Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grape Expectations
First read about this book in the Mail.Enjoyed the article so bought the book,I was sorry when I reached the end and hope there is going to be a sequel.What an amazing family,most would have given up,pleased the Feelys carried on. Have just ordered some wine and would love to visit.
Published 23 months ago by Set Cumbria

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of an advert than a story
Increasingly annoyed as it became more of an advert than a story. If I want to buy the author's wine, I will do so based on taste and expert reviews. I do object for paying for a plea for financial support. Pity as there is the bones of a good tale here.
Published 18 months ago by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grape Expectations, 13 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First read about this book in the Mail.Enjoyed the article so bought the book,I was sorry when I reached the end and hope there is going to be a sequel.What an amazing family,most would have given up,pleased the Feelys carried on. Have just ordered some wine and would love to visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for anyone who drinks wine and/or wants to own a vineyard!, 5 Jun 2012
This book is a super insight into what it takes to make a good bottle of wine. It is essential reading for anyone who likes wine. Easy to read and entertaining it makes one appreciate all the hard work that goes into making a glass of red or white. It has me convinced never to buy a bottle of non-organic wine again. If you ever had a dream of buying a property in France with vines to make your own wine - read this book before you commit yourself!

Grape Expectations: A Family's Vineyard Adventure in France
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of an advert than a story, 21 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grape Expectations: A Family's Vineyard Adventure in France (Kindle Edition)
Increasingly annoyed as it became more of an advert than a story. If I want to buy the author's wine, I will do so based on taste and expert reviews. I do object for paying for a plea for financial support. Pity as there is the bones of a good tale here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grape Expectations, 16 July 2012
I really enjoyed the book . I felt like I was part of the journey that the Feely family took , sharing in the triumps and the diasters and being angry at the social services organisation inspecter for placing blocks in the way forward . Feeling really good when things took an upward turn . There has got to be a sequal PLEASE .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring and easy read, 10 July 2012
By 
Julie Surycz (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I highly recommend this book. It was well-written and made me lose track of time, which is the sign of a good book. As a fellow South African and wine-lover, I enjoyed reading about the Feely's adventures in France. I am inspired by their passion and their guts to follow their dreams. Even though Sean and Caro have gone through great stress, financial anxiety etc, I get the impression they are really living life to the full which is an example to risk-averse, fearful people like me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of many, 8 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grape Expectations: A Family's Vineyard Adventure in France (Kindle Edition)
New life in France - so many on the market - Perhaps they should never have invested in this Vineyard in the first place it looked pretty doomed from the first page but managed to finish the book and wish them well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Determination writ large, 11 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grape Expectations: A Family's Vineyard Adventure in France (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this heartfelt tale of a brave family who followed their dream to become organic viticulteurs and who overcame difficulties with incomprehensible bureaucracy, a lifestyle change and a steep learning curve coping with a dilapidated building, overgrown terrain and savage machinery-and all while not speaking much French initially.
Visit Haut Garrigue if you live nearby [or even if you make a special journey] and toast the Feely's success in some lovely wine. A well-written book for lovers of France and lovers of good wine that inspired me to visit them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A totally inspiring read for anyone trying to grow a business, 3 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading an article in the Mail about the author I bought the book and was not disappointed. Whilst the book is about starting a fairly elitist wine business,a dream out of reach for alot of people, Caro has managed to bring alive the grim realities and the total joy of starting any business,it is an inspiring read and I can't wait for her sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully engrossing, 23 July 2012
This book was a joy to read from beginning to end. It combined what one expects from a book about moving to rural France (renovations, language, neighbours, food and sunsets) with a detailed story of learning the art of winemaking as you go along. Highly recommended if you want to start becoming a garagiste or maybe something more ambitious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 3 July 2012
For anyone who enjoys French holidays and good wine and dreams of owning their own vineyard this is a brilliant book! Despite all the trials and tribulations the Feely family survive and thrive in the most difficult of situations. Well written, thoughtful and amusing. A tribute to family life and the value of good friends. Read and enjoy! You will certainly learn a lot about French wine as a result!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews