Customer Reviews


906 Reviews
5 star:
 (433)
4 star:
 (305)
3 star:
 (116)
2 star:
 (36)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


141 of 144 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful story!
This is the first book I have read by Hilary Boyd, and it was such a fascinating read.

The story focuses on Annie, a mother of three grown-up children (Ed, Marsha and Lucy) with a thriving cake business, a loving husband and a beautiful home, she has a happy, happy life. But it turns out Annie has been harbouring a secret - She had a baby boy when she was 18...
Published on 27 Aug 2012 by Megan ReadingInTheSunshine

versus
31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good follow up to debut novel
This is the author's second novel, the first being Thursdays in the Park which I read last year, featuring an older couple and their romance which is rather refreshing.

This latest title also features an older couple, Annie and Richard Delancey, married for years, grown up family and settled life. Though her husband knows, her children are unaware that Annie...
Published 19 months ago by Elaine Simpson-long


‹ Previous | 1 291 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

141 of 144 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful story!, 27 Aug 2012
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tangled Lives (Paperback)
This is the first book I have read by Hilary Boyd, and it was such a fascinating read.

The story focuses on Annie, a mother of three grown-up children (Ed, Marsha and Lucy) with a thriving cake business, a loving husband and a beautiful home, she has a happy, happy life. But it turns out Annie has been harbouring a secret - She had a baby boy when she was 18 and gave him up for adoption after only a few days with him. Unexpectedly, Annie receives a letter from Social Services, her little boy is now a man in his thirties called Daniel, and he wants to meet her. This is wonderful news, and terrifying at the same time as her current children are unaware he even exists. What follows is the bombshell revelation and the aftermath of a family struggling to adjust to the new arrival...

Hilary Boyd has written this story with such care and delicacy regarding the subject matter. I've never read a story about a mother who has given up her baby for adoption, and the grown-up child coming back looking for answers, and I must say I was hooked from reading the blurb on the back alone. The story was very thought-provoking, as I read the pages it encouraged me to think about what I would do if I was in that situation. Would I keep a secret that big for so long? Would I feel able to tell my loving family that I'd given my first child up for adoption as a baby? I'm lending this book to my Nan after I have read it and I'm sure she will be equally as enthralled with the story as I was.

One thing I really did like about Tangled Lives was that we see things from not only Annie's perspective. Hilary Boyd has written chapters in showing things from her grown-up children's sides - it really adds to the story, making it very interesting and captivating, creating a new depth to the book. I particularly enjoyed reading Ed's sections about how he was reacting to the events that were unfolding.

Tangled Lives is a heart-warming story about a family adjusting to a big secret, and the ripple effects that it has on each family member. There are a few surprises in the book that I really did not see coming, and that kept me wanting to read on more. Hilary Boyd is a clearly talented author who has written a wonderful, charming story which I'm sure will touch readers hearts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thought provoking story!, 12 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tangled Lives (Paperback)
This is a very well crafted novel. I read it in one sitting! It isn't like a thriller that you can't put down but it is compelling and I just had to go on reading! I found the same about Hilary's first novel, Thursdays in the Park. She has the ability to get inside the character's heads and it all seems real...I would highly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poignant read for those in similar situations, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tangled Lives (Kindle Edition)
I found this book very interesting (although fiction!) because i have been in a similar situation, having given up children when I was young and trying to re-establish a relationship with them in later life. I was pleased that the author didn't make it all sweetness and light, but instead portrayed all the emotions that "real" people feel. Recommended read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good follow up to debut novel, 24 Feb 2013
By 
Elaine Simpson-long (Colchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tangled Lives (Paperback)
This is the author's second novel, the first being Thursdays in the Park which I read last year, featuring an older couple and their romance which is rather refreshing.

This latest title also features an older couple, Annie and Richard Delancey, married for years, grown up family and settled life. Though her husband knows, her children are unaware that Annie gave up a son for adoption when she was nineteen and now this son wishes to meet her. Overjoyed and delighted to see him it is not till later that she realises that her family are now as thrilled as she is to greet a new relative. Her son reacts with jealousy and doubt and though her two daughters are more welcoming, the entire family is thrown into disarray. Well written and perceptive I read this through in one sitting. My only criticism is of the resolution to an event which threatens to split the family totally - I guessed what the outcome would be and I felt, in a way, that it was the easy and obvious way out. Others may disagree, but apart from this, I thought this an enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Holiday Read, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tangled Lives (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book having previously read and enjoyed another book by this author. I was not disappointed this time either. Good family story and you could never tell what the outcome would be. Recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars novel, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tangled Lives (Kindle Edition)
It was a deliht to have abook about a more mature lady rather than a twenty something. I shall certainly look for other books by this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very unusual storyline, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tangled Lives (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed reading this tale of complicated families. Makes you realise you're not unique, that all families have their own skeletons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tangled Lives (Kindle Edition)
Hi have just finished Tangled Lives this was not just a great book but some things have gone on in my life this last year that gave me thoughts that other women go through after their mother pasting made me cry but was just a great book j. Xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An opportunity, missed, 9 Nov 2013
By 
K. Richards (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tangled Lives (Kindle Edition)
Halfway through the book, I saw the great 'twist', but read on to see how it would be handled. Shortly after that, another possibility that would turn this rather drab, middle-class story on it's head, came to light. At this point, I was looking forward to the drama.... It simply didn't happen. This is merely another drab, middle-class, light soap bubble. What a waste of my time. Oh, and the characters' surnames are dreadfully aspirational, aren't they, dahling?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tangled Lives (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book because what happened to the family happens to people in every day life. Real experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 291 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tangled Lives
Tangled Lives by Hilary Boyd
£2.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews