Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Tonight Matthew I'm Going To Be ..... "
Rather like the new Alan Jackson album from earlier in the month, there's nothing new here - it's pretty much Josh Turner by numbers. And that can only ever be a good thing! If you've bought one of Turner's previous albums and enjoyed it, I think you'll enjoy this one too!

It's an enjoyable album, giving us the usual mix of funky (and sometimes funny) tracks...
Published on 18 Jun 2012 by Kevan James

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Josh
This cd is diaappointing compared to his other earlier material.I would not recommend it buy it second hand in a few months
Published 19 months ago by chriscrouch


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Tonight Matthew I'm Going To Be ..... ", 18 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PUNCHING BAG [DELUXE] (Audio CD)
Rather like the new Alan Jackson album from earlier in the month, there's nothing new here - it's pretty much Josh Turner by numbers. And that can only ever be a good thing! If you've bought one of Turner's previous albums and enjoyed it, I think you'll enjoy this one too!

It's an enjoyable album, giving us the usual mix of funky (and sometimes funny) tracks and slower, more thoughtful, gravel voiced tracks. Interestingly, the tracks that appeal to me most from the first couple of lsitens are those where he sounds less like himself, hence the odd title to this review. My favourite track on the album is "Cold Shoulder", a wonderfully traditional sounding song with superb fiddle and steel guitar that wouldn't have sounded out of place on a George Jones album in the 60s. Then there's "Pallbearer", a sombre but captivating song featuring Marty Stuart on mandolin - a song which you can just hear Marty doing himself. And this track is made all the more wonderful from the addition of superb, haunting backing vocals from Iris DeMent. Finally, listen to the gospel song "For the Love Of God" featuring Ricky Skaggs on mandolin and backing vocals. Again, a song that would sound perfectly in place on one of Ricky's own album.

The album overall is an uptempo affair and lots of fun. I found "Find Me a Baby" slightly too twee, especially when he's joined on the chorus by his children, but it's only three and a half minutes so I can live with it.

The deluxe version (is there a 'standard' version available in the UK?) comes with 5 live songs. I can't see anything on the booklet to explain where they were recorded but they're very flat live recordings and, for me, add nothing to the originals. Interesting to note that live versions of two of them ("Your Man" and "Long Black Train") also appeared on the deluxe version of his previous album .....

All in all, a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to his best...excellent, 23 Jun 2012
By 
Musicfan (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: PUNCHING BAG [DELUXE] (Audio CD)
Josh Tuners voice is big and unmistakable. It is a voice that deserves and needs quality material although it would sound good whatever he sings. I thought his last album "Haywire" had some good tracks but was ordinary overall by his high standards. This album is a return to form. Not sure the intro just like a boxer would be introduced is necessary. To me it is a bit hokey but I suppose a bit different and a fun sort of start. What follows is Turner at his best, great songs, a superb band and a great voice. Time is Love an excllent song. Pallbearer a sad and moving performance with great backing vocal by Iris Dement The gospel number with Ricky Skaggs is very much in the blue grass vanin and works very well. The other songs are mainly catchy and fun. No disappointing tracks. All great tracks. All great vocals. better that Haywire for me. Great album. If you love country music, you will love this. Highly recommended.
Highly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PUNCHING BAG [DELUXE] (Audio CD)
Great modern country album, well worth a listen. Highly recommended.
Takes a bit of time to be delivered by US sellers, worth the wait, for the money saved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Punching Bag download, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punching Bag (Deluxe Edition) (MP3 Download)
The opening to the CD is very good and the songs even better
Well done Josh Turner let have more from this man
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Country Voice, 20 April 2013
By 
B. Hogg (Hartlepool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punching Bag (Deluxe Edition) (MP3 Download)
I had not heard of this guy before my wife mentioned him one day. But hey, what a wonderful baritone voice he has and so suited to the country songs he sings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Pop country!, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punching Bag (Deluxe Edition) (MP3 Download)
Josh Turner has a very deep and beautiful voice. Discovered this singer by chance. I was watching the videos from Jace Everett (Bad Things) and Josh appeared in the list of related videos. I then tried 3 of his song/videos and enjoyed a lot. Next day after downloaded the album I've played for a group of friends and they all enjoyed as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great listening, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PUNCHING BAG [DELUXE] (Audio CD)
Good album, fans will love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Josh, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PUNCHING BAG [DELUXE] (Audio CD)
This cd is diaappointing compared to his other earlier material.I would not recommend it buy it second hand in a few months
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews