Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
87
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 September 2012
There's no way this album can possibly be worth all these five star reviews, it just can't.
Believe me it is, I can't even remember the name of that fella who sings in Marks other band and is mates with Slash....Ok I jest but honestly this album is incredible.
Plenty of other reviews mention how good his voice is and it is really good and suits the style of songs perfectly, you get the feeling that musically now that he hasn't got a singer to tell him certain parts of his songs are a bit heavy he's just let rip.
Some of the music is brutally heavy but always remains melodic and the drumming is absolutely brilliant, check out "Wish You Well" and you'll grin at how heavy this track is but remains accessible to people who don't understand Wookie.
I'm not a Metal expert by any stretch i've always stuck to heavy rock but this fills the gap in between it's melodic metal, if you've been hanging your nose over bands like Stone Sour and so on but could do without the screaming and growling this is perfect, every song is sung properly, i'm not knocking the screamers but it ain't everybody's cup of tea.
If you're an Alterbridge fan as well then just buy it in places it does sound like them but it's bound to.
It's Alterbridge but with a third gonad, Brilliant.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
Mark Tremonti has produced a brilliant power metal album that takes chunks of Creed and Alter Bridge, mixes it with Metallica and Slayer to give us All I Was. Well known as a top,top metal guitarist he delivers a strong vocal performance that matches the music brilliantly.
He could have gone all Steve Vai on us and given us 60 minutes of inane soloing but decided to make an album that punches you in the gut with its meaty riffs, picks you up and dusts you off with melodic choruses and then belts you back down with its pounding drums!
For those of us who like their music with heavy riffs and a melodic chorus this is it! Fans of Tremonti's work will be left wanting more!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2012
Having been a huge fan of Creed and more so Alter Bridge for years i couldn't wait to get hold of this album and to me it doesn't dissapoint. Mark Tremonti has an awesome playing style mixing really heavy riffs with beautiful melodies and now to add to that a pretty darn good vocal to! The band playing here are also on fire the drumming is crisp and powerful and the playing of Eric freidman (creeds touring guitarist) gives the songs extra punch. Alter Bridge fans will love this album, any fans of tremonti's playing will love this album its brilliant.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2012
If Black Sabbath were to release their first ever cd today, this would be it. Pulsating drums, heavy heavy guitar riffs, amazing vocals and melody. Melody... something which has been lost of late with heavy guitar based music. Thank god for Mark Tremonti then. Without a shadow of a doubt the best heavy metal album of the year. Go treat yourself!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2012
The album feels like it was made for Mark to unleash his heaviest guitar work so far, and i think he's had fun with it. Some fine blistering solo's on the album and whitlock on the drums is a monster a good combination. waste your time is the stand out but the whole album is strong. Looking forward to the next creed or AB album.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2015
Anyone who loves hard rock music with already be familiar with Mark Tremonti. Finding fame as the guitarist for 90's rockers Creed and more recently in Alter Bridge, "All I Was" is his first venture into a solo album taking lead vocals on as well.

Tremonti is of course the band name strictly speaking, but this album is the work of Mark himself no doubt about that.

You always got the impression that Mark never really flexed his guitar muscles in Creed, Alter Bridge sort of fixed that but now he's able to display those heavy and speed metal influences in his music, while still maintaining that crucial musical melody.

Lead single "You Waste Your Time" is a classic example, hard, heavy and melodic with a solo to boot.

The music here is hard hitting, heavy and fast. Mark vocals are decent as well, he doesn't have quite the same range as Myles Kennedy but nevertheless an accomplished performance.

In summary, If you like your rock and metal melodic with plenty of solos, then this record will be right up your street.
I wasn't sure quite how good it was going to be but from such a complete musician my doubts were unfounded.

Mark Tremonti is one of the best guitarists in the world and this record proves it, quite simply an essential listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2016
Do not be fooled into thinking this better than Alter bridge,that is excitement creeping when you realise Mark Tremonti is pretty damn good at writing and singing his own tracks,but alot of them cud be alter bridge,infact it almost sounds like when myles kennedy went for a pepsi and cigarette outside,tremonti nicked his demos and stashed them in his guitar case.

Does this matter? Not one bit. The songs are strong rockers,fusing creed, alter bridge, and metallica,infact Marks voice is lower than M.K.s and although nowhere close in terms of skill, range or soul,it holds its own to the tracks suited. Monotone Baritone would be a fine suit,the singing never whales,but Mark has pipes that give these tunes a raw post grunge bar rock sound,no thrills but strong enough to kick ass and sound manly! Deep dark dry voice,fits the raw n ready rock he is playing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
This is TREMONTIS debut album. TREMONTI is MARK TREMONTI of CREED, ALTER BRIDGE fame. MARK has always said that he made his millions in CREED then formed ALTER BRIDGE and this his solo band as he,s always been a HEAVY METAL fan. This is modern melodic heavy metal, the geetar is heavy and distorted and his singing is very good and tuneful. This is a band though not a vanity solo project like some solo albums. This is TREMONTIS first of 2 albums released the other is CAUTERIZE and that is very good too. They play DOWNLOAD this year and play about 4dates on their own so you will be able to see them in a small club which is always good. Buy both cds .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2012
is it me or can this man do no wrong. well i liked creed and i love alterbridge ( seen them 7 times now ) so i would like it would't i ? but to think this is mark tremonti singing on all the vocals as well is just mind blowing, not that he's singing but that he can and with such tone and range, he never sounds out of his depth, well a craking set of songs to add to mark's body of work, top notch back up on drums from garrett whitlock and eric friedman on bass, and mak tremonti on lead is on top form, if you like melodic rock with an edge, done well, you will love this album. stand out tracks for me, leave it alone and the things i've seen, just goes to show if you look hard enuf you will find top notch hard rock, it's out there. enjoy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2015
Driven, deeply motivational and truly good listening. As a fan of Alter Bridge and some of Cree's music I thought I'd try Tremonti when I stumbled upon it accidentally on youtube. I'm not dissapointed. I can see why Mark Tremonti fought to write this away from the other bands he works with now, as it really is his unique style and emotion.

Personal favourites include Leave It Alone, All I Was, The Things I've Seen and Proof.

Mark's vocals are strong and thought provoking, some very good lyrics if you like to listen to the subject matter, but you won't be dissappointed if you prefer to listen to the melody either. The power in this album is astounding and I love to play this on my phone or mp3 when I need that little bit of momentum to clean, draw or garden, it really gets you moving. Also great cruising music if you've got a long drive ahead of you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£8.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)