Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best one yet!
May's newest book about the American pathologist and the Chinese detective is as good as "The Fourth Sacrifice". I especially like the Chinese setting, and May's ability to give all the characters life, not just the main characters. He has the ability to paint a vivid and real image of not only his two main characters, but all the "side-kicks" come to...
Published on 31 July 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Difficult Decision
I found this book very difficult to rate, so hedged my bets and settled for 3 stars. Peter May always tells a good story and keeps you reading. I like his characters, who have real lives as well as chasing murderers. I like his depictions of China; this book is set in Shanghai. But, as usual, you will need a strong stomach for some graphic detail and a blow by blow...
Published 12 months ago by RosP


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best one yet!, 31 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Killing Room (Paperback)
May's newest book about the American pathologist and the Chinese detective is as good as "The Fourth Sacrifice". I especially like the Chinese setting, and May's ability to give all the characters life, not just the main characters. He has the ability to paint a vivid and real image of not only his two main characters, but all the "side-kicks" come to life as well, and makes for interesting reading. The plot itself is both plausible and chilling, with a complex hunt leading up to the end. The little things, descriptions and facts, are thorough but not condescending. It is interesting and refreshing to read a crime novel that is not set in the western culture, the Chinese location gives unexpected details and events, at the same time as it gives the reader a look into China and Chinese culture. Whatever the setting, the basic feelings and motivation in a good crime novel are all there, lust, greed, love, jealousy and fear, all splendidly written. One of my favourite things is that the pathologist Margaret Campbell is not a superhuman (as many other female main characters over the years have been), she's as human as the rest of us. Her struggle against jealousy and her emotional reactions all feel genuine. The discovery of a grave containing women who appears to have been autopsied while still alive gets Ms Campbell into a strange hunt for a killer, and at the end of the chase it is very difficult to put down the book. All in all, a very good book, with both good writing and a good plot! I'm looking forward to read his next novel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The China Thrillers, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing Room: 3 (The China Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
I love Peter May`s writing and this is a great series. A good mix of gritty crime, culture and a smattering of romance. The Lewis Trilogy are my favourite books so I was delighted to find these 6. Well worth diving in to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing Room: 3 (The China Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
I like this series and they get better as you get to know the characters. It provides an interesting insight into Chinese attitudes and culture.
This novel holds your attention as they search for a reason for and a murderer of 18 dead young women. The solution is particularly eastern and not at all obvious until you know and then everything falls in to place. It's very cunning and clever.
I think this novel may be classed as a police procedural although procedure sometimes gets dumped but it is also a study of the ongoing relationship between Li Yan and Margaret Campbell which I think is very lifelike and well portrayed. This is no Mills & Boon romance but a realistic portrayal of an inter cultural relationship and all the attendant misunderstandings inherent in that.
This is an engrossing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Killing Room: 3 (The China Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
Great read as usual! Reading the series and can't wait to get started the next one. Really getting to know the main characters but lots of surprises thrown in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best of the China Thrillers, 6 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Killing Room: 3 (The China Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
I have enjoyed all the Peter May books I've read, they include all of the Lewis Trilogy and the other China Thrillers. However, I think this has certainly been the best of the China Thrillers. The story is more intricate and believable and the suspense greater. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who enjoys their detective novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars China travelogue, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing Room: 3 (The China Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
The series gives an insight into the "new China" which is revelatory for me, both in terms of the places described and the customs of the indigenous population. Neither of the lead characters are people with whom the reader readily can empathise, but their inter-play provides a credible background to the storyline..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars peter may the killing room., 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing Room: 3 (The China Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent, a great Peter May, his setting in China is wonderful, described again with such attention to detail, a wonderful plot, a very exciting thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book three, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing Room: 3 (The China Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
Fantastically researched and written. Cause d me to go way past my sleep time it was so good. Book four next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing Room: 3 (The China Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
This 3rd book in the series is particularly gripping and made me want to buy the next one. As well as a gripping crime thriller based around the same main characters Peter May has a unique talent for "taking you to the setting" for each series of books. It is good to read about Chinese culture and society throughout the book as well as being able to picture sites I have visited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 24 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing Room: 3 (The China Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
I have read the whole of the China Thrillers series, all very good.
Details of the way the police system works in China is clear and well explained, and the stories are not too predictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews