Customer Reviews


420 Reviews
5 star:
 (320)
4 star:
 (62)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars USB SuperDrive
Like all things apple it just works plug it in and it works I like the fact that it only has a single cable to supply power and data no separate power supply required some customers might find the cable a little short but it works ok for me with my set up once again another great product from apple would recommend
Published on 15 Aug. 2012 by Blue oyster 55

versus
39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too sure yet
I had a problem when it first arrived and returned it to the supplier as it was making a bad noise and ejected the Family Tree Maker disc that I had purchased at the same time, when I received the USB SuperDrive the second time it did manage to install the disc but still made a lower noise, so I'm not sure if this is the norm or not only time will tell.

I will...
Published on 26 April 2013 by K Askin


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too sure yet, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple USB SuperDrive (Personal Computers)
I had a problem when it first arrived and returned it to the supplier as it was making a bad noise and ejected the Family Tree Maker disc that I had purchased at the same time, when I received the USB SuperDrive the second time it did manage to install the disc but still made a lower noise, so I'm not sure if this is the norm or not only time will tell.

I will not purchase anything else from E-Trade Tech again as their comments to me was out of line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Style over substance, 8 July 2013
This review is from: Apple USB SuperDrive (Personal Computers)
I bought a Superdrive to complement the new I-Mac. It looked good and felt solid compared with other makes. Although its cable is ridiculously short and it will not work with a powered USB3 hub, I can live with that. However, the big disappointment is that it produced audio CDs in a format not recognised by Hi-Fi CD players (I did set the burn option to "cd audio"). I took it to my local Apple Store who could not not test it as they don't have HI-Fi equipment. However, rather than send it away to be tested, they quite happily exchanged it for a new one. Three months later, after burning some 30 CDs, it is working fine.

Perhaps I was just unlucky the first time but, on a value for money basis, I cannot give more than three stars. Whilst having trouble with the first one, I borrowed a Samsung. It is very flimsy but it worked perfectly and, at less than half the price, it has to be a better buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars USB SuperDrive, 15 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple USB SuperDrive (Personal Computers)
Like all things apple it just works plug it in and it works I like the fact that it only has a single cable to supply power and data no separate power supply required some customers might find the cable a little short but it works ok for me with my set up once again another great product from apple would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


219 of 234 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless; does what it says on the tin!, 25 July 2012
By 
Fireball Dragon (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Apple USB SuperDrive (Personal Computers)
I purchased this 2012 updated Super Drive directly from Apple at the same time I ordered my MacBook Air (due to it not having a built-in disc drive).

It looks similar to the previously released Super Drive. However Apple claims that this updated model supports the new Retina Display MacBook, as well as providing support for other macs that do not come equipped with a built-in drive. It is well constructed and from the moment you open the box, you know you are in for a high quality item.

The drives footprint is no larger than a standard CD case; I have taken mine in my bag to work and had no problems with added bulk or weight. It connects to the mac via USB and there is no additional software to install. It has not failed to recognise any DVD or CD that I have inserted. With a slot loading mechanism, there are no buttons on the drive and no hatches to lift. Simply insert the disc by sliding it in the slot and remove via the on screen eject button. I feel obliged to add that the cable from the Super Drive is fairly short (~12 inches). This may be a pro or con, depending on your needs, but the cable can be extended using a usb extension.

Conclusively, the Super Drive is a premium product that works well out of the box, and presents with no issues. What you are getting is a device that compliments the aesthetics of your mac and functions efficiently. 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great product but...., 27 Oct. 2013
By 
M. A. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple USB SuperDrive (Personal Computers)
This is a solid apple product that is well designed but I really don't like the fact that they have crippled the firmware on this so that you can't use it with any old mac or pc. My advice, buy the £25 clone and use it on any computer you have.. Bad Apple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Unhappy!, 1 May 2014
This review is from: Apple USB SuperDrive (Personal Computers)
After using the superdrive for two months without problem I then encountered the dreaded stuck disk. I followed every bit of advice I could find and still nothing is working.
Now I'll have to travel all the way to Manchester (3 hour trip each way) to see someone at my nearest Mac store to try and fix this.
Very unhappy with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apple USB SuperDrive, 19 April 2013
By 
A. Thom "Tex" (King's Lynn, Norfolk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple USB SuperDrive (Personal Computers)
I recently bought an iMac having been a seasoned windows PC user for about 15 years, and was dismayed at the iMac not having a cd/dvd drive. This item is definitely a worthy addition, simply plug it in and it's ready to use. It really is that simple. I have now loaded a lot of my cd collection to my iTunes library and the Apple software adds the relevant album info. A little on the expensive side, but very easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is no different to a drive that you can ..., 29 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Apple USB SuperDrive (Personal Computers)
This is no different to a drive that you can buy for a third of the price. If your not bothered about the price and you want to keep your desktop the same sexy design as your imac then get it. If you just need a drive though save yourself some money and buy a 3rd party one, it will work just as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., 15 Jun. 2013
By 
SussexWasp (East Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Apple USB SuperDrive (Personal Computers)
I bought this specifically to read information provided on DVD-RW media, but the product does not work.

The same disc reads on the MacBook Pro (with built in drive) but is not recognised when inserted into a Superdrive connected to the new iMac or MacBook Pro Retina.

All credit to the Genius Bar team at Apple Brighton for trying various drives and machine combinations before eventually giving up refunding the purchase price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars iMac 27", 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple USB SuperDrive (Personal Computers)
Bought my superdrive to complement my iMac 27". Extremely handed for me for using it to load drivers etc and also handy for loading cd's etc that you already own to load to your iTunes library. I'm new to apple products any I believe these items are fairly new to apple ... so they are clearly filling a customer need?? Works for me and bought through amazon for a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Apple USB SuperDrive
£60.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews