Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ONE WITH THIS COVER IS THE FULL UNRATED UNCUT VERSION
<<<THIS IS THE FULL UNRATED UNCUT VERSION>>>

Order this one if your in the UK with THIS COVER...and NOT THE OTHER COVER as those other versions are CUT.

You have been warned people!!!

One of the most under-rated Horror films of the 80's. Not overtly scary, but it has atmosphere similar to the original THE FOG. damn remakes can't...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. M. Wilson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its ok! if you dont class it as part of the halloween films!
if you dont class this as part of the halloween films and just see this film as a one, then its actually not bad!.. micheal myers is nothing to do with this film at all! i wonder why they went off the plot from myers... probaly because myers had his eyes shot out, then burned to death in halloween 2! ... anyway... its about some halloween masks and when you watch the...
Published on 19 Mar 2012 by loveforfilms


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ONE WITH THIS COVER IS THE FULL UNRATED UNCUT VERSION, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
<<<THIS IS THE FULL UNRATED UNCUT VERSION>>>

Order this one if your in the UK with THIS COVER...and NOT THE OTHER COVER as those other versions are CUT.

You have been warned people!!!

One of the most under-rated Horror films of the 80's. Not overtly scary, but it has atmosphere similar to the original THE FOG. damn remakes can't hold a soggy s*** soaked stick as all these originals......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halloween... the festival of high-definition!, 10 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween III: Season of the Witch [Blu-ray] [1982] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Trade Secrets:

Shout! Factory present 'Halloween III: Season of the Witch' uncut and in its correct aspect ratio on this Region A locked disc. I never saw the DVD Universal released Stateside, but given the praise that disc has received over the years, I wouldn't be surprised if this hi-def transfer was struck from the same source.

With a thin-but-clear sheen of grain covering the image, 'Halloween III' is rewarded with an increase in detail and clarity. As ever, close-ups provide the best cases for oohs and aahs, but what struck me especially were the little patterns and textures now clearly visible on clothing and other materials (most notably when "Little Buddy" tries to rip through the degenerating pumpkin mask in his death throes).

Digital noise reduction may have been applied, as there is a surprisingly slight amount of grain in evidence, but there's no obvious detrimental knock-on effect, and that filmic quality is very much in evidence with little in the way of print damage.

Likewise, edge enhancement is never a problem, and black levels are rock solid. In fact, Dean Cundy's darkly envisioned cinematography is given perhaps the most substantial upgrade, with strong colours that pop right off the screen and shadows which only ever swallow details they were always intended to.

The disc is supplied with a basic DTS HD Mono audio track that won't exactly blow away seasoned audiophiles, but still does an efficient job of reproducing the film's original sound design. A front-heavy affair, dialogue and music are well balanced, with John Carpenter and Alan Howarth's jump scare music cues receiving a notable boost. Of course, the Silver Shamrock jingle has never sounded better either (ohhono).

Onto the extras, and 'Stand Alone: The Making of Halloween III: Season of the Witch' is exactly the kind of retrospective documentary fans of this once sadly doomed sequel have been waiting for. Members of the cast and crew reflect on the film's development, its disappointing release and the slow-but-sure rise in its cult appeal.

In 'Horror's Hallowed Grounds: The Locations of Halloween III', hosted by enthusiastic mega fan Sean Clark, we're taken on an eerily nostalgic trip through the present day locations used three decades earlier to shoot 'Season of the Witch'. Most of the key haunts are covered, with Clark later joined by director Tommy Lee Wallace as they explore the small town that doubled for Santa Mira; and watch out for a fun cameo by an actor from another underappreciated 80s horror sequel.

Two audio commentaries are also made available. The first features Tommy Lee Wallace, who's joined/moderated by Rob G. (from `Icons of Fright') and Sean Clark (once again). This is a most enjoyable listen that delves into virtually every aspect of 'Halloween III', whether on or off-screen. There's never a dry moment, and its three contributors pull off the impressive balancing act of being both deeply informative and highly entertaining.

The second track plonks star Tom Atkins in the spotlight alongside moderator Michael Phelps (who worked on the 'Night of the Creeps' Blu-ray). Atkins exudes a huggable warmth as he fondly recalls his time playing Dr. Challis (with tongue wedged in cheek). At times, the discussion becomes more of a commentary on Akins' career as a whole, with some surprising 'Lethal Weapon' trivia and one particularly lengthy tangent focusing on his nightmarish experience behind the scenes of William Peter Blatty's 'The Ninth Configuration'. Lack of focus aside, Atkins makes for some brilliant disembodied company, and fans shouldn't hesitate to sit through 'Halloween III' with him.

And rest assured, both commentaries enjoy poking fun at Atkins' character's natural ability to hit on anything without a Y chromosome.

Additionally, a selection of trailers and a still gallery are included to round out a package that even incorporates reversible artwork. If there's one problem worth noting, then it's the lack of a scene selection option. I mean, c'mon, what gives?

Final Processing:

This was the disc that finally convinced me to buy a region-free Blu-ray player (albeit a modestly priced one with all the durability of a Kinder Egg), and I'm glad I took the plunge. Shout! Factory have released what looks set to be the definitive edition of 'Halloween III: Season of the Witch' for a while at the very least. Any fans on this side of the pond not held back by region coding shouldn't hesitate to mark it down on their import list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Witch one?, 4 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like this film a lot. For me, it is the second best of the Halloween series (the original Carpenter version being the best, of course). Because it doesn't feature the zombie Michael Myers of the second and later films, it has by far the lowest rating on IMDb. Instead it has something sadly lacking from all the other sequels: intelligence, thanks to the script originating with Nigel Kneale. He took his name off the credits partly because of the splatter, and we'll come back to that later.

Other plus points include one of Carpenter's best soundtracks done with Alan Howarth, some lovely cinematography from Dean Cundey, and a fine performance from Dan O'Herlihy. Sadly, it also has Tom Atkins trying to be a leading man and a leading lady who is more convincing in her final scenes than in any of her other attempts at acting. OK, I can live with those, because it is smarter than the vast majority of horror films.

But which one to get? There are four options:

R2 Sanctuary release: cover has no face on it, with the tagline 'The night nobody came home...' and the word 'Widescreen' at the bottom. This has an OK 16:9 picture and a good 5.1 soundtrack, plus a commentary by Newman and Jones who had no connection to it, but like horror films. There is however a fundamental problem with it. There is no way that those two do not know that they're watching a censored version, but when they talk about the censorship of the initial video releases, they talk about a sequence - the decapitation and subsequent blood spray of someone - that is in this. The impression they want to leave is clear: this one is uncensored. It's not. Incredibly, the box claims a running time of 96 minutes, but it's actually about 92.

R2 MIA release: cover has the face as well as the trick or treaters, and 'A John Carpenter & Debra Hill production' above the title. The tagline is in UPPER CASE, and a long list of names is at the bottom. This has a grainy 4:3 picture and - I think - mono soundtrack, but is complete and runs for almost a minute longer than the Sanctuary version.

R2 High Fliers release: I am not sure this one is on Amazon yet - if I scan its bar code, the Amazon app can't find it here. This one has the face, and the upper case tagline, but just 'Produced & Music by John Carpenter' at the bottom. It also claims to be an 18 certificate and has a 16:9 picture. I bought it on the basis that, given the certificate, it would be uncut. It's not - it's a slightly better version of the print used for the Sanctuary release, with no 5.1 soundtrack or commentary, just a somewhat distorted mono sound. It's also not an 18 - there's no record of it being given that on the BBFC website and the High Fliers site now also says it's a 15.

R1 Shout Factory release: having given up on UK releases, I am going for this one. It's the one with a not very good drawing of the lead actors and the sidekicks in front of the trick or treaters image. Another review reckons that it has a commentary by the director, Tommy Wallace, as well as being uncut. I'll let you know...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT WIDESCREEN PRINT, 31 Oct 2013
This review is for the Region 1 release from 2003 by Universal.
Never mind a review of the movie, we all know enough about that and most of us still do love this third installment of the franchise.
Forget the region 2 Brit releases, this U.S dvd has a great quality widescreen print in 16x9 mode and is uncut. Yep, you need a multi region player but if you're not buying blu-ray, then this is the next best thing.
If your memories of this film are the Thorn EMI VHS, followed by a dodgy looking UK dvd, then you are going to love the US release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halloween 3 Season Of The Witch - scanbox release 2011, 4 May 2013
By 
Mr. Mj Day - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If your looking at this amazon listing, more then likely you have seen the film and just want a review on the best releases/uncut releases

this review is for the scanbox 2011 release.
is it still CUT.

also the 2002 widescreen release is also cut.

for an uncut release you want the 2000 MIA release. fully uncut but 4:3 ratio
that is the ONLY uncut UK release

in the USA i believe every release is uncut. so take your pick
best USA release is the 2012 shout factory release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halloween III Blu Ray Shout/Scream Factory release, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween III: Season of the Witch [Blu-ray] [1982] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
If you have been waiting for this film to come out on Blu Ray then the wait is over. And it was well worth the wait let me tell you. As a kid I was devastated that this film did not have Michael Myers in it. Then over the years I grew to appreciate it and its now to the point where it is in my top 3 films of all time. This has got to be one of the most under rated films ever made.

As a stand alone film it is superb, creepy and eerie with a superb score from John Carpenter and Alan Howarth. I wont go into the story too much and spoil things but it revolves around Halloween as an ancient ritual practiced by Pagan religions and how a very successful toy maker wants to bring back Halloween how it was practiced by Pagans hundreds of years ago. Bring it back on a monumentous scale I might add.

If you love eighties horror then this is the movie for you, and the extras are second to none from Scream Factory. I am from the UK and purchased this and Halloween III and part II and they wont even play on my blu ray player, I feel that these 2 blu rays are of such quality and importance that its worth getting a region free blu ray just to watch them and have them in my collection so that's what I am going to do. :)

Get these you will not be disappointed the artwork is superb and reversible and the extras, well what can I say just see for yourself.

THE BOTTOM LINE IS THAT IF YOU ARE A HALLOWEEN OR HORROR FAN YOU HAVE TO GET THESE FOR YOUR COLLECTION.......EVEN IF YOU CAN'T PLAY THEM LOL!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Halloween III DVD Sanctuary release, 5 Oct 2012
this review is about Halloween III DVD sanctuary release 2002
i'm not going to comment on the film, any Halloween fan has seen the film and know what the films about
this review is about the Picture and audio quality and special features/extras
again besides from the region 1 U.S. version which has no extras at all except for trailer
this 2002 sanctuary release is the only version you'll get an audio commentary
by Horror expert Stephen Jones and film critic Kim newman, no making of featurette
but an audio commentary and Production notes is the only reason i bought this DVD a few years ago

the picture and audio quality is very average, it's widescreen of course, runtime is 96mins
but looks like a VHS transfer with Audio and picture enhanced a bit.
the commentary is the same as the Halloween II sanctuary release commentary
it was disapointing about half way through the film, Kim newman and Stephen Jones didn't know
what else to say about the film so they starting talking about other films.

as a Halloween fan i found it a waste of money, if your fans of Stephen Jones and Kim newman
then buy it to listen to their commentary, but that's it

there's also a new scanbox release of this film which is a re-issue of the 2002 sanctuary release
with same commentary

I think scrap both sanctuary and scanbox releases
and buy the new shoutfactory release
this new Halloween III collector's edition by shout factory is the best version ever
the picture and audio quality is excellent way better than the sanctuary release and scanbox version
also has making of Documentary with cast and crew interviews
and audio commentary by Tommy lee wallace etc
this shoutfactory release is definitely worth the money, the other released versions are not

this review is based on my opinion
so up to you, your decision of which Halloween III DVD release to get.

thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its ok! if you dont class it as part of the halloween films!, 19 Mar 2012
if you dont class this as part of the halloween films and just see this film as a one, then its actually not bad!.. micheal myers is nothing to do with this film at all! i wonder why they went off the plot from myers... probaly because myers had his eyes shot out, then burned to death in halloween 2! ... anyway... its about some halloween masks and when you watch the halloween advert for the masks whilst wearing them, snakes and whatever comes out of your skull.. your dead basically!... good film tho, know it dont sound much but its still a good watch!... the music does give the fear factor too! very simular to that music played in halloween!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where's Michael?, 29 Dec 2004
By 
Mr. Steven Mckinlay "retrostar23" (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a stand alone horror movie this film aint too bad. In fact if it hadn't been released as part of the Halloween series it may well have been more successful. However as part of the Michael Myres series.......it's a non starter.
The title "Halloween 3" is extremely misleading as the movie itself does not in any way continue with the Michael Myres story line. However if you are like myself and have purchased all the other Halloween movies you'll most probably need this one to complete the set.
Before you buy though I'd be very careful: The running time on this version (MIA) is 92 mins. The UK R2 Sanctuary version has a running time of 96 mins and the R1 US version comes in at 98 mins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Halloween 3 (MIA version), 29 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having just received the M.I.A. dvd of Halloween 3 today, I felt compelled to offer my sixpenny worth on it...
The film in itself, in my opinion, is a modern classic of the horror genre.
For those who haven't seen it, I suggest that you take time- especially at Halloween- to watch this surprisingly good and very underrated movie...

It is a total departure from the other films in the series- there is no Michael Myers in this one- apart from a brief glimpse of the first Halloween movie, that appears on a TV that the main character sees near the end of the film.

The script itself was originally written by Nigel Kneale of Quatermass fame, who asked that his name be removed from the credits, after Dino De Laurentiis, owner of the film's rights ordered more gore, and director Tommy Wallace had revised it, adding some more nasty scenes to Kneale's original work.

The film has all the look and feel of a classic John Carpenter movie; atmospheric, claustrophobic, dark and eerie, it is both quite fascinating and genuinely disturbing at the same time. Tom Atkins, Stacey Nelkin and Dan O'Herlihy give top performances in their respective roles, while John Carpenter's trademark creepy synthesizer score adds a distinct sense of menace to the proceedings.

I won't tell you about the plot and spoil it for you, suffice to say that the finished work is very compelling and original, as well as extremely ghoulish and rather quite unpleasant to boot; you will never want to wear a Halloween mask again, never mind let your children wear one.

Finally, about the dvd itself: The print on the M.I.A. dvd is fully uncut, containing all the nasty gore scenes that are missing from most of the other UK releases, even the recently issued Scanbox version, as I've recently been lead to believe. The film stands up in it's own right without the gore however, but for those who want to see the complete version, this is the one to track down, unless you can get the region 1 US unrated import.

The downside to this release is the picture quality:
it looks like a transfer taken from a bog standard VHS print. It is quite murky at times, the colours are a bit weak and it's in fullscreen only; there are no extras, no trailer, and no commentaries, but if you don't mind tweaking the picture a bit on your media player or home entertainment system, and you want to see this Halloween treat it in all of it's gory glory, it is thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb61c9a08)

This product

Halloween III: Season of the Witch [Blu-ray] [1982] [US Import]
11.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews