Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game
From someone who has played an extensive scope of games I would have to say this game is good but not perfect.

As it is a strategy game.. yep you guessed it; it is best played on the PC but it still comes down to good fun on the Xbox. Yea you have to remember things but you do in every game and so far I have really enjoyed it. I am still getting used to all the...
Published 23 months ago by John

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money
The Game itself is okay at best and would have gotten a higher score if it weren't for the huge amount of bugs in the game making most of the achievements unobtainable. They cannot afford to pay MS the to upload the new patch for xboxlive. get for PC if you can as that version is much much better.Even with the bugs you can get a good few hours out of this game once the AI...
Published 12 months ago by ItsNotAboutOil


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 28 Sep 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carrier Command: Gaea Mission (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
From someone who has played an extensive scope of games I would have to say this game is good but not perfect.

As it is a strategy game.. yep you guessed it; it is best played on the PC but it still comes down to good fun on the Xbox. Yea you have to remember things but you do in every game and so far I have really enjoyed it. I am still getting used to all the controls but with any strategy game on the Xbox there is a learning curve to take into account here.

The graphics I would say are top notch. Brilliant views, the map changes between day and night (not sure about weather or volcanoes as of yet since I haven't played it loads just yet!

The only issue at the current time is that there are alot of save points which can interrupt the games feel. For example I just took a carrier for myself and it had 3 save points within 3 minutes unsure why but nevertheless it is a minor speed bump in an otherwise good game.

The gameplay is good as with every game the units take a while to get used to such as the controls etc. But otherwise all is good.

Overall I would say if you are someone who isn't patient and wants to get thrown into everything right away this isn't the game for you BUT if you are someone who can be patient, learns and then applies all of this into the game then this is a great game. I have really enjoyed it so far and I am sure I will for a long time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rent before you buy., 15 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Michael S. Rhind "MikeR" (Glos. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carrier Command: Gaea Mission (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Back in the Eighties I spent many a happy hour playing Carrier Command on an Atari ST. Filled wire-frame graphics and pretty much nothing else to recommend it other than fiendish difficulty. The basic premise seemed to be that you the player got a heavily armed carrier whilst the A.I. enemy got a much weaker carrier. Unfortunately for the player, the enemy carrier was MUCH faster. As a consequence, whilst attempting to capture neutral islands to support your war-effort, you would be constantly aware that the enemy carrier was capturing islands at a much faster rate and, once most islands were under either friendly or enemy control you quickly became aware that keeping control of your islands was not going to be easy if at all possible. Eventually I realised that the only way to win was to concentrate less on maintaining control of my islands and more on catching the enemy carrier 'in-the-act' of attacking an island whereupon I could unleash all the forces at my disposal and blow it out of the water. Easier said than done and soon I was locked in an epic game of cat-and-mouse. Unforgetable.

The developers of Carrier Command: Gaea Mission have cobbled together a 'plot' on which to hang the originals' fabulous mechanic. Whilst it works in a way, even if only to give an overlong tutorial in how to play the 'real' game it is at best lame and linear. And the fps parts are laughably easy. That said I played all the way through, never once even thinking of giving it up as a bad job.

The strategy game though is, well its excellent. Its the original with shiny graphics. I've yet to reach the point where my resources are sufficient to consider going after the enemy carrier and I've yet to discover whether it is weaker than mine (in the story mode, the enemy carrier is in fact stronger, a change from the original that works from the point of view of plot, but will definitely make the strategy game, erm...challenging), but so far so good.

People who like board game war-sims will probably like this game. Fps and Rpg fans probably wont, unless they are actively looking for a change. That said, though I've given it 5 stars, this is because I loved it (and the original).

For newcomers this is definitely a rent-before-you-buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overall view of carrier command, 24 Oct 2012
By 
E. R. Leaver (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carrier Command: Gaea Mission (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Carrier command is an excellent game, you start quite simply with a few foot soldiers and slowly increase your equipment by completing simple tasks.
You take control of the carrier in the first level and progress through the islands gaining control of command centres and the Islands resources.
You begin to manufacture your own supplies and equipment and progress through the increasingly difficult tasks at hand.
You increase your available weapon types and options to your vehicles, like most games certain types of weapon are better for a particular purpose you will soon see which suits a particular mission.
You will manage tasks with multiple vehicles keeping an eye on your production and supplies at the same time.

The controls to various vehicles are easy to master but the overall controls are not very well explained.
Level 1 is pretty simple but once you have control of the carrier and begin level 2 it took me quite a while before I found what to do.
There is an auto save feature as you complete tasks within the levels but I recommend that you use the manual save from the options menu every time you complete a section of that level.
If you don't any eqpt and supplies you have produced and stockpiled yourself will be lost.
Keep an eye on your forces while completing tasks because they will go off and engage enemies themselves.
Maintain there fuel, ammo and repair them often otherwise you will be in for a large surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars why ho why, 1 April 2014
By 
Mr. T. Fudge - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carrier Command: Gaea Mission (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
such a good idear but so badly put together if this was a pc game you would need so many updates to get the bugs out and to stop the AI doing its own thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carrier Command: Gaea Mission (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
my son enjoys the game he is only 10 and finds it a challenge good graphics . likes the choice of transport .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, 29 July 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carrier Command: Gaea Mission (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The Game itself is okay at best and would have gotten a higher score if it weren't for the huge amount of bugs in the game making most of the achievements unobtainable. They cannot afford to pay MS the to upload the new patch for xboxlive. get for PC if you can as that version is much much better.Even with the bugs you can get a good few hours out of this game once the AI does what you ask it to....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not quite for me, 28 Sep 2012
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carrier Command: Gaea Mission (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'm an old school gamer and by that I mean I was playing consoles back in the early days, when things like Pong and Pacman were the height of E-Gaming. So yeah, I'm a little dated, but as the games have developed and adjusted so have I, yet whilst many gamers of the modern age will think that I'm not getting into my dotage I do have a good recall of classics such as the original carrier command over 20 years ago.

Whilst this modern remake plays to the strengths of the classic, it's a game that I see will cause quite a lot of frustration among gamers for numerous reasons, first of all it incredibly difficult and whilst some of the early missions may seem reasonable, things really hot up when you get your Carrier and you have to manage multiple units. It does ease you into this and it does give you a tutorial but on that first mission from it to capture Arachnia, there will be a number of players throwing their paddles down in frustration as to be honest I didn't find the controller as responsive as I'd have liked and got wiped by a robot as I was trying to figure out which way the gun was facing so that I could change it whilst trying to drive forward rather than to the side.

Add to this a game that sticks to rather limited graphics and you may be thinking that it's a losing battle but once you get past your frustration and start to figure things out, the game really does start getting quite cerebral as you try and capture a few enemies islands whilst defending your own. Yes its hard, yes there are major drawbacks with the controls (in my opinon) and yes the graphics feel not as tidy as they could have been but if you like strategy that will tax you to your limit then this is going to be one for you.

However if like me you have trouble remembering things, get annoyed by a principle character who doesn't feel like he fits in vocally let alone getting frustrated at trying to figure out the damn unit commands or the paddle controls that aren't as responsive as I'd have liked, then you may well want to avoid it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An exellent update of a classic!, 14 Jun 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carrier Command: Gaea Mission (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Don't let the name fool you, This is in no uncertain terms an up to date re-make of the classic Carrier Command on the Atari St, Amiga & PC. They have added so much more gameplay & scope from the original game though, trust me. The rolling landscapes of the island are satisfying to navigate, there's plenty to do while running the carrier,& there's loads of weapons,armour & equipment upgrades for the vehicles(including the carrier itself)to discover. The mantas are an absolute joy to fly,& The Walruses are fun to navigate the terrain & fight in too. You can play how you want. You can command your units from the map/tactical screen & watch it play out, or you can jump into them at any time, so you can play it exactly how you want, simply brilliant!

Don't be fooled by the fact this is on console. Its a immensely deep & complex game thats very absorbing. Its probably the most deep & complex game i've ever played on console, & i wish there was more games like this if i'm honest. It takes a while to get to grips with the interface & how it all works, but once it clicks,it is so compelling to play. I have to commend the developer & publisher for getting this game made, & their love for the original game really shows through. I understand the MD of the company that got it made, was a big fan of the original game,& wanted this game made, & it tells.

There's two modes to this game. The conquest mode of the original game. Two carriers trying to take all the islands, & there's the story mode. Personally i'm playing the story mode because it has some narrative, but even that is a really long term game, with many islands to control & keep control of. Its like the conquest game, but with a narrative. The story mode also sees you out of the vehicles & on foot. These sections are not particularly competent compared to other first person shooters, but they do the job(just) but does add a bit of variety & addd to the story i feel & only features rarely in the story anyway.
I highly, highly recommend this game if your a fan of the original Carrier Command, or yearn for something deeper on console, & something you can sink your teeth into. Its actually one of my favorite games of all time. A vast improvement on a classic game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very happy son, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carrier Command: Gaea Mission (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
There next day game great very pleased happy little boy with his new game could not believe it c as me the next mornning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carrier Command: Gaea Mission (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Good game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carrier Command: Gaea Mission (Xbox 360)
Carrier Command: Gaea Mission (Xbox 360) by Mastertronic Ltd (Xbox 360)
5.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews