Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars `A wave that broke free, changing everything, recreating the landscape, leaving nothing the same as before.'
Every Seventh Wave is the sequel to the novel Love Virtually. Readers of that first installment will know that we were left wondering what would happen with Emmi and Leo, our two protagonists, at the end of that book. Now is our chance to discover what happens next...

It's quite difficult to say a lot about this follow-up without including any spoilers, so I...
Published 17 months ago by L. H. Healy

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful follow-up to a great book
Every Seventh Wave is a sequel to Love Virtually, so this review contains spoilers for that book - which is incidentally very good and which I'd probably give four stars to. Written a series of email exchanges, Love Virtually begins when Emmi Rothner, attempting to cancel a magazine subscription, mistypes the email address and sends her increasing frustrated missives to...
Published 3 days ago by Theo


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars `A wave that broke free, changing everything, recreating the landscape, leaving nothing the same as before.', 6 Feb 2013
By 
L. H. Healy "Books are life, beauty and truth." (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Every Seventh Wave (Paperback)
Every Seventh Wave is the sequel to the novel Love Virtually. Readers of that first installment will know that we were left wondering what would happen with Emmi and Leo, our two protagonists, at the end of that book. Now is our chance to discover what happens next...

It's quite difficult to say a lot about this follow-up without including any spoilers, so I will try and be very careful in my review, but if it seems quite short, it may be because I needed to avoid mentioning much of the story.

Once again Emmi and Leo are corresponding with each other via email. (Although readers were left uncertain at the end of the first book as to whether they would be in contact again, I think it's fair to say that if you've gotten as far as thinking about reading the second book, it's not too much of a spoiler to say that they do start to communicate again - otherwise there wouldn't really be a second book!) What is for the reader to discover though, and not for me to reveal here, is how this romantic correspondence develops, and whether anything else will happen between the pair - will their love ever transcend the boundaries of email and become the real thing? After all, as Leo tells Emmi; `I'm sorry to say that happiness is not made of emails.'

The format of the novel, written totally in emails just like the first book, is a very effective idea and it is very well executed by the author. The exchanges are very often short and fast, the conversation zipping back and forth; this makes for quick and dramatic reading.

Without seeing each other's faces, there is always room for misinterpretation and doubt; there's a risk that one turn of phrase or sentence that is perhaps not quite clear in meaning could be misconstrued and thereby damage the bond that they share. The words in the emails that Emmi and Leo exchange enable a strong impression of each of the two characters to form in the reader's mind.

The storyline builds with tension and uncertainty, and kept me turning the pages. At times I was frustrated by the behaviour of Emmi in particular, and I think I warmed more to Leo and empathised with him. They are both flawed in their own ways and this makes them all the more believable. This sequel sees Emmi and Leo discussing aspects of their separate lives, including each other's current partner, and wondering if there will ever be a real life, away from the relative safety of hiding behind the computer screen, that will involve the two of them being together.

I loved revisiting these two characters, and reading their exchanges once again; they are at times very witty and funny, at other times full of anxiety and uncertainty, and sometimes so beautiful and passionate, but always with that very strong emotional connection between them. I felt by turns sad, delighted, anxious, frustrated and more by the two of them as I read.

The author has created two characters with a strong dynamic between them that makes for compelling reading. The way the idea of what happens with 'every seventh wave' is incorporated into the storyline is lyrical and apt. A word on the translation; it is beautifully done, I couldn't fault it.

If you read and enjoyed Love Virtually, I would definitely recommend reading Every Seventh Wave and continuing the journey alongside Emmi and Leo.

4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A highly intelligent, modern romance - and completely absorbing, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Seventh Wave (Paperback)
As with the first book, I was utterly incapable of putting down Every Seventh Wave - I swallowed it down hole in an afternoon. I'd waited more than a year for this second instalment, but because the book is so well written, it helped me to remember key events from book one without being at all obvious about it. Truly a romance for our times. But because we all know there is no such thing as happily ever after, I'd rather like for Daniel Glattauer and his excellent translators to give us a third book soon...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Awful follow-up to a great book, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Seventh Wave (Kindle Edition)
Every Seventh Wave is a sequel to Love Virtually, so this review contains spoilers for that book - which is incidentally very good and which I'd probably give four stars to. Written a series of email exchanges, Love Virtually begins when Emmi Rothner, attempting to cancel a magazine subscription, mistypes the email address and sends her increasing frustrated missives to Leo Lieke. They strike up a friendship and the title of the book gives a heads up for where it goes after that.

I liked it for a lot of reasons, most particularly the characters - Emmi in particular is quite unpleasant. She is demanding, self-centred, vain, and spoiled, but, crucially, she is very readable. Then there was the ending: it was perfect. Leo is leaving for Boston and Emmi is supposed to be going round to his flat so they can meet face to face before he goes, just once, only she doesn't and when she writes to Leo to explain why, all she gets is the autoresponder telling her the email address no longer exists.

So I was disappointed to find out there was a sequel. Emmi and Leo were not epic star-crossed lovers. One of the nice things about having a book which is purely email exchanges is that it allows the reader to have their own opinion, and mine is that they were selfish, stupid fantasists who got carried away with themselves and needed to think about the people they were hurting. Every Seventh Wave is a sequel for people who were rooting for Emmi and Leo, and it is tedious.

What was well done in Love Virtually is boring, and repetitive here. There is a glimmer of something better at times, but for much of it there are no outside forces, no real life world forcing itself in. This book begins with Emmi exchanging messages with Leo's autoresponder, months after he's left for Boston, but what's missing is the hole in Emmi's life which leads her to still sit there sending messages to this guy 9 months after he left. The hole was there in Love Virtually, she could be frivolous Emmi, saying what she thought without worrying about it, but here it feels convenient, and that's a good summation of the book. Stuff happens, but it's not compelling and it's reported by the characters, rather than the more natural exchanges of Love Virtually.

Crucially, I don't know what Emmi and Leo see in each other. More than once I found myself wondering why one or the other of them didn't tell the other to take a running jump. I could forgive if it was entertainingly bitchy, or even just human, but it's dull and it's boring, and in the end I just didn't care.

In brief, it feels like it was written because the first was such a big success, and that's a shame.

If you were the type of person desperate to find out what happened next with Leo and Emmi, you'd probably like it, but otherwise let Love Virtually stand alone. I found the story a great disappointment, so I'm going to give it one and a half stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I loved it! Thank you, Daniel Glattauer., 3 May 2013
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Every Seventh Wave (Paperback)
If you are lingering around this page, most probably it is because you read and enjoyed the prequel to "Every Seventh Wave", Love Virtually (as I did some time ago, thanks to the brilliant Amazon's Kindle Deal of the Day).

If you have not read the first book Love Virtually, you should do it immediately and prior to buying this one, as "Every Seventh Wave" is a surprise sequel to the virtual love story (that can happen to anybody, or so we would like to think).

Already enjoyed Love Virtually? Then read this! Even though, in my personal opinion, the first book was better. Just a little bit better. Truth be told, there is not much reinventing possible and not much you can do (stylistically, as well as where the story goes) for two books of email correspondence between two romantically involved people. But "Every Seventh Wave" is still surprising, clever, funny, satirical, sad, bittersweet, knowing, wise, thought-provoking and, at the same time, an easy read - I guarantee you will want to finish it in one sitting, and will be hungry for more! The format of the novel (which is made entirely of emails, yet again), is impressively executed by the author, Daniel Glattauer. And what a knowing guy this Herr Glattauer must be - he writes brilliantly using the voice of a female (occasionally hysterical) protagonist and male (occasionally frustratingly useless) one. But female! From a guy!

The storyline builds with uncertainty and I just could not stop turning the pages while the tension was building up. Perhaps occasionally a tiny bit too repetitive (how many "let's meet - let's not meet" email dialogues are needed?) story concluded with an inevitable end. Sadly, I guess, there will be no volume 3.

I loved it! Thank you, Daniel Glattauer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was everything that I hoped it would be...a brilliant story xxx, 23 April 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Every Seventh Wave (Paperback)
We pick up the story in Every Seventh Wave, where after a year of silence, Emmi and Leo are back in contact once more. Emmi is still married to Bernhead and Leo has a girlfriend, Pamela. As their emails start back up, so does the passion, and as they become closer, they wonder whether the romance could survive changing from being `virtual' to `real life'...

I really enjoyed this! I loved the first book, Love Virtually, and so I was thrilled to learn that there would be a continuation of Emmi and Leo's tale. I was initaially worried that perhaps it wouldn't live up to my expectations as I enjoyed the first book so much, and that I may be slightly let down by this one, but that was not the case at all, in fact, it was the complete opposite! I fell back into the story straight away and was so pleased to be reunited with the characters that I was so fond of from before.

This is a very easy book to get into, the novel is portrayed through emails sent back and forth between Emmi and Leo. Some of the emails are longer, but most of them are short, which means that if you are really absorbed in the story like I was, then it seems quick-paced and so you will whiz through the correspondences, wanting to know what words they will type to each other next.

It is not all plain sailing, there are some lovely and beautiful moments in the emails, but there are also moments of doubt, moments of tension and moments where as a reader I was not sure where the story would go. However, this is very effective as it shows a real life relationship, a real relationship with ups and downs, raw emotion and uncertainty - which I'm sure most people will be able to relate to. The tension and the ups and downs compelled me to read on, as I so desperately wanted to know if they would still continue emailing whether they would take their relationship to the next level, or perhaps cut off contact completely - I loved that I was constantly kept guessing.

I enjoyed the interaction between Emmi and Leo, it was funny and had me smiling or giggling into the pages, there were also moments of doubt and uncertainty over how they should progress. But there were also some tender and very passionate moments that showed me the true feelings that they had for each other and the strength of the bond between them.

Every Seventh Wave was everything that I had hoped it would be. I could not put it down, I was glued to the pages and loved spending time with Emmi and Leo again. This is a very well-written love story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Seventh Wave (Kindle Edition)
Read the first one and continue with this.
Nice concept but the ending was too predictable.
Good book - felt captivated from strt to end didn't want to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you enjoyed Love Virtually, then you must read this., 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Seventh Wave (Kindle Edition)
continues the story from when Love Virtually finished, continuing the romance between Emmi and Leo which is mostly carried out by email. It's an excellent modern romance and I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Didn't like the translation, 21 Dec 2012
By 
M. Cox (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Every Seventh Wave (Paperback)
I came across this book through reading the French version (I don't read German)after reading Love Virtually in French then afterwards in English. I wasn't aware of a difference in translation in Love Virtually. But Every Seventh Wave seems to be aimed at the US market and Emmi speaks more like a cheerleader saying things like Yikes. The subtle and understated European voice gets lost and, for me, the biggest disappointment is when:

'To be together is to want to be together and one day, perhaps, to learn to get to know each other' in the French version becomes 'Togetherness is staying together, so that we might, at last, have a wonderful life together' US version
also
'To see you, to hear you, to feel you, to feel you again, to kiss you, to touch you, to make love to you, to give you a child, to devour you becomes:
'Grabbing you, pulling you to the floor, making you pregnant, eating you up'.

Similarly 'to go stealing horses' is put in as a literal translation from a German phrase which means nothing to an English audience and apparently means in German to enjoy each other's company and play around together and in french is translated as flirting.

It would be nice to get the views of a German speaker.

So, while if you have read the first book, you will not be able to resist the second, it is a shame that at the end of the book when I most needed the subtlety of the relationship to be reflected in the language, I was somewhat disappointed.

Original French translations:
1. 'Etre ensemble, c'est vouloir rester ensemble, pour peut-etre un jour apprendre a bien se connaitre'
2. 'Te garder? T'adorer? Te voir? T'entendre? Te sentir? Te ressentir? T'embrasser? Te toucher? Te faire l'amour? Te faire un enfant? Te devorer'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it in a day., 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Seventh Wave (Paperback)
The second book, read the Love virtually over a weekend and the same with this. Your heart pulls as different turns in each of there lives takes them further and further apart from been together.
A modern love story. With twists and turns.
Loved it couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cmpulsive, 13 Sep 2012
By 
someone (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Seventh Wave (Paperback)
This sequel was wvery bit as compulsive a read as the first ('Love Virtually')It's a Psychological drama about a love affair conducted via emails.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Every Seventh Wave
Every Seventh Wave by Daniel Glattauer
2.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews