Customer Reviews


138 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best one yet!
May's newest book about the American pathologist and the Chinese detective is as good as "The Fourth Sacrifice". I especially like the Chinese setting, and May's ability to give all the characters life, not just the main characters. He has the ability to paint a vivid and real image of not only his two main characters, but all the "side-kicks" come to...
Published on 31 July 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Difficult Decision
I found this book very difficult to rate, so hedged my bets and settled for 3 stars. Peter May always tells a good story and keeps you reading. I like his characters, who have real lives as well as chasing murderers. I like his depictions of China; this book is set in Shanghai. But, as usual, you will need a strong stomach for some graphic detail and a blow by blow...
Published 16 months ago by RosP


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing Room (The China Thrillers Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
A great story with a brilliant twist. It was very well written and gave the whole feel of what I thought Shanghai would be like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing Room (The China Thrillers Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Good characters, good thriller and plots with a difference due to the location and cultural differences. Looking forward to reading the next one. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing Room (The China Thrillers Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Consistent with this series, this book is a good read. We find Margaret back in the US for the funeral of her father. Predictably she is then called back to China to help with the investigation into the deaths of a large number of women. The characters are evolving and it's nice to read about them again. Our Chinese detective is shown struggling with his feelings for Margaret and not expressing himself very well - the age old conflict of not saying what he's thinking! I like the ongoing theme of him trying to look after his niece; and this of course brings in mention of the one child policy again. I feel that Peter May is balanced when bringing out the ideology, politics or policies of either China or the US. He merely shows that each has its triumphs and faults. Margaret can be exasperating at times, but she's shown to re-think her actions after the events. Yes, nice detective story, interesting setting. I will definitely read the next in the series, but will wait for the price to go down first. I won't pay £6 plus for an e.book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Riveting read, 13 April 2013
By 
Nannywitch (Canary Islands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing Room (The China Thrillers Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first novel I have read by this author, and it will not be my last. Good thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best read for a long time, 12 April 2013
By 
Brian Saunders "avalon" (East London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing Room (The China Thrillers Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I knew nothing about china until I read this book. The customs were facinating. I have gone on to read more of this auther
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Killing Room, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing Room (The China Thrillers Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I found this book a very good work of fiction.Excellent descriptive language giving a first class of view of the two cities involved in the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Killing Room is a gripping tale, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing Room (The China Thrillers Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
The sort of story you can't put down and has some unexpected twists and turns. if you like crime thrillers this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing Room (The China Thrillers Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Have thoroughly enjoyed this book. Apart from the plot it gives an interesting insight into life in a Chinese city. DW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing Room (The China Thrillers Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Having read the Lewis trilogy which I loved decided to try more of Peter May and was not disappointed - very exciting to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing Room (The China Thrillers Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed this read kept gripped to the end. Would like to read some of his other books. If you like nitty gritty forensics this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews