Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read!
Since travelling to Yugoslavia, I have realised how informative, interesting, humourous and exciting this book is. For anyone travelling there, this is a must read. Can't wait for more from this author. It made me look back on my time with a different light, and enhanced my experiences. A definite 5 stars.
Published 22 months ago by R. Spiers

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read
Writer comes across as a bit naive but interesting read. An insight into the former Yugoslavia. Especially as we drove through Yugoslavia in the 70s.
Published 16 months ago by Jane Ochiltree


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 21 Aug 2013
By 
Leonard Moss "Ray" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Different Lifetime: stepping back in time in the former Yugoslavia (Kindle Edition)
Unfortunately I found this really boring and would not recommend it to anyone.
Couldn't wait to finish it.....hard going......sorry. as one more word required....one more word!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Different Lifetime: stepping back in time in the former Yugoslavia (Kindle Edition)
Writer comes across as a bit naive but interesting read. An insight into the former Yugoslavia. Especially as we drove through Yugoslavia in the 70s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a different lifetime, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is more about Martin Radford than about Yugoslavia.
It is a book of few pages but if all first person personal pronouns were removed there would be far fewer pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read!, 16 Sep 2012
By 
R. Spiers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Different Lifetime: stepping back in time in the former Yugoslavia (Kindle Edition)
Since travelling to Yugoslavia, I have realised how informative, interesting, humourous and exciting this book is. For anyone travelling there, this is a must read. Can't wait for more from this author. It made me look back on my time with a different light, and enhanced my experiences. A definite 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather disappointing, 12 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Different Lifetime: stepping back in time in the former Yugoslavia (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this because of my interest in the Yugoslavian civil wars of the early nineties and their impact on later British foreign policy. The book is set in Vojvodina a semi-autonomous region of Serbia that had relatively little role in the war apart from the very western edge being the the stepping off point for the brutal attacks on Osijek and and Vukovar in Eastern Slavonia (Croatia) in 1991. Not only was the war barely mentioned - not for any Bail Fawlty reason but because the author did not speak Serbian - overall his contact with local people was fairly limited. The physical description of his wandering about the backwater/small town he lives in and the vagaries of trying to live are of some interest. He comes across as being rather lonely until the book comes to life at the end as he meets a sympathetic English speaker and is shown round Belgrade. As the point of the journey was to catch the plane home the book ends leaving the reader wishing more had been like that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting approach to travel, 29 July 2012
This review is from: A Different Lifetime: stepping back in time in the former Yugoslavia (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable and personal approach to discovering a country, its people, and its culture. This book gives an insight into a virtually unknown and untravelled sector of Europe. And as for horses and carts: it really does sound like stepping back into a bygone age. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read travel book, 4 Oct 2012
This is a part of the world that I don't know very well but this book has made me want to go and explore myself. The author brings the people he meets and places he visits to life. I am looking forward to reading more of his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different lifetime, 17 Sep 2012
This review is from: A Different Lifetime: stepping back in time in the former Yugoslavia (Kindle Edition)
Anyone who enjoys an unusual travel book will love this.It really is stepping back in time.A most enjoyable read. I look forward to more by Martin Radford.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews