Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My First Joe Gores (but not last)
I absolutely loved this book, but after finishing it, I wanted to know why I had not seen others.

Mr Gores is an accomplished story-teller, his scenes of action are completely believable and he puts you right there with the characters. I have not enjoyed a first read of an American author since my first Stephen King novel. That is how highly I rate the...
Published on 25 Nov 2011 by Rw Williams

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good thriller
Straight forward thriller enjoyable thriller, no great surprises. It’s a set a thief to catch a thief story, or in this case an assassin to catch an assassin. It is an enjoyable light read, I would read another of Joe Gores books.
Published 2 months ago by Burny


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My First Joe Gores (but not last), 25 Nov 2011
By 
Rw Williams "BlidLad" (Louth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glass Tiger (Paperback)
I absolutely loved this book, but after finishing it, I wanted to know why I had not seen others.

Mr Gores is an accomplished story-teller, his scenes of action are completely believable and he puts you right there with the characters. I have not enjoyed a first read of an American author since my first Stephen King novel. That is how highly I rate the author.

It is obvious that he has researched extensively and thoroughly into the background of every character, and every location, in the story. If you like suspense, action, conspiracy and crime, it's all here, and done so well that you will not want to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RECOMMENDED READ, 26 Oct 2006
This review is from: Glass Tiger (Hardcover)
There have been a couple of good US Presidential assassination thrillers in recent years - Lee Child's Without Fail and Mike Lawson's The Inside Ring - and this new book by Joe Gores is a worthy addition to the genre.

In fact, in Glass Tiger we get two stalkers/assassins for the price of one. Newly elected President Wallberg is being threatened by Vietnam vet Hal Corwin, sniper and woodsman. The reasons for the threats apparently go back to the violent murder of Corwin's daughter, and in reality to a much earlier incident in the 1960s. To hunt the hunter, the FBI and national security turn to Brendan Thorne, himself an ex-CIA sniper, whose life has been dogged by the same violence and disasters that shaped Corwin's. Thorne is half-blackmailed, half-suckered into working for Wallberg's men though it's plain from the start that almost everything is being concealed from him apart from the identity of the would-be assassin.

The particular villains here are the President's Chief of Staff and Terrill Hatfield, a ruthlessly ambitious FBI agent who is looking to be made Director. Everyone in government, from the President down, emerges badly and for that reason alone Glass Tiger hits an exposed nerve at the moment, with the security agencies using the catch-all excuse of the War on Terror to intimidate their own citizens.

Thorne follows the back trail left by Corwin and works out the single location in the mountainous wilds of Montana from where the sniper can get his long-distance shot at Wallberg, when the nervous President ventures outside the security of the Washington beltway to see the release of two grizzly bears back into the wild.

The confrontation between Corwin and Thorne - two grizzlies in a different sense - comes at the halfway point of Glass Tiger, and it would be unfair to say much more about the rest of the novel. Some of the twists you can see coming but Gores still holds plenty of surprises up his sleeve, and the book constantly shifts the balance between hunter and hunted, with one becoming the other. You need to suspend disbelief from time to time, and vital information occasionally drops too neatly into Thorne's lap, but the rush of the narrative carries the reader forward with plenty of asides on the arts of stalking, shooting and concealment.

Recommended.

Credited to Philip Gooden
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tense, riveting and thoroughly enjoyable., 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glass Tiger (Kindle Edition)
More than once I was reminded of "The Day of the Jackal" when reading this very engaging novel. The plot, the prose, the character development are all first class and whilst a government conspiracy plotline is all the rage, this book treats it with flair and panache. I had not heard of Joe Gores prior to reading this book but will definitely be on the lookout for his other books as they are definitely something to lose yourself in. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable!, 9 Mar 2013
By 
S. Ivory "Jamaica girl" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glass Tiger (Kindle Edition)
I started this book last night and have to sit all afternoon to read it. I could not put it down.
The main character Brendan Thorne just leaps off the page at you and you really do empathise with him as he goes about the Presidents business, albeit with an unknown agenda. The ending scenario I would not have guessed at but was very fitting. Brilliant read, wonderful descriptions of the Serengeti, sorry I have not read any of his others but will be searching them out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good thriller, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glass Tiger (Kindle Edition)
Straight forward thriller enjoyable thriller, no great surprises. It’s a set a thief to catch a thief story, or in this case an assassin to catch an assassin. It is an enjoyable light read, I would read another of Joe Gores books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wish I'd found this guy sooner!, 1 Mar 2014
By 
Kym Hamer (Finchley, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glass Tiger (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this. A gritty mystery - although it's a less a who-dunnit and more a how-dunnit - that keeps the pace and pressure up throughout and combines a swathe of interesting characters to great effect. Definitely off to find more Gores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A excellent yarn, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glass Tiger (Kindle Edition)
Bit hard to get into at first. But gained and held one's interest as one got through chapter after chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glass Tiger (Kindle Edition)
It grips you from first page, great read. Will read more of this author's books. You have to keep up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping!, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glass Tiger (Kindle Edition)
Just a tiny bit slow to get started but then I was hooked. I will certainly be looking for some more of Joe Gores' books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superior writing, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glass Tiger (Kindle Edition)
My first time Mr Gores and realy enjoyed it . The author knows what he is doing, great characters , plenty of plot lines, you think you have it then you don't then you do again. Not as much action as in some of this type novel but it makes a refreshing change no superman get out of deathly situations with a paper clip and just a splinter, and all the better for it. Hope at lest one of the characters comes back, though some may say ( not wanting to give to much away) that there is a homage to a certain "Mr Swagger" going on, but if so why not I for one will get Joe Gores next offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Glass Tiger
Glass Tiger by Joe Gores
1.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews