Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nightmare come alive
Whenever you get back from a vacation, it's always nice to get back home... unless soldiers have burned your home, and an evil witch is now on the loose. So you can guess what happens in "The Spook's Nightmare," a solid new chapter in the tale of the Spook's apprentice -- bits of horror speckling an darkly elusive fantasy story.

The Spook, Alice and Tom return...
Published on 10 Aug 2010 by E. A Solinas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Spinechilling and nail-bitingly intense these spooky books will have you jumping out of your skin!!
The Spooks series continues with a deadly nightmare that haunts your sleep and fills every waking moment with thoughts on how the hero is going to overcome the terrors that await him...full of electric tension amidst and inspired and truly original storyline this book you will find unable to put down, even for a minute! I will warn you though that if you are a younger...
Published 21 months ago by Lucinda


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nightmare come alive, 10 Aug 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Whenever you get back from a vacation, it's always nice to get back home... unless soldiers have burned your home, and an evil witch is now on the loose. So you can guess what happens in "The Spook's Nightmare," a solid new chapter in the tale of the Spook's apprentice -- bits of horror speckling an darkly elusive fantasy story.

The Spook, Alice and Tom return to Chipenden... only to find that soldiers have burned the village, including the Spook's cottage. So the trio head off to find a safe place, and end up heading for the remote island of Mona, which isn't very witch/Spook-friendly. Soon Tom and Alice are imprisoned as witches, and are in danger of either being killed by a deadly test... or being eaten by a buggane.

However, that turns out to be only the start of their problems, since at least two witches are loose on Mona, and a demonic buggane is threatening them along with a shaman. And even worse, an old enemy has been brought to the island -- and she's more powerful now than she's ever been before, fulfilling the Spook's nightmare.

Joseph Delaney seems to have a knack for inserting very mundane fears -- the death of loved ones, being buried alive -- into a dark fantasy setting. And in "The Spook's Nightmare," it's all about suddenly losing your home and all your possessions, and being cast adrift in a cold cruel world. Plus evil witches causing trouble on top of that.

And the change of setting doesn't change Delaney's prose, which is surprisingly dark for a kids book. Blood, bones, straw and mud coat this adventure, as well as some monstrous creatures (the buggane is hairy, squat and oily, with two layers of omnivorous teeth). And there are some powerful moments, such as when poor Tom is being compelled to attack an innocent family of dogs.

The one problem is that Tom seems a LITTLE too calm about that whole soul-selling business, but otherwise the characterization here is pretty solid. But the kind-hearted apprentice and the strong-willed Alice are still likable leads, and Delaney has begun delicately introducing the questions of what toll age is bringing to the Spook -- his power is waning, and the loss of his treasured library is a massive shock.

"The Spook's Nightmare" is a solid new chapter to the tale of the Spook's apprentice, reintroducing us to a truly horrible enemy. And the door is still open for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb and genuinely scary in places., 27 May 2010
By 
Pyewacket "czarnowice" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read the first 6 of the Wardstone Chronicles I did wonder where Joseph Delaney could go next......I needn't have worried. This has to be the best of the bunch so far and I believe there will be more books coming in this excellent series.

There is a war going on in the County and the Spooks house and his beloved library have all been lost. The soldiers also try to capture the Spook, Tom and Alice so they flee to the island of Mona (the Isle of Mann). Their greeting upon arrival is not a good one as the islanders are very insular and suspicious of strangers. However, when they learn that an evil creature called the Buggane is living on the island they are called upon to help. There is also worse ahead when they discover that Bonie Lizzie, Alice's Mother, a Bone and Blood Witch has escaped from her prison in the Spooks then garden. She has become quite powerful once again and it takes all of Toms, Alices and the Spooks ingenuity and skill to catch her.

This book is much darker than the first 6 and in places genuinely scary but so readable that I finished it in one and a half hours flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best in the series, 28 Jun 2010
Like some people i have read all of these books and they are all brilliant. But i have to say that i wasen't that surprised of what would happen next after a dramatic event that would make you excited. I always knew what was going to happen which did not give me as much buzz compared to his other books. i dont think there was as much emphasis on what was happening compared to his previous books. I have to say that instead of reading the book in one day i struggled not to pick it up and read all of it and i managed for about two weeks. Delaneys titles are quite addictive and hard not to finish quick. I would definatley Recommend but i just cant wait for the next book because of what the spook learns in the end which i say is the best part of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars spooks brilliant read for all ages, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
mostly i would say just buy it an read it. 13 books in the series. an every one awinner. once you start em you carnt put it down. Good for any age group. much better than potter. great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read series is getting darker, a wonderful alternative to Harry potter. The whole series is a must for fans of delaney
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the spooks nightmare book 7, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyable book had to finish it could not put down till reached the end good book by author tension all the way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another excellent book in the series. Awaiting the next. Very compelling series of books which I find hard to put down so I can get some sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Exactly as shown in the web page. Exactly what we needed and in plenty of time. Thank you very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely amazing Joseph Delaney is brilliant
He came to are school
About to read number 8
Can not wait
Izzy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nothing to dislike a good read and i cant wait for the next one in the series jolly well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews