Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
120
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2013
im so so glad i came across this author, i have yet to find even 1 line that is boring in her books, i have read countless crime & mystery books,& i have to say L.J.Sellers is one of the best story teller ever. she does not waste time in any boring parts, she gets straight to the story & boom she captures u, i could not put this book down, after reading her 1st book about detective jackson i downloaded all of them straight away, im on my no 4 now & i was not disappointed,every 1 of them is great & i would give them 10 stars if i could,i highly highly recomend the detective jackson series to any 1 who likes a great crime & mystery.if you are new to this authors books about jackson i would recomend you start with them in order it makes it easier to understand the story behind all the characters in the story, i hope this helps: 1-The sex club,2-Secrets to die for,3-thrilled to death,4-passions of the dead...happy reading
11 comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2011
I don't usually use the phrase "grab you by the throat" about books, because it seems like such a cliche, but honestly... when I read that first chapter of Passions of the Dead, I felt a little dizzy. Then I realised I'd been holding my breath.

A family of four is brutally attacked in their home, the only survivor is the 18 year-old daughter. Jackson is determined to find out who would commit such a horrific crime, but there are only too many suspects.

The family's recent history begins to unfold, and it's one tragedy after another. It's gut-wrenching, and yet the story is easy to read. Jackson's determination fills the reader with a sense of hope, and he doesn't disappoint.

I loved it so much that I've already started reading Dying for Justice, the next in the series.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2012
I have just completed this story and as far as I am concerned it is the best one of the series yet. Both the murder investigation and the ongoing story of Jackson and the others are extremely well written, and as for the twist at the end ... A first class story and one that I happy to recommend to anyone who likes a good detective story
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is the first book by L J Sellers that I have read, as Detective Mysteries are not usually my choice of reading. This book has changed my mind and opened up another reading direction.

"Passions of the Dead" is an EXCELLENT read! There is not a boring chapter in the book, from the first page of the first chapter, you are right in there with the cops. There are a lopt of characters in the book and a list of them prior to chapter 1, which is quite useful!

The scene opens with Sergeant Lammers announcing that there are to be layoffs, when suddenly a desk officers rushes in to announce mass homicide in a local house. The reader is then swept along into the cut and thrust of the grisly scene that the detectives find at 1252 Randall Street, in Eugene a small city in the state of Oregon.

The book has chapters interspersed, that are about the victims and suspects, at a time 2 months earlier. It makes it interesting and part of the investigation, to find out more of these people and their situations. This does not detract from or make the story line in any way difficult to follow. There tends to be say 2 or 3 chapters of the current crime time and investigation and then a couple of chapters of the previous months. This goes on through the book and entwines very well and very easily.

Along the way you will think you know where the trail is going, but then it all changes. Other crimes committed locally are possibly connected. You will also worry for Detective Wade Jackson, as he is not in the best of health following an operation. He is extremely conscientious and hard working, and as a consequence finds he has little time to spend with his daughter and the new love in his life, Kera, a nurse. You can feel Wade's exhaustion and his need to solve this heinous crime.

The end is a real surprise and not what I thought was coming.

This book is a real page-turner and I could not put it down. It would make a good film for the big screen or a series for the TV.

An EXCELLENT book - a very clever story and I thoroughly recommend it. Enjoy!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
Competently written, this is a nice, easy read. No frills, no in depth characterisations despite basic background life information on the main protagonists but the story rolls along smoothly. And it is quite an exciting one if rather predictable towards the end.
I won't be looking out for any others in the series but it was a pleasant way to spend a rainy afternoon.

Oh yes, don't bother with the audio book: the reader's voice was not good at differentiating between characters and almost lulled me to sleep.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 5 November 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a very competently written police procedural. When a family are slaughtered in their home with only the young daughter surviving, albeit injured, the culprit is not immediately obvious to Jackson. The case is gradually built as each of the possible murderers is investigated although it proves difficult to rule anyone out completely. In the end dogged police work prevails and there is a rather dramatic finale.

Police procedurals are an overcrowded genre. To the credit of the author she avoids the most obvious cliches. One gets a little bored with damaged detectives who are barely functioning due to addictions, handicaps or other issues. To be sure Jackson has his personal problems, but these amount to little more than giving some background to his character.

Given the number of books written which cover police investigations, it is difficult for an author to write a story which really stands out from the crowd, and I would not say that Passions of the Dead succeeds in doing this. It is not the sort of book which, having finished it, the reader is going to recall much about in a few months time. However it is a good, entertaining read which keeps up a steady pace throughout. Incidentally, although there have been a number of previous detective Jackson books, it is not necessary to have read these as this is very much a standalone volume.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2011
This is definately my favourite so far.

The book did not disappoint and had twists in the book to make you think you knew how it was going - only to find it went the other way!

The relationship between Dect. Jackson and Kera is in the background again giving a good mix in the book of the investigation and light romance.

The ending was very good and certainly not how I imangined it but was very well written.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
This is the fourth book I have read in the series of Detective Jackson mysteries, and I have enjoyed them all. Ms Sellers is an accomplished writer, who knows how to pace a story, as well as creating a number of interesting and likeable characters who avoid the standard stereotypes of some crime fiction (for example, it's the ex-wife of the main character, not the detective, who is the recovering alcoholic). 'Passions of the Dead' is a very readable 'who dunnit' with an exciting ending. If you haven't read any of the Detective Jackson books before, I can thoroughly recommend them. Although this book contains references to the cases covered in previous books in the series, it's not essential to read them in order, so if you're interested in trying out a crime writer you've not read before, this is as good a book as any of them to start with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 September 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
in a crime novel?.i have never readf this authour before but i will read more in the future. this book has everything ,a crime commited and plenty of suspect, obvious ones and not so obvious ones a detective in personal turmoil, romance , personal struggles, teenage daughters and pressures at work. im surprised the detective is still standing let alone on top of the case, then the only witness goes missing!!
a great story at a fast pace and not at all following a formular of some crime series a really good read
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
A fantastic book, not bad for a pound. So good I bought more from this author. The story is that of a family murder. Three are dead, the fourth nearly dead. Detective Jackson is in charge of the investigation, who has enough personal problems of his own. The book keeps you guessing all the way to the end. Lots of twists and turns. A very good read. I couldn't put it down. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse