Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Temeraire
Having read Willis's "The Admiral Benbow" previously & having enjoyed a replica of Turner's painting in my appartment for some time now, my expectations when buying "the Fighting Temeraire" were really high. And indeed it is a good book. The story actually starts during the 7 years' war, when the British capture a French ship (a 2-decker) called Temeraire. The...
Published on 19 Oct 2011 by M. Baerends

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor printing
this was a replacement for another copy of the same book both of which were badly printed, the type being grey and many illustrations wooly and blurred
Published 22 months ago by darosh


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Temeraire, 19 Oct 2011
By 
M. Baerends - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having read Willis's "The Admiral Benbow" previously & having enjoyed a replica of Turner's painting in my appartment for some time now, my expectations when buying "the Fighting Temeraire" were really high. And indeed it is a good book. The story actually starts during the 7 years' war, when the British capture a French ship (a 2-decker) called Temeraire. The better-known 3-deck Temeraire of Trafalgar fame was built much later in Britain itself. The book follows the various campaigns this ship participated in (including a mutiny when the ship was sent to the Caribbean when the peace treaty of Amiens was already signed) & also discusses the typical 'second life' of wooden fighting ships of this era as floating hulks used to house French prisoners of war. The book then culminates in an eulogy of Turner's famous painting.
Overall, I think this is an excellent book. In my humble opinion, Admiral Benbow was slightly better but probably that judgement is coloured by the fact that I knew much less of Benbow's times than of Nelson's & hence learned more from the Benbow book. A nice 'extra' is the esthetically pleasing cover. Good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History Comes To Life., 8 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. B. Berry (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is obvious from page one. This book was written by an historian with a great love of the subject.
All the facts are given in such a way that they are easily absorbed even when they seem unbelieveable.

The ship is the star of course but the men who worked above her,on her and below are brought to life in terrific detail. Sam Willis certainly did his homework.

I am looking foreward to his second book in the Hearts of Oak trilogy Admiral Benbow and then his third The Glorious First of June. Come on Dr.Willis make it a quartet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opening, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fighting Temeraire: Legend of Trafalgar (Hearts of Oak Trilogy) (Kindle Edition)
This book revealed to me just how much we owed to the ship and crew of the Temeraire. Just a great shame we broke her up, she should be a national symbol of all that is good about British culture and stoicism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. B. Mangan "Wellington Thirds" (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have not read a book on this subject since putting down Patrick O'Brian's 'Blue at the Mizzen' half-read (I didn't want the adventure to end). The Fighting Temeraire has re-ignited my passion for this stuff. Although it is not a novel as such, the narrative is so readable that it is still a great adventure from start to finish. Ten out of ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't Put it down, 6 Nov 2010
This is a book that is so compelling to read you don't want to put it down! It is so stuffed with facts it is almost an encyclopaedia of British maritime activities in the 16 to 18 hundreds. If it were a jam it would have 140g of fruit per 100 grams of it! Packed with nautical nuances and insights....pure delight to anyone interested in how Britain became the sea lords of that era or anyone interested in the sea, Square Riggers and sailing in general.
Go on buy it. It's not cheap but it more than makes up for it's price. A gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding historical read, 10 Feb 2010
This book puts the whole of the Napoleonic Wars period into perspective. A first class read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Outstanding Book, 5 Dec 2013
By 
O. G. M. Morgan (Hants, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fighting Temeraire: Legend of Trafalgar (Hearts of Oak Trilogy) (Kindle Edition)
I nearly said "admirable", but I thought it would look like a bad pun on "admiral". Sam Willis really has written a very good book. I admire his ability to switch between naval history and painting. He seems to navigate between two dramatically different genres with no effort at all. He analyses the history of the "Temeraire" name - as he points out, unlike many French words, it is absolutely meaningless in English. Then he gives us a cradle-to-grave account of the actually rather short career of HMS Temeraire (much shorter than the Victory's, even before HMS Victory was installed in Portsmouth). HMS Temeraire had a very alarming lifetime, missing the Nile, but definitely making up for that omission at Trafalgar, when she tackled two French warships at the same time.

The chapter on Turner's masterpiece is utterly outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 7 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hugely readable, massively interesting book that very effectively conveys some sense of what it must have been like to live and sail in these magnificent ships, well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Historical ,technical, yet still exciting, 24 Feb 2010
I found the explanation of sailing warships informative yet not too overburdened with technical detail.the Admirals whether English or otherwise well researched,and the battles exciting,with a sympathetic feel for the lower deck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Present for Ship-mad Husband, 11 Feb 2010
By 
G. Wallace - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's always difficult finding presents for someone whose birthday comes close after Christmas and just before Valentine's Day. 'The Fighting Temeraire' was an excellent choice. Beautiful illustrations, plenty of odd facts, can be read straight through or picked up at random.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews