Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars39
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2012
This review applies only to The Power House, the first book in this collection.

Our hero, Edward Leithen, seems indistinguishable from Dick Hannay - but who cares? Here we enjoy the next step on the way from Bulldog Drummond to James Bond, via Sherlock Holmes and Dornford Yates. The heart sank momentarily - but only momentarily - when the heart of the adventure was revealed to concern an international criminal organisation (forces beyond our control etc), but then one tunes in to Hunted only to be confronted with 'Hourglass', and after all, were not Smersch and SPECTRE cut from the same cloth? The action moves swiftly, the writing is a delight, the values refreshing while at the same time inspiring nostalgia. The villain comes off the page much more memorably than Moriarty, and the conclusion shows how these things really should be done, and really would be done in a better world. I loved it.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
John Buchan uses words wonderfully, and creates stories with adventure and mystery. The adventures of Sir Edward Leithen and his associates keep up his standard. This edition is broken down into several bitesize, but not short, stories, makes it very readable. Well I enjoyed it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
I purchased this collection to re-visit the Leithen stories that I had read some time ago. I Found that there are a few errors within the text compared to the books but that has not distracted from my enjoyment.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
As other reviewers have noted, there are one or two anachronistic attitudes that surface in these stories, but these should be understood in historical context, and do not detract from the quality of Buchan's work. The storytelling remains imaginative and intelligent, and his descriptive narrative is wonderful - particularly in Sick Heart River, in which he describes the untamed wilderness of 'the North', where Leithen (surely Buchan's alter-ego) comes into his own. Buchan - as with many authors of his time - presupposes that his readership has a good standard of elementary Latin and French, and so leaves such 'foreign' inclusions untranslated. While I understood the French, I had to look up the Latin phrases, but I don't object to a little bit of 'research' - rather, I see it as indicative of how far our language skills have slipped over time. So, ignore the snobbishness and patronising asides (I really don't see anything to be offended by), and enjoy this fine collection of stories.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
Written 80 years ago in a different world but the human themes are as fresh as ever. John Buchan was a master storyteller. With such a prolific output some of his work is not so great, but this collection is. Well worth reading & keeping to read a again one day.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2013
This was perfect winter weather fare: engrossing and exciting as only the great Buchan could be. If you haven't yet tried him this is a good place to start or make the leap to his '39 Steps' as a thriller in the mold of RL Stevenson.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
Most people have seen the film 39 Steps which is a travesty of the book: The Richard Hannay books are well written , a cut above boy's own adventures , well researched and very entertaining and apart from not being particularly PC contain no bad language or deviance. After rediscovering Hannay I bought the Sir Edward Leithen collection and was not dissappointed . Again well written and some of the stalking and fishing episodes make you feel as though you are on the winswept hills in Wester Ross . The books are peppered with interesting takes on post WW1 society .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
Leithen was one of John Buchan's best charactors and I enjoyed every story although the last, written at the end of Buchan's life, is the weakest
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2015
Cracking read if you like boy's own heroes in the 20's and 30's. Buchan is a good writer of adventure stories which will keep you reading to the end. The stories are different and come to life on the page. You can almost feel you are at the locations. Read if you like well-written adventure stories for men. Don't read if you object to dated inequalities because there are some phrases in this book which will raise your eyebrows.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
Really good read. It brings out the youth in this 75 year old. Real adventure stories where the good guy succeeds
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse