Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Soviet Godfather
'The Crimes of Stalin' is a well-written and easy to read summary of one of the 20th century's most significant and powerful people. In addition to detailing Stalin's many crimes - the police state, the Great Terror and the purges, the slave labour camps and the arrest and death of millions of innocent civilians - this book provides an excellent summary of Stalin's early...
Published 6 months ago by Graham of Watton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but I felt a bit short changed. I ...
OK but I felt a bit short changed. I wanted more on the crimes when he was in power. It didn't say anything new and there was not much detail. Will not add much to your knowledge of either Stalin or the communist period or the revolution unless you are new to this history.
Published 1 month ago by BarryR


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Soviet Godfather, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimes of Stalin: The Murderous Career of the Red Tsar [Fully Illustrated] (Kindle Edition)
'The Crimes of Stalin' is a well-written and easy to read summary of one of the 20th century's most significant and powerful people. In addition to detailing Stalin's many crimes - the police state, the Great Terror and the purges, the slave labour camps and the arrest and death of millions of innocent civilians - this book provides an excellent summary of Stalin's early years, his rise to power and his legacy. I particularly enjoyed the account of the early years when Stalin (or Koba, as he was then known) was an outlaw bandit and gang leader. Clearly that was an influential period on Stalin's development, as he continued to behave like a ruthless Mafia boss once in power.

If I have one small criticism, I thought the narrative flow is occasionally disrupted by brief sections on related topics or characters - for example, an explanation of the Julian calendar, a brief history of Georgia, some notes on Karl Marx - which are interesting but felt like a diversion.

If you are interested in 20th century history and want to know more about the Soviet Union, I can strongly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the evil men do, 24 Oct 2014
By 
This review is from: The Crimes of Stalin: The Murderous Career of the Red Tsar [Fully Illustrated] (Kindle Edition)
I watched a clip You Tube about a massacre of during the second world war. To cut a long story short, today we now know that Josef Stalin was responsible for killing thousands of women and children in a Polish village near the end of the war. Roosevelt and Churchill covered up Stalin's crime and blamed it the Germans.

The video then showed the three leaders smiling and chatting, having drinks, like nothing had happened.

Being partners with Josef Stalin was like being partners with a serial killer who sneaks away, kills little children, hides the bodies, and then sneaks back into the office to smile for the cameras. The other two partners, who knew for years about their friend, shrug and say, "Oh dear, not again Joe, tut tut"! The friends then go about their business.

It is only after the war that they admit that Stalin is a serial killer and turn their public relations on their former business partner.

Now communism is the evil enemy.

Today, even the academic admits that Stalin was worse than Hitler. But this is what the fascists and national socialists were saying during the 1920's and 1930's!

We now call these wise heads, 'appeaser's, when in fact they were worried about Stalin killing their children'.

The fascists said that Hitler was the good guy in the 1920's and so did David Lloyd George, the ex prime minister of Britain and many more British gentlemen. You are not allowed to say this today.

This book paints the true picture (literally) and it's telling that there are not hundreds of reviews like you find in a Hitler book. Why is this? Why isn't Hollywood pumping out Stalin fims like they do Hitler films?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Crimes of Stalin, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimes of Stalin: The Murderous Career of the Red Tsar [Fully Illustrated] (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book well worth the money and a good read, although not as comprehensive as both of Simon Sebag Montifiore' s volumes about him and his regime, it's still highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great if your Stalin knowledge is sketchy, 21 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimes of Stalin: The Murderous Career of the Red Tsar [Fully Illustrated] (Kindle Edition)
I loved how straight-to-the-point and unpretentious this book was. Far from a hack job, it gave some new knowledge, filled in some holes, added extra detail and waded through the fog of such a complicated, multi-layered subject.
It makes things clearer, about a vicious monster whose army nevertheless played a major part in Defeating the Nazis in WWII.
And, of course, it's an incredible story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bit of an eye opener, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimes of Stalin: The Murderous Career of the Red Tsar [Fully Illustrated] (Kindle Edition)
This book is a good read for anyone interested in the subject. It's well written and informative. Not to long or dry it keeps you interested. I found the chapters on the young Stalin very interesting. It's astonishing that someone like this man managed not to be killed by one of his contemporaries. Gives you a view into the mind of probably the most ruthless and murderous man ever to be in charge of so many innocent people and the horrific consequence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK but I felt a bit short changed. I ..., 3 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimes of Stalin: The Murderous Career of the Red Tsar [Fully Illustrated] (Kindle Edition)
OK but I felt a bit short changed. I wanted more on the crimes when he was in power. It didn't say anything new and there was not much detail. Will not add much to your knowledge of either Stalin or the communist period or the revolution unless you are new to this history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimes of Stalin: The Murderous Career of the Red Tsar [Fully Illustrated] (Kindle Edition)
It gave a very vivid portrayal of the communist system, and the inhumanity that prevailed. - frightening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The crimes of Stalin, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimes of Stalin: The Murderous Career of the Red Tsar [Fully Illustrated] (Kindle Edition)
I think Kindle is by far the best way to read. The service is fantastic and the choice is marvelous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews