Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shouldn't be on the
I first had this band brought to my ageing attention by my youngest son who had purchased the bands first album as birthday gift. The first hearing was a real experience, it happened during an 8 hour trek from home to the deepest depths of East Anglia, It turned out to be a bit of an epiphany, if there is such a thing as a bit of such an experience. Anyhoo, this is a...
Published 23 months ago by John R. Baird

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh no....
For those not familiar, Periphery are a so-called progressive metal group that have (to my mind) a range of influences encompassing Meshuggah, Dream Theater, Allan Holdsworth, late King Crimson, Prodigy, trance and industrial music. However, the result is far more than the sum of the influences.

Firstly, let me be clear: I'm definitely a fan of Periphery since...
Published 15 months ago by DVDER


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shouldn't be on the, 11 Sep 2012
By 
John R. Baird "The Sweatysock" (Tullibody) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Periphery II (Audio CD)
I first had this band brought to my ageing attention by my youngest son who had purchased the bands first album as birthday gift. The first hearing was a real experience, it happened during an 8 hour trek from home to the deepest depths of East Anglia, It turned out to be a bit of an epiphany, if there is such a thing as a bit of such an experience. Anyhoo, this is a band that managed to take me back to several decades ago when listening to new, or different stuff, fired up such a novel sensation that you remained in the "continue to replay" CD mode that you can lose all track of time. Such was the effect of said first album.
So with a little trepidation, I purchased P II.
Trepidatious I should not have been.
This a stunning album, in parts like the heaviest of sounds bolted together by latter day disciples of "Pantera" and "Fear Factory" that suddenly changes to violin loaded "PFM" and even sections of early "ELP"
This slab of new music is completely mind boggling in just how many different styles of all types of music it nods in the direction of.
Not in a bad or cluttered or grating manner but in a style of terrific substance and depth.
It kind of feels like the sensation you get after a rather explosive sneeze, all de-cluttered and able to take a very deep, clean, satisfying breath of fresh mountain air, believe me!!!
As usual I refuse to detail favourite tracks, I always believe that the individual listener does not need to know whatever genre, sub or other wise that certain others feel the need to pigeon hole music in.
My favourites are mine, and I refuse to sway your original listening by skipping what might be important tracks to you.
The bands own thoughts and decisions are why the album was set to run in the way they chose, and the way the tracks were laid down.
Being of an older generation I find it very difficult to pick and choose singular tracks as this does lead to Tracks that could grow on you, being dispensed with before the growing process can even start.
Do yourself a favour and have a go at something a bit new.
You know it makes sense!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prog Album 2012, 16 Sep 2013
This review is from: Periphery II (Audio CD)
Personally, there was not another album that could compete to this in 2012. They're all fantastic writers and I'm so glad this is recognised. Spencer's choruses are the best things vocally i've probably ever heard. Favourite tune? Facepalm Mute. But they're all quality tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best album of 2012 (and one of the best I've ever bought), 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Periphery II (Audio CD)
Quite often I'll buy an album, listen to it a few times, then put it on the shelf until I listen to it again a few years later. Periphery II is one of those special albums that I still listen to on a regular basis. It's a bit more accessible than the first album which some may see as a good point while others not so much. I see it as a different album and should be approached as such.

Spencer has definitely improved - his growls/screams have much more substance and his clean melodies are just beautiful. The instrumental aspect of the music is just as good, containing many elements of 'traditional' Periphery and Bulb (Make Total Destroy) along with a more melodic side (mainly heard in songs such as 'The Gods Must Be Crazy!' and what was originally a Haunted Shores song 'Scarlet').

If you liked the first album then you'll probably like this one as well, and while hardcore prog purists may find some of the songs a bit too 'commercial' (and I use that word as loosely as possible because PII is far from it) there are plenty of songs that you will still enjoy. Overall a brilliant album and one that every self-respecting Periphery fan should buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Periphery 2, 20 Jun 2013
By 
Mrsecumiskey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Periphery II (Audio CD)
good condition, and quick delivery, I can't say more than that, as I bought it for my son's birthday, but they are one of his favourite groups at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, excellent,, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Periphery II (Audio CD)
Cant say enough about this band. They are fantastic and hope they come to Ireland. BRILLIANT BRILLIANT BRILLIANT. TURN IT UP LOUD.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid album, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Periphery II (Audio CD)
A slightly different feel from the first album. Slightly more dreamtheatre-esk and less djenty but album is instantly recognisable as Periphery. Not as genre defining as the first album but then, not in a bad way. Guitar work is fantastic, both in rhythm and lead. Anyone who has been keeping up to date may notice the odd riff that has been released or used elsewhere (Scarlet from Haunted Shores for example...but then Mark and Misha wrote it anyway?) Stand out performance from Spencer here though. An instantly noticeable step up in range and screamed/growled vocals. Especially impressive if it is indeed true that he had zero tuning in production...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Solid, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Periphery II (Audio CD)
Great variations in tracks, catchy as hell, great production, more interesting to listen to than first album in their entirities
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best album of the year., 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Periphery II (MP3 Download)
This is a must buy album if you like progressive metal. Much improvment on the first album and the best Djent offering I have heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars they have finally won me over, 26 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Periphery II (Audio CD)
much better than the first album. the singing is better, the song dynamics are better. the hooks are more relevent and uplifting than in previous albums. The singer has a great voice but sounds a lot like Corey Taylor in places, for some reason. that's not a bad thing, though...

essential metal release for 2012
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Periphery - II, 16 July 2012
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Periphery II (Audio CD)
Periphery II: This Time Its Personal is the second full-length studio album by the American Metal band Periphery, it was released in 2012, following up on 2011's Icarus EP and 2010's self-titled debut album.

Periphery's style of music is a highly technical and slightly progressive blend of metal, with a clear Messuggah influence in the angular low riffs and focus on rhythm as well as bursts of a much more clean and melodic side and some integration of electronic music, synths and electro drum sounds.

Alongside a number of other bands, they are considered by some to be one of the most important bands in the controversial Djent subgenre. For those who don't know, a lot of people argue over whether or not Djent is actually a genre or not, and whether some of the bands are really just Tech-Metal and some are just Death Metal, Prog Metal or Deathcore etc ...and to be fair only time will tell on that front.

If you like any other Djent or even vaguely Djent-related bands such as Tesseract, Structures, Uneven Structure, After The Burial, Born Of Osiris, After The Burial, Animals As Leaders, Vildhjart, Architects, BMTH, Sikth, Messugah, or just this sort of end of the musical spectrum in general, then they are at least worth a curiosity listen. The album contains a lot of the key features of styles like Deathcore, Metalcore, Prog Metal, Tech-Metal, Math-Metal jumbled together, with bits of electronic music added in moderation.

In fact, regardless of your opinions on the subgenre's existence or how much you do or don't like any of the other bands associated with it, if you have liked anything you've heard from Periphery thus far, this album is worth checking out.

The musical quality is very high, the quality of the production is high, there are a large amount of ideas on offer and since the album was made available for streaming by the band, overwhelming public opinion seems to say that singer Spencer Sotelo has improved immensely with the vocals.

There are also guest appearances in the form of guitar solos from John Petrucci of Dream Theater, Guthrie Govan of The Aristocrats and Wes Hauch of The Faceless.

If you have heard the pre-released single `Make Total Destroy' you should have some idea of the album's direction. There is a lot of lead guitar on this album, very brief sections of Death Vocals and Blast Beats, some spacey atmospheric passages, big clean singing parts, occasional effects-laden arpeggiated sections, and mostly a lot of crushing Djenty sections often in non-standard time signatures.

Other highlights include `Face Palm Mute,' which starts off especially angular but has a lot of dynamics, with music cutting off suddenly hear and there for a drum fill or Sikth-esque fast vocal line, as well as `Ragnarok,' which really displays Spencer's vocals rather well, `Scarlet' which is almost a little reminiscent of Coheed And Cambria and finally the album closer `Masamune.'

Overall, Periphery II should keep a lot of fans happy and is worth checking out if you have an interest in the band but haven't yet taken the plunge. Furthermore; If you can, you should try and get the special edition with two bonus tracks; an extra instrumental track and a cover of Slipknot's `The Heretic Anthem.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Periphery II
Periphery II by Periphery
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews