Customer Reviews


215 Reviews
5 star:
 (170)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Special Features
Was annoyed about the special features, buying the individual films would've worked out a couple of quid cheaper (and I'm not at all bothered about Iron Man 2) but I decided to get the box set and that was a bit of a mistake. The Hulk even says "disk one" on it and no disk two is supplied, I find this really annoying, if you're not bothered about special features then get...
Published 20 months ago by PaddyO'H

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars All movies,in ONE individual case!
You know all about the films,but,you dont get the large box as shown,its all condensed into a single case format,you dont feel like youve got yer moneys worth,I hate the packaging.
Published 2 months ago by Malcolm McDonald


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Special Features, 1 Jan 2013
Was annoyed about the special features, buying the individual films would've worked out a couple of quid cheaper (and I'm not at all bothered about Iron Man 2) but I decided to get the box set and that was a bit of a mistake. The Hulk even says "disk one" on it and no disk two is supplied, I find this really annoying, if you're not bothered about special features then get the box set but if you enjoy them, buy the films individually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 112 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Assorted grab-bag of discs, 18 Sep 2012
By 
N. Stewart - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel's The Avengers - 6-Disc Box Set [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
When I bought this it was 35, which is a bargain for six Blu-rays, so I don't begrudge the relative lack of special features.

However, considering that the movies included in the set have made Marvel/Disney something in the region of $3.8 billion, you'd think that they could print some new matching discs.

Instead we get the previous releases popped out of their old cases and stuck in a shiny box. I like the shiny box, but the random appearance of this discs does make the inside of the collection look cheap.

- Iron Man and Iron Man 2 don't even match, with Iron Man 2 even saying 'Disc 1' on it.

- The Incredible Hulk has a big picture of that film's Hulk on it, highlighting the one bit of casting they couldn't keep for Avengers (excellent as Mark Ruffalo is, that's still a pity).

- The Avengers Assemble disc just has a big blue print on it that seems to say "Meh. If the UK wanted a decent disc, they shouldn't have changed the film's name".

So, as I say, five great films (plus Iron Man 2) on Blu-ray at a very reasonable price. But the lack of detail work does make it look like they'd rather that people buy their massive "what do you mean we can't just copy your briefcase?" collection, whenever it comes out.

EDITED TO ADD - I've also put up a photo of the discs. Click on 'View and share related images' under the picture of the set at the top of the page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like big loud dumb superhero films with virtually no plot - Yay!, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel's The Avengers - 6-Disc Box Set [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I know my title is sarcastic, and I do think all those things - including the "Yay!" There is paper thin plotting. But if dumb, big and loud is your thing you can't get much dumber, bigger or louder than this box set. It's crammed with extras and the picture and sound is amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Assembled!, 19 Sep 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel's The Avengers - 6-Disc Box Set [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I don't often buy blu-rays as there are few films I'll watch over and over but having seen "Avengers Assemble", I knew Marvel's Phase 1 series of films was now something I would have to revisit. So not having any of the 6 films, this is a great buy as each movie works out at just under seven quid - very decent.

As for the packaging, well... it's as amazing as the content. You get a plastic film surrounding a silver cardboard shell (that kind of looks like a giant lighter) with a standard digipack that unfolds to reveal the 6 blu-rays. And about those blu-rays - these aren't specially minted copies for this edition, they've been taken from existing blu-rays of the individual films and collected in this set so there's no uniformity.

Also for those wondering why Thor doesn't have any special features - it does, Amazon have just left it off the item description for some reason. Though if you already have the Thor blu-ray, you already have these extras. As for the Avengers extras, there are 4: "A Visual Journey" which is a featurette on the film, deleted scenes, gag reel, and a Marvel One Shot "Item 47". This last one is interesting and seems to be an indicator of the direction the proposed SHIELD TV series could go. If so, I'm in, I was entertained by the short film. While there's not an abundance of extras, it's the films that matter the most, so this box set is perfect for me.

As for the film itself, if you have the right set up - big TV, blu-ray player - the Avengers looks soooooo beautiful! I saw this at an IMAX cinema and this film looks even better at home, in high def, on HDTV. Iron Man taking on the Chitauri invasion fleet single-handed? Just incredible. I'm now going to go and watch each movie every night this week to drink in the visual beauty of these films in blu-ray and fantastic storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars All movies,in ONE individual case!, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You know all about the films,but,you dont get the large box as shown,its all condensed into a single case format,you dont feel like youve got yer moneys worth,I hate the packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value for Money, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I know some other reviews of this box set are a little on the negative side due to the reviewers opinions about lack of extras on many of the discs, the disc holders being the same as if you were purchasing the films individually, and "that" altered scene in "Avengers Assemble"

but if you really look at this box set with your "financial hat" on... you will see that its great value for money.
Before i decided to purchase this product, i had been looking at purchasing some of the films individually... but if i had done that, it would have cost me roughly the same money for 3x of the Films as this box set cost for double the discs and the ability to view all of the movies about each of the "hero" aAvengers (Iron man, hulk, captain america and thor) and take note of the connecting plot points running through all of the movies.

Sure, the discs lack a lot of the extras that you get on the blu-ray discs... but personally im willing to live without the deleted scenes from some of the films, but thats me.

Unless your really desperate for directors commentary, and every deleted scene.. i would highly recommend this box set to fans or just to someone wanting to enjoy the whole saga... atleast untill the next lot of movies get released over the next few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh yes, 25 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Where do I even begin to explain the sheer epicness of this boxset? Let me start by saying, it's a brilliant price for such a wonderful collection of cinematic delights, a dazzling spectacle for the eyes and ears. This one is not for the purists though, if you are looking for extra discs, countless special features, hours of interviews and biographies of each actor and their dog including their bloodtype, you will sorely be disappointed. However, if you just enjoy superhero films with humour, fun storylines, colourful costumes, actors in varying shades of attractiveness and explosions then look no further!

I don't even know why I have written this review in such extravagant terms, it might be that the Asgardian use of the English language is rubbing off on me (how convenient that Norse Gods can speak English, by the way!).

What I mean to say is: This DVD boxset, I like it. ANOTHER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointed, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel's The Avengers - 6-Disc Box Set [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Firstly the movies are all great, entertaining to watch over and over again. However I felt a little shortchanged by this box set. The packaging is cheap and flimsy and the discs appear to be a mish-mash from unsold stock. Also lacks additional extras
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the price you cant beat it, 17 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. Gregory Brys "Menace2Photography" (Eccleshall, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marvel's The Avengers - 6-Disc Box Set [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
OK so you only get the feature disc for each movie, but for the price could you expect any more. Each film is demo material for any home cinema buff wanting to show off their system in particular the Avengers which is stunning. The picture is razor sharp and the sound is immense

For a comic book movie fan like myself there's not a bad film in the bunch

So sit back and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great boxset, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great boxset!! I brought this boxset for my sister for christmas, she loved it.Would definetly recommend this for yourselves or as a gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marvel's The Avengers - 6-Disc Box Set [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
99.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews