Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars key to the kuffs, 11 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Key To The Kuffs (Audio CD)
its been a while since ive been really impressed with doom but 'Key to the kuffs' is dope, these two artists make a good combination, i love how the 1 MC 1 producer formula is creepin its way back into hip hop i.e. apollo brown & OC - Trophies and Killer Mikes R.A.P Music. the amount of dope hip hop albums coming out these past two years has been ridiculous, long may it continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Villain 2.0., 24 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Key To The Kuffs (Audio CD)
Interesting as always with touches of genius

Jneiro Jarels beats awaken DOOM with a rapid-fire flow

The villain on new beats, a no-brainer really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DOOM is back!!, 27 Dec 2012
This review is from: Key To The Kuffs (Audio CD)
Its strange that, up until the date of writing this review (27th December 2012), that there are only 3 reviews of this album on the Amazon UK site. It seems to have been largely ignored by the vast majority of underground hip hop fans...and the critical reception has been varied. The irony of this has been the inclusion of the JJ DOOM record on many of the 'Best of 2012' lists, appearing in most top 50, top 20 and some top 10 lists of various publications & websites in their recap of the best music of this year.

My reaction on first listening to the whole record was one of uncertainty. There were tracks (Guv'nor, Bite the Thong, Winter Blues among others) that instantly grabbed my attention but there were others I didn't instantly take to (Borin' Convo, GMO, Bout the Shoes). Historically with DOOM albums, be it self titled albums or under another moniker such as Madvillain, it can take a while for things to 'click'. Unsurprisingly this was also the case with Key to the Kuffs.

This is an excellent album, with all the quirky production that put me off slightly during my first few spins soon finding their groove across the whole record. DOOM is on fire as usual with some great quoteables and often some crazy rhyme schemes. No one can touch this guy when it comes to quality lyricism and in my opinion he has always embodied the best of hip hop sensibilities. It's amusing that, in a music genre which has always demanded keeping it 'real', the best rapper has made a career being as unreal as possible. Wearing a metal mask and staying credible is no mean feat.

This album was naturally compared with DOOM's most successful collab, that of his work with Madlib on the incredible Madvillainy. While I would agree that Key to the Kuffs is not on that level, it certainly isn't that far off overall. Both are 5 stars albums to me, but there is room for manouvring within that rating, with Madvillainy just shaving it. Being from the UK its great to hear the anglophile leanings of this record. Of course, had DOOM been allowed to return to the US after his tour (a tour which allowed me to see him live) he would have likely made a totally different record to this one. Jarel should also take a lot of credit for being able to accomodate DOOM's creative vision here.

Ultimately most DOOM fans seem to be waiting for both the new Madvillain record and Swift & Changeable. It would be unfortunate if the fervour for these records has resulted in the JJ DOOM record being effectively overlooked, as it really is a worthy addition to his already glowing resumé.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MF doom, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Key To The Kuffs [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I love MF Doom. he is the man.
This album does have some solid hits.
if you dig doom's other work, you will enjoy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's no Madvillainy., 7 Mar 2013
This review is from: Key To The Kuffs (Audio CD)
Doom keeps on churning out records but the magic from Madlib and Villian's first album is still missing. JJ's beats sound fresh but the mix of some double time snare and some cheap, 80's sounding keyboard keep me well away from giving it a fifth star. There are a few head bangers and Villian's homage to his British roots run riot throughout. From the sterotypical "ello guv'nor" on the front cover down to the lyrics about 'my big fat gypsy wedding'. But it's just never ever any Figaro.

I'm going to dig out some Quasimoto, kick back and wait and wait and wait for Madlib's aliases next piece of music gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant, 2 Mar 2013
By 
Stephan Sembt "shaddy" (Copenhagen, DK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Key To The Kuffs (Audio CD)
Absoulute brilliant dark hiphop but still with a melodic flow. Reminds me of the classic Dr Octagon but of course more updated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another Step up in DOOM's ever impressive back catalogue!, 31 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Key To The Kuffs (Audio CD)
This Album as a first listen is certainly different and takes the ear a little while to adjust. Once it drops it drops big and this has to be (I believe) as close as DOOM has got to Madvillain's first studio album, a Statement which gives Jneiro Jarel the high praise he deserves for the slick production throughout the album. The Album is clever, fresh and at time genius "winter blues" and flows with little respite. I highly recommend this Album to all who have liked Dooms past work and to any hip hop fan waiting for someone to step up to the next level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yea good. First doom ear bashing, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Rob "Rob" (Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Key To The Kuffs (Audio CD)
Never listened to any of his stuff before ..... Was recommended by canadian friend whom likes some of the uk real hiphop like jehst etc

Yea not a bad buy .... Some good bass on a few tracks some funny lyrics and comments thrown in here and there ... Hiphop rap comedy .... Nice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Key To The Kuffs
Key To The Kuffs by MF Doom (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews