Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars highly amusing
Firstly, I have to say, I didn't have any problem with this download unlike several posters here. This book is the kind of thing kids will find hilariously funny, but it is also weirdly educational! First mentioned in Pratchett's novel 'Snuff', it takes on a life of its' own as a little boy starts his very own collection of poo, and, aided by his grandma, visits various...
Published on 8 Jun 2012 by J. Turner

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good if aimed at a younger audience than I was expecting
The World of Poo is an interesting return to the more simple story telling of Truckers and his similarly child-targetted books, delving into the fascinating world of boys and their hobbies. It contains fragments of interesting facts, is quite entertaining and simple enough that it would be a good introduction to Pratchett for those under the age of ten. However it's...
Published on 22 Aug 2012 by Adam Gill


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars highly amusing, 8 Jun 2012
By 
J. Turner (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly, I have to say, I didn't have any problem with this download unlike several posters here. This book is the kind of thing kids will find hilariously funny, but it is also weirdly educational! First mentioned in Pratchett's novel 'Snuff', it takes on a life of its' own as a little boy starts his very own collection of poo, and, aided by his grandma, visits various poo related places (like the zoo) and learns things about poo that even adults (like me) didn't know. I won't spoil the surprise by relating the story here, suffice it to say it is a simple tale, excellently told and you probably won't have come across anything like this before! Every character is a gem of a character study, the plot is straightforward but laugh out loud funny and- well - Pratchett has done it again! Cracking stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice addition to Discworld, if rather short., 2 July 2012
By 
Tim Fothergill (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been a fan of Discworld since I was old enough to read them, this follows the usual Discworld style, which of course is a great thing.

If you buy this one wondering what it's about, perhaps you should stop now. This entire book centres around poo, as the name would suggest. Without spoiling the story, it's obsessively poo themed. But it's done in a typical, charming Discworld way. There are also illustrations in this one! How nice! My Kindle (3G + Keyboard) displays this perfectly well, too.

As a final note, this is also an incredibly short book compared to some previous Discworld novels.

Make what you will of it, as it is a charmingly well written book all about poo. Now, if you will excuse me, I must go wash my hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really nice feel, excellent read A**, 10 Jun 2012
By 
M. Hamilton "slimhamilton" (forest of dean) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
first when you pick this book up it has a lovely feel. the cover is rough and textured and has a nice weight. the inner cover is a mottled wax paper effect and looks very nice. the pictures in the book are very good (although the artist obviously couldnt draw puppies which kinda annoyed me!) and the story is of course superb. i didnt realise before but the book is actually a proper discworld based story - and is a really good read for both young and old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Discworld diversion, 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a spin off from and a plot element in some of the main cycle of Discworld books, this little volume could have been a one note joke with little intrinsic substance or worth. Thankfully this is far from the case.

The author and his associates have worked to produce and deliver a little gem of a story, with a mix of jokes to amuse and delight a child reading the book, a child having it read to them and an older person having to read it to a child or even reading it for their own enjoyment.

I really hope that the other volumes in the series listed in this book prove to be more than just gags, and his muse will grant the author the creativity to bring one or more of them to life.

Truly a work with both body and function.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge fun and educational!, 7 Jun 2012
A funny and warm surprise of a book that you can well imagine being pride of place in young Sam's collection. It looks and feels like a book from Discworld should, though to truly appreciate this aspect you really need to forget the Kindle and buy the real thing! The story contains lots of references to characters and places around Ankh-Morpork that will make the youngest and oldest Discworld fans chuckle, and reveals lots of new stuff too. I will thoroughly enjoy sharing it with my nephews this evening - the first of many repeat readings no doubt!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for young boys and young-at-heart boys, 11 Jun 2012
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
In a book that spins off from an extended joke in his previous novel, Snuff, Terry Pratchett and his co-authors present a children's book suitable for the inhabitants of Discworld, whose outlook is somewhat different.

Presented as a meta-fiction (a story within a story), The World of Poo tells the tale of Geoffrey, a young boy on a visit to the big city of Ankh-Morpork, where he decides to start a museum of poo. Accompanying the story are a vast array of real world facts, wrapped up in such a way that the reader can learn without realising.

The book will certainly appeal to young boys and young-at-heart boys (aka fathers) and to girls who have escaped brainwashing by the pink-brigade into thinking anything dirty is wrong. There are a few words that some parents may prefer their little angels not exposed to, but I felt there was nothing that could do a child harm to hear.

An entertaining read of six chapters that I would expect children to laugh out loud to. Excellent bed-time reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Scatalogical Scream from the Maestro., 20 Jun 2012
By 
Pyewacket "czarnowice" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is one of those that make you laugh out loud and look rather strange in public places. It really is funny and in a way quite educative too.

Youg Sam has been sent to stay with his Grandmother whilst his Mother has a baby and his Grandmother knows of his rather odd hobby of collecting poo. So she sets about helping him advance his collection and knowledge. To say anymore would be too much of a spoiler but I'd highly recommend this book either in Kindle form or in paper form. My only slight gripe is that it is not a very long book and the price seemed out of proportion to the amount of pages in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the childish in you, 8 July 2012
By 
Linda Jones (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I may be an 'ancient', and it took me a couple of hours to read,but I loved this book. Not only are the contents a delight, but the feel of the cover and the pages a joy. It was delivered rapidly and well packaged. Why should children only enjoy this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pratchett spin off. Educational., 13 July 2012
By 
R. A. Caton "Arcaton" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This book is not a barrel of laughs. Following in the tradition of spinoffs from Discworld mainstream (and THUD! did beget the game, aye, and "Where's My Cow?" did arrive at the bookshop and it was good) this book is featured in the main text of the last Discworld book, "Snuff".
It is an extremely good pastiche of a late Victorian/early Edwardian childrens book in which an intelligent and curious young lad is given an education as to the whys wherefores and uses of...poo. Excrement. Manure. "Pure".

What does it look like? What can it be used for? How does poo from different species differ?

It is illustrated in period style and is rather charming.... mildly amusing too. Despite the poo and wee I must admit that it didn't have me sniggering as some earlier titles and even "Where's My Cow?" did.

One for completionists but not bad (not as bad as the "Almanacke" anyway).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb book, 14 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought this to read to my 6yr old, she already has where's my cow since she was young. as it is a children's book, i would much prefer a hard copy for a child than an ebook so can't comment on the kindle issue. yes it's shorter than a discworld novel, but it's a great bedtime read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews