Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and informative
This series is both entertaining and informative. A bright overview of the period between the fall of the Roman Empire and the Middle Ages, the documentary includes interviews with eminent historians, as well as riveting recreated scenes. shows how the Dark Ages were short, nasty and brutish.
We get a feeling of the apocalyptic fall of Rome, the ambitions of...
Published 13 months ago by Gary Selikow

versus
100 of 103 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT the BBC 2012 documentary series...
This is a confusing listing, so a word of warning. It's a 2007 documentary from the American History channel, which runs to around 94 mins. We rented it a while back; nothing particularly new or interesting, but a reasonable introduction to the subject.
However, I suspect that quite a few people will come across this listing while looking for the new (autumn 2012)...
Published 23 months ago by Rowena Hoseason


Most Helpful First | Newest First

100 of 103 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT the BBC 2012 documentary series..., 28 Nov 2012
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Dark Ages [DVD] (DVD)
This is a confusing listing, so a word of warning. It's a 2007 documentary from the American History channel, which runs to around 94 mins. We rented it a while back; nothing particularly new or interesting, but a reasonable introduction to the subject.
However, I suspect that quite a few people will come across this listing while looking for the new (autumn 2012) BBC series by art historian Waldemar Januszczak, which runs to four, hour-long episodes. Just to be clear, that is an entirely different series entitled 'The Dark Ages -- an age of light' and so far looks to be far superior. However, there's no sign of it on Amazon just yet, so it may not be released as a DVD (which is a shame, cos I wanted to to give it to someone for Christmas).

Apologies that this isn't a 'proper review' of the product on this page, but I figured it would help people to know that there are two series with similar names -- and you wouldn't want to buy this one if you were looking for the BBC one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and informative, 10 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: The Dark Ages [DVD] (DVD)
This series is both entertaining and informative. A bright overview of the period between the fall of the Roman Empire and the Middle Ages, the documentary includes interviews with eminent historians, as well as riveting recreated scenes. shows how the Dark Ages were short, nasty and brutish.
We get a feeling of the apocalyptic fall of Rome, the ambitions of Byzantine Emperor Constantine the Great to rebuild the roman Empire, with the support of his extremely sexy wife Theodora. The drama where the citizens turn on Constantine and he is about to flee, but Theodora refuses and instead he massacres the Byzantium's citizenry is splendidly captured.

The spread of Christianity and the life of monasteries and the clergy, the horrors and devastation of the great plague, the growing , the savagery of the Vikings, Islamic threat against Europe, the resistance to Islamic invasion by Charles Martel, the reign of Charlemagne and his creation of the Holy Roman Empire, and the origins of the Crusades are all well captured and we are given a splendid window into these events and the period.
Of course this is a beginners course, each episode needs to be further studied in more detail than the introduction given in the one and a half hour docudrama, but this is highly reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars historical?, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark Ages [DVD] (DVD)
Stunningly banal, no evidence of historical research, soldiers wearing what look like Crimplene uniforms!! Maybe, knowing quite a lot about the subject I judge it too harshly, but I don't think so! Much better programmes are available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dark ages or light nights?, 28 May 2013
This review is from: The Dark Ages [DVD] (DVD)
Thankyou to Rowena Hoseason (the first review)for the guidance to this less than dvd called The Dark Ages.I was not aware of the BBC version of the dark ages but will now go down that path and rely on the usual BBC reliability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark Ages [DVD] (DVD)
not watched it all yet but hope that era of history will grow on me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not really for me, 18 Mar 2013
By 
Bhillstead "Jillstead's say." (Lincolnshire. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark Ages [DVD] (DVD)
Quite enjoyed it although I found some areas not so well covered as others.Prefer really in depth subjects, but my friends thought it was pretty fair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2.5 stars for a small "Appetiser" documentary on "The Dark Ages"., 23 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Dark Ages [DVD] (DVD)
Enough to get you hungry for more....(around 90 minutes)..but leaves you there..and you are not left with many more options really..as nothing really much more on "the Dark Ages" as a documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jolly good stuff, 13 Dec 2012
By 
lose weight "lose weight" (Bedfordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark Ages [DVD] (DVD)
jolly good stuff. Lots of hacking and bashing. Life in the dark Ages was in general, nasty brutish and short. gives you a general overview of the era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dark Ages [DVD]
The Dark Ages [DVD] (DVD - 2012)
£6.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews