Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very likeable and funny sitcom.
When I first heard Jack Whitehall was writing his own sitcom I didn't know what to think. Sure, the man is very talented, but he is still quite new to the comedy scene and I wasn't sure if he was yet up to the task of writing an entire comedy series himself. But to be fair to the man, he's pulled it off with style. The show can be absolutely hilarious at times and even...
Published on 5 Sep 2012 by Ben Dunne

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I didn't like it
Jack Whitehall is good in the part, and the supporting cast are superb, but the plots are thin and the writing is poor - a waste of everyone's (considerable) talent, in my honest opinion. It's already gone to the charity shop!
Published 10 months ago by Chinabus


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very likeable and funny sitcom., 5 Sep 2012
This review is from: Bad Education - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
When I first heard Jack Whitehall was writing his own sitcom I didn't know what to think. Sure, the man is very talented, but he is still quite new to the comedy scene and I wasn't sure if he was yet up to the task of writing an entire comedy series himself. But to be fair to the man, he's pulled it off with style. The show can be absolutely hilarious at times and even more importantly, the characters are actually likeable and you care about what happens to them. Jacks character, Alfie, despite being a complete tool at times, has a good heart and you sometimes even feel bad for him when his schemes go awry. Matthew Horne is also fantastic as Frasier, the schools headmaster who thinks he's down with the kids and is constantly giving Alfie misguided advice on how to handle his students.
Speaking of the students, if the show does have one flaw, it's that the students(as likeable as they are) can seem a bit unrealistic at times, almost like they exist purely for the shows script to work. For instance, the Asian student frequently shouts insults at Alfie in her native tongue, which Alfie then interprets as meaning something else. The joke is used way too frequently and becomes tiring after awhile. That said, the cast of students are quite memorable despite how stereotypical some of them are. (The gay student, the disabled kid etc. )
All in all however, it is a really good show that hopefully in time can turn into an excellent one. It's not full of swearing, it doesn't need to make fun of others for it's laughs and it has a surprisingly big heart. Don't get me wrong though, all that stuff can be great, as the inbetweeners and others have proven. It's just nice to see a comedy in this day and age that doesn't need to be overly offensive to get it's laughs. Jack Whitehall should be very proud of what he's achieved with Bad Education. The show was commissioned a second series after only it's first episode. That must be some kind of record. And in my opinion, Bad Education is probably the best original BBC 3 sitcom ever. Well, maybe after Him and Her, but that's up for debate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, Addictive, Endearing, 12 Sep 2012
This review is from: Bad Education - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
For anyone who has yet to see Bad Education, where on Earth have you been hiding? A relatively new BBC3 comedy that I am sure will be around for some time, focuses on a newly qualified teacher in a secondary school, with a class of typical 15 year old pupils. What makes this so funny and 'likable' is the fact that the teacher (Alfie Wickers - Jack Whitehall) seems to switch from being bumbling and pathetic, saying the wrong things and portraying himself as a useless and offensive teacher, yet at times shows that he genuinely cares for his students. In his own, almost always incorrect way, he's trying to help.

There are several undercurrents in the show, one being Alfie being almost obsessed with Biology teacher Rosie (Sarah Solemani) and is always trying to either impress her or get her to go out with him, which currently is failing miserably. The head teacher Fraser (Matthew Horne - Gavin & Stacey) is almost useless as the head of such an inner city school. He fails to control any issue, usually makes it worse and the cringing I do watching almost reminds me of the cringing I did while watching Ricky Gervais in The Office.

The students nearly always, along with Jack, steal the show. Nikki Runeckles who plays Chantelle Parsons, according to a recent survey on the Facebook page, is the most likable student. She is obsessed with her teacher, continually fantasizing about being his girlfriend and is played remarkably well by Nikki. The other students seem to have their own continuing story line, the typical 'hard' lad, the disabled lad in a wheelchair, the gay student, the foreign student et al

My only small, minor gripe is the head teacher Fraser needs some better material to work with. Because he is portrayed in the way he is, you sometimes start to wonder in reality how how long he would be left to run a school. It seems unbelievable he would be head teacher for long.

This has already been commissioned for a second series and I am looking forward to a long run of this show. It's nice to have a comedy with no smut, no sex, no violence, no swearing and just good quality, inspired writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I didn't like it, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Education - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Jack Whitehall is good in the part, and the supporting cast are superb, but the plots are thin and the writing is poor - a waste of everyone's (considerable) talent, in my honest opinion. It's already gone to the charity shop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Education - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Let down by its reliance on stereotypes. Lots of potential but got predictable because of the two-dimensional characters. They all deserved better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad Education, 17 Jan 2013
By 
D. K. Powell "UCD" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad Education - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Heaven forbid he based his character on me. I was Jack's primary school P.E. teacher. I don't recall any of the scenes and situations for real but even so they made me laugh. Maybe Jack remembers the short stories I gave while driving the mini bus from the school to the Bank of England sports grounds. He was but five years of age and I think the Monster teddy bears were a favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Laughed til I Cried!, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Education - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Seriously, if you haven't seen this before make sure you get some Tena Lady in
in advance.
Pant wettingly funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Whitehall Hits a Home Run with this!!!, 9 Jun 2014
By 
Bradley S Martell (calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Education - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This only critique I have about this program is it feel in some. parts like the series-TEACHERS- from a few years back. A very lazy teacher-Alfie- (Who does resemble Andrew Lincoln's character in TEACHERS). Know it all teenagers. This show has incredibly funny bits & is very well written. I like Jack Whitehal''s character in Bad Education far more than his in-Fresh Meat. The scripts are incredibly funny & you can't help but love the cast. I hope this series has been renewed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top comic talent - a class on its own, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Education - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Jack Whitehall surprises with his commitment to 'funny-ness'. He has no qualms about self-ridicule and being the butt-end of the joke. Similarly the assembled cast support his central character with their own comedic talents. A great funny series which seems to have been equalled in series two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bad Education DVD, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Education - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Very happy with DVD, have played whole DVD now and there was no skipping or jumping so very happy and arrived on time thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Education - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Fast delivery,packaged well,very pleased with this item,this was a present and they were very pleased with this item I would recommend this to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bad Education - Series 1 [DVD]
Bad Education - Series 1 [DVD] by Jack Whitehall (DVD - 2013)
£6.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews