microphone means the speaker can be used for hands-free voice calls as well. Voices were clear and loud and I received a good report from those on the receiving end, though I can't speak to how much of this can actually be attributed the unit's "focused" field and CrystalVoice processing. It is certainly a vast improvement over a phone's built-in hands-free option.

At around a foot tall, I feel the Axx 10 serves best as a fixed location bedroom or study speaker with its minimal footprint making it easy to leave permanently on a bedside table or desk. It is certainly not going to replace your primary sound system if you have one and, although Creative seek to promote it as such, I would struggle to recommend it as a laptop or PC speaker. Particularly at this price a decent set of 2.1 speakers would be a better investment for music and film. However, for the home office, the Axx 10 is ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Superb technology, mediocre sound, 25 Aug. 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "m_farncombe" (Guildford UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Creative Sound Blaster Axx 10 Wireless Bluetooth Speaker with Microphone for iPad, iPhone, Android, PC or Mac Devices (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
After browsing Creative's superb website to compensate for the rather poor instructions in the box, I tried to set up the Axx 10 (apparently it's pronounced "Axe") with my MacBook... and failed, but more of that later.

Setting the device up on the iPhone and iPad was a doddle - just set the device looking for something to pair with, press the 'Bluetooth' button on the back of the speaker for four seconds, and it's paired. There's a very good app on the appstore which allows easy control of the speaker as well as the usual iTunes controls. The app also allows you to change the sound settings on the speaker to various forms of distortion 'warm', 'concert', 'surround', 'gamer' etc but in my opinion, these just made the sound worse.

As well as controls on the app, there are elegant and easy to use touch controls on the top of the unit, and I am very impressed with the aesthetic elements as well as technological design of the device. It has line-in and USB inputs as well as bluetooth, and headphone sockets as well.

But back to the Mac (running Mountain Lion, by the way) - the app wouldn't install until I removed all the security settings on the Mac, and then it wouldn't run - it just closed down. And I never managed to pair with the device using bluetooth, despite multiple attempts. The device worked OK via the USB cable though.

The device (back to that great design) also acts as a speaker and microphone for your mobile phone or Skype calls, which is neat, and means this device would make a useful addition to any home office. You can even use it for karaoke, although why you would want to do that is beyond me.

The sound: the Axx10 is certainly one of the best mobile speakers I've heard, but it is still not that good and certainly not as good as the speakers on my laptop. The 'simulated stereo' and 'surround sound' just sounded like distorted mono to me, and why the device has good bass it wasn't as clear as other devices I've tried.

So if you want a versatile, sleek device for use as a Skype or phone extension, or to use as a speaker for your iPhone/iPad, then I have no hesitation in recommending this. But if you want great sound from your laptop, use the money to buy a really good pair of stereo speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great sound, a little fiddly to get working, 3 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Creative Sound Blaster Axx 10 Wireless Bluetooth Speaker with Microphone for iPad, iPhone, Android, PC or Mac Devices (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a neat little unit, where the sound output vastly outperforms the size of the unit. It comprises two speakers set into a larger tower. The two speakers and a combination of clever software and hardware are able to create both stereo and spatial effects, along with good bass and volume.

Cons:
1) It does ship with a mains power adapater (a new edition I think for the UK market), however the cable is a little short.
2) Really is primarily aimed for Bluetooh devices - you can get it working with other devices, however it's real ease-of-use comes with pairing up to an Apple or Android device.
3) Occassionally loses connection, however this could be down to the iPad I have, not necessarily the speaker itself.
4) Buttons on the unit itself are difficult to push with accuracy, particularly the volume control - I find it only has 3 options - 0, 50% or 100%! Easy enough to control though through the tablet software available.
5) If it's on, it will always pair with your device - so if you're in another room of the house and not getting any sound, most likely it's coming out of wherever the speaker is located!

Pros:
1) Well styled, unobtrusive unit.
2) Sound output and quality is very good and completely blows away the normal 'travel' type speakers available.
3) Tablet software is easy to use and has lots of options to tweak the sound
4) Pairs quickly and easily with my bluetooth devices.
5) Can be powered through mains or via USB (no battery option though).
6) Microphone seems to be effective, though I have barely used this feature as it's not what I use it for.

Overall, I definitely recommend this speaker unit - it's possibly to hide it away (unlike something like the Zeppelin) and still be amazed by the quality it produces. It won't make your windows fall out with the bass and volume, however it's also only 30cm tall.

This is the mid-range model - I am not sure what you lose with the lower model or gain with the upper one, however overall I am very impressed and would recommend the unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far better than expected, 20 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Sound Blaster Axx 10 Wireless Bluetooth Speaker with Microphone for iPad, iPhone, Android, PC or Mac Devices (Electronics)
The image portrayed and physical size of this amazing device might suggest it would struggle to perform.
I must firstly let everyone know to ensure the USB supply has the capacity to power this properly.
I started with a USB which was 500mA; this caused the device to appear to fuinction, but I could not get any sound out of it.
I then switched to a 2A USB socket, and discovered the delights of this wonder of technology.
Pairing was simple and has never dropped.
I used it in my garden and had to turn the volume down to less than half (using the excellent app on my iphone to do this of course) to avoid disturbing the neighbours.
I feel the negative reviews are unjust and can not help but think some of them may have come about by using a USB socket without sufficient current capabilities.
Also, most people who do not get distortion at high volume levels believe the device is under powered; for once, the speaker drivers can handle the maximum output of the amplifier, which serves to protect the life of the speakers.
Extremely happy with this product; don't always judge a product from reviews; check the item out yourself; you can always return it if unsatisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but tricksy volume, 18 April 2013
By 
Ken Raus "Ken Raus" (Lugdunum) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Creative Sound Blaster Axx 10 Wireless Bluetooth Speaker with Microphone for iPad, iPhone, Android, PC or Mac Devices (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I can't add much to the positive reviews and the sound is very good and clear...you can connect it direct to your computer and overtake your own computer sound with it but I too,found the instructions for use with other devices a trifle obtuse and stingy...what I didn't like and this is a big one is that the touch controls on top of the machine are very tricky to use and very and in fact almost uncontrollable until and if you can learn to tap them very skillfully although if you're used to a mousepad that might not take long...it didn't make enough diffference to me to use it that much although I will try all the functions in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Sounds!, 14 Aug. 2012
By 
Olivarovich (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Creative Sound Blaster Axx 10 Wireless Bluetooth Speaker with Microphone for iPad, iPhone, Android, PC or Mac Devices (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am so pleased with this piece of kit. It is excellent.

The sounds is strong and clear. At loud volumes it doesn't distort. The only downside is that it is in mono (obviously being a single block). Also the upper limit on the volume is not that loud. It is loud in comparison with the speakers on a laptop or an ipad, but it isn't ear-splittingly loud. You could probably get away with it for a party, but it might not be enough to get everyone dancing.

The unit itself looks sleek and smart. It has a discrete touch-control pad on the top. The volume control is particularly groovy - you simply press where you want the volume and a series of lines representing the volume move across to that point, then a single line slowly throbs on and off to show where it is. Great effect.

The best part is that it is brilliantly versatile. It can be instantly plugged in to any laptop and simply select the Soundblaster for sound output and you are away. Better still is the bluetooth linking. I downloaded an Ipad app and have been running it wirelessly off my Iphone ever since. The range is excellent - it still plays beautifully when I am at the other side of the house.

Apparently it also has a microphone built in and the instructions suggest that it works particularly well for Skype calls or for voice recognition software. I have not ventured into that yet but given the speaker is so good, I expect that is too. It has lots of handy extras too: noise cancelling; mute; voice focus - which apparently picks up only from one point, so for voice recognition or a call it won't pick up the kids making a racket in the next room; it can even alter the voice with a variety of effects.

Terrific. I'm really pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Incompatible with 2008 iMac!, 12 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Sound Blaster Axx 10 Wireless Bluetooth Speaker with Microphone for iPad, iPhone, Android, PC or Mac Devices (Electronics)
I bought this item with the intention of using it with my 2008 iMac (model 8,1). However, I was unable to connect the product via bluetooth to my mac. Given my mac works perfectly with other bluetooth items i'm not entirely sure why speaker failed to interact with my mac. After giving up on the bluetooth connection I reverted to a wired connection to test the speaker performance. As reported in other reviews, the sound quality isn't great; it's a little flat and doesn't really differentiate between instruments in a variety of different music (classical, rock and pop). So even if you get them to work via bluetooth, don't expect to hear an amazing sound!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars wrongly named for the volume, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Sound Blaster Axx 10 Wireless Bluetooth Speaker with Microphone for iPad, iPhone, Android, PC or Mac Devices (Electronics)
Bought it to replace my Azatom speaker wasnt powerful enough but this wasnt any better,so was returned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
This review is from: Creative Sound Blaster Axx 10 Wireless Bluetooth Speaker with Microphone for iPad, iPhone, Android, PC or Mac Devices (Electronics)
Great value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars will not maintain bluetooth connection, 28 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Sound Blaster Axx 10 Wireless Bluetooth Speaker with Microphone for iPad, iPhone, Android, PC or Mac Devices (Electronics)
This is second unit I have had and both faulty. The Bluetooth connection cuts out when playing music after a few seconds and control is then lost on the device
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews