Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars War & Flowers
3D okay but not spectacular. Sometimes not sure if you are watching in 3D. Not a bad film but not great.
Published 20 months ago by Gordon Hopkins

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 3d title
this was a terrible B movie it just looked like an ordinary play on the tele the 3d enhanced it a little
sorry no good words to say about this waste of space waste of money(my money) movie
Published 23 months ago by geoff297


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 3d title, 28 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Flowers 3D (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
this was a terrible B movie it just looked like an ordinary play on the tele the 3d enhanced it a little
sorry no good words to say about this waste of space waste of money(my money) movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Feels like a made-for-TV movie with subpar writing and acting, 7 Nov 2013
By 
Paul Allaer (Cincinnati) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: War Flowers 3D (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Imagine my surprise when out of the blue this film showed up (in 2D, not 3D) at my local art-house theatre here in Cincinnati this past July without any pre-release fanfare or advertizing. I didn't know much about the movie, but the premise sounded possibly intruiging and the cast gave me some confidence too.

"War Flowers" (2013 release; 100 min.) brings the story of Sarabeth (played by Christina Ricci) and her young daughter Melody somewhere in the South during the Civil War. As the movie opens, we get thrown right away in the thick of a major battle between North and South. After that, we see Sarabeth and Melody anxiously awaiting news from Sarabeth's husband, who is fighting for the Confederate Army. When finally a letter arrives, it is from Sarabeth's brother, informing her that he has not seen or heard anything about her husband. Meanwhile, we also get to know Louis McIntire (played by Jason Gedrick), an officer in the Union Army, and his dad Gen. McIntire (played by Tom Berenger). Louis has already lost 2 brothers in the war, and his dad, in keeping a promise to his wife/Louis' mother, has decided to send Louis back home to Philadelphia. Louis reluctantly agrees, but at the last minute (just as the train is about to leave), he disobeys his dad and returns to the battlefield, with disastrous results as he gets hurt badly, is left behind for dead and is found by Sarabeth. At this point, we are a good 35-40 min. into the movie. Will Sarabeth's husband return home? What will Sarabeth do with Louis? To tell you more would ruin the plot for you.

Couple of comments: first and foremost, as well intented as the film seems to be, it was pretty painful to watch, to be honest. The overall feeling I got while watching this in the theatre is that this was some medicore made-for-TV movie, with subpar writing (Gen. McIntire to his son: "You will live, I command it!"), subpar acting (my oh my, whas has become of Christina Ricci?), and subpar production (in the battle scenes, you see soldiers flying through the air when "hit" by a cannon shot, they sure didn't miss their trampoline jump-off!), etc. The acting performances left me most bewildered of all, as surely Ricci and Berenger have talent but it is nowhere to be seen in this movie. Bottom line, in all honesty I simply cannot recommend this film. Viewer beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy this!, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Flowers 3D (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
The worst movie I think I have ever started to watch. I did not get past 20 minutes. Waste of money and a waste of time! Do not buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars War & Flowers, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Flowers 3D (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
3D okay but not spectacular. Sometimes not sure if you are watching in 3D. Not a bad film but not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars war flowers 3d blu-ray film, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Flowers 3D (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
this was an excellent film. it is a true story and i would recomend it to anybody that likes true stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Film, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Flowers 3D (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Good well acted film, lots to take in and deserves a second watch. Great twist regarding Farther, Great story line!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

War Flowers 3D (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray)
War Flowers 3D (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) by Serge Rodnunsky (Blu-ray - 2012)
Used & New from: 7.87
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews