Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Preliminaires (Part 2)
In many ways, this album continues the theme of his last solo album (as the title indicates). While the previous release was mostly written by Iggy Pop, these tunes are mainly covers of French and English classics from long ago. Additionally, and probably much to the horror of The Stooges fans, it is even gentler. There is not so much as one track which could be...
Published on 13 July 2012 by Charles Miller

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Thackray's return
Iggy manages to sound uncannily like the late Jake Thackray (look him up)... maybe Iggy's pop persona was a transmogrification of Thackray all along.

Other than that it is an ok album from an ageing singer which proves that while he may be in the death car... he is still alive
Published on 31 Oct 2012 by Ivan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Preliminaires (Part 2), 13 July 2012
By 
Charles Miller "objective clarity" (Baltimore, Maryland U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Après (Audio CD)
In many ways, this album continues the theme of his last solo album (as the title indicates). While the previous release was mostly written by Iggy Pop, these tunes are mainly covers of French and English classics from long ago. Additionally, and probably much to the horror of The Stooges fans, it is even gentler. There is not so much as one track which could be considered rock.

Iggy Pop pretty much has two musical careers now... that of the lead vocalist of the hard-rocking "nostalgia" act, The Stooges, and that of a smooth "lounge lizard" with his latest solo releases. The differences between these two personas is radical. As a result, this is not an album many Stooges fans would like. Unfortunately, since the name Iggy Pop is forever tied to The Stooges, it will probably fly off the radar of those who would like it. On this album, his voice is pure velvet. It is for fans who truly appreciate all that Iggy Pop is capable of. If you really like his voice, here it is again, only in a totally different genre of music.

Like Preliminaires, it is 5-star material, but I gave it 4-stars due its severe brevity, clocking in at only 28 minutes. It seems as soon as you settle in and get comfortable with it, it's over. To remedy the this, I burned the 36-minute Preliminaires, followed by the 28-minute Après to a single CDR, making for a "new" hour+ album. No illegal downloads please... support the artist and buy these albums before you do it. Here's hoping more material like this will come soon, only longer and with better presentation.

Also hoping The Stooges stop their "nostalgia" act, playing the same songs over and over again. I've read they may re-record old early 70s material that was never recorded in the studio. Please, don't do that. Return to the studio and write brand new tracks. Hey, don't get me wrong here... I love their old material and am probably the only person who saw them 9 times in their original incarnation back in the day, but enough is enough. It's time to truly ressurrect The Stooges as a vital and innovative band, which I am sure they are more than capable of being.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than just punk, 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Après (MP3 Download)
Iggy shows he is more than just a punk rock throw back. His last album Preliminaire gave hints of what was to come, but this, is much better.

For me Arizona Dream was the best Iggy album. It shows an interest in other countries/cultures.

This album brings it all home and restores his artistic credibility. It's not a greatest hits or an attempt to rewrite his hits. It's his take on his favourite songs. And why not. Johnny Cash did it.

His singing in French (for me) is also good.

I think everyone should give this a go. He could so easily have recorded a bland middle aged punk rock album that no one really needs. Instead he did something rather more interesting and intelligent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars over just too soon, too short, 9 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. Robert Marsland (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Après (Audio CD)
This is a really nice album with Iggy in mellow mood again with some French chansons. I liked his almost stumbling delivery and maybe it was a bit reminiscent of Chet Baker. The whole set of songs also is really really short and is over before you know it. therefore four instead of five stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Après (Audio CD)
Sounds lovely! Very good action from Iggy, nice voice! I would recommend it also to Stooges-Iggy fans (like me). Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars What is Iggy playing at?, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Après (Audio CD)
This is an awful record. Iggy's last solo effort Preliminaires was an engaging and challenging disc which I felt was similar to The Idiot in musical style. However, Après is a tedious covers album of French tunes and some middle of the road ballads. Iggy's croon has never sounded so out of place, I simply don't know why he thought this was a good idea?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnifique!, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Après (Audio CD)
Continuing the french theme from his last album Preliminaires, Apres is a collection of covers this time - no original Iggy songs here. Of the ten songs, five are sung in french...the well known french track being Piaf's La Vie en Rose (interpreted here as per the Louis Armstrong version with trumpet). The other five tunes are sung in english and they include 'Everybody's Talkin' by Fred Neil (more famously sung by Nillson for the Midnight Cowboy movie)and the Beatles' Michelle...Another track covered is a Yoko Ono/Sean Lennon original 'I'm going away smiling'...

Iggy sings each song beautifully imo in his deep and distinctive baritone voice that has matured like a fine french wine and sounds better than ever......and the musical backing is perfectly complimentary and as a whole creates a wonderful 'ambience'. I much prefer Apres to Preliminaires, which I also think is an excellent album.

I will make a bold statment and say that some of these versions by Iggy could be the definitive ones for me in future....but its early days..

The downside to the album is the length of duration - its just short of 30 minutes long - although that is no different to the Beatles 'A Hard Days Night' album and Dylan's 'Nashville Skyline' - quality over quantity..

The cd comes with a booklet with lyrics and notes by Iggy on each tune..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Iggy Strikes Again, 8 Dec 2012
By 
Frank Bozic Jr. (brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Après (Audio CD)
Respect his own age but wild like ever!!! Iggy continues in his way surprising me with this classic album including amazing covers from beatles and other nice shots!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Thackray's return, 31 Oct 2012
This review is from: Après (Audio CD)
Iggy manages to sound uncannily like the late Jake Thackray (look him up)... maybe Iggy's pop persona was a transmogrification of Thackray all along.

Other than that it is an ok album from an ageing singer which proves that while he may be in the death car... he is still alive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, buy it, 22 July 2012
By 
Greg Cray (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Après (Audio CD)
This shouldn't work, but it does. As someone with eclectic, some would say haphazard, musical taste I am as happy dipping into a bit of Iggy and the Stooges Raw Power as I am the latest Melody Gardot album (The Absence - also very good by the way).

I was worried this album would be like those absolutely dreadful Rod Stewart American Songbook issues, where Rod "blah, blah, blahs" his way through some of the best songs ever written. However, I gave the album a try, because I loved that version of Well Did You Evah he did with Debbie Harry many moons ago and I am very glad I did.

The slow, languid delivery of Iggy here is something different entirely to many other rockers turned crooners. His phrasing is perfect and choice of songs is good, although Everybody's Talkin', while good, doesn't fit so well with the rest of the tracks.

Iggy adopts an easy listening 'singing' approach akin to Leonard Cohen's de-bankrupting himself later work. There is a bit of Parlando style singing style (as very ably demonstrated by Rex Harrison in My Fair Lady) going on too, where a lot of the lyric is delivered as if speaking.

So Iggy, more of this please. Also continue to be choosy about the tracks you select, bravo for not going down the more obvious American standard route.

It probably also helps that I am sitting on a shaded sun terrace on the second day of a 3 week holiday. Enough for any record to sound good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Soif de Vivre!, 22 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Après (MP3 Download)
At last, Iggy has fully realised his long-time intention to record a "crooner" album...that aspect to his work has been present ever since the debut Stooges album, when Mr Osterberg first deployed his rich, wracked baritone on the acid-rock ballad "Ann". Perhaps "The Idiot" was the first Iggy Pop album to really start exploring torch songs, albeit in an experimental, post-Kraftwerk setting.

2009's Preliminaires was a very enjoyable first phase of Iggy's foray into French language songs, although that album was rather on the short side. I note that other reviewers feel that Apres could also have been longer, but to me, the length feels just right- most CDs nowadays are way too long, with much filler material. Iggy keeps "Apres" tight and focused and its length is similar to that of an old-school LP.

This album is all about Iggy's voice, and the song order is intelligently sequenced so that the album moves from a breezy start through to a quietly intense finale, with some very fine singing framed by tasteful arrangements.

All in all, this album is a triumph; it will upset those who would like Iggy to keep churning out raw rock albums ad infinitum, but for those who appreciate Iggy's more thoughtful, intense side, "Apres" is an absolute treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Après
Après by Iggy Pop (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews