Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROBERT CRAY'S NEW ALBUM IS A GREAT LISTEN
Robert Cray never fails to produce anything but very fine albums indeed, for several years now he's brought some of the best blues releases throughout his career.Here with a change of label, a clutch of very good songs and no less than Kevin Shirley at the production desk. This is among the very best blues/soul releases of the year, a beautifully produced album in a hard...
Published on 31 Aug. 2012 by pete clack

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars VINYL REVIEW
Not his best album by any stretch of the imagination but this maybe down to the lack of dynamics in the recording. everything seems a little lacklustre and restrained. I've got most of his albums on vinyl and this is the worst in terms of sound quality.
A pity because the ones I have on vinyl sound great.
Published 17 months ago by M. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROBERT CRAY'S NEW ALBUM IS A GREAT LISTEN, 31 Aug. 2012
By 
pete clack - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Robert Cray never fails to produce anything but very fine albums indeed, for several years now he's brought some of the best blues releases throughout his career.Here with a change of label, a clutch of very good songs and no less than Kevin Shirley at the production desk. This is among the very best blues/soul releases of the year, a beautifully produced album in a hard back book style,with pages of photos, the road to the album, who's involved all give us a nice CD to own, which for me is why downloads badly miss out.Robert has a superb voice, plays some great guitar, leads one of the finest bands around, but what I think we have here is a set that comes out of thosde speakers and keeps you listening throughout it's entire length, because what we have is an album of really first class,and superbly played songs that will bring lasting pleasure.It's difficult to pick one or two tracks because I put it on and play the whole thing through it's truly that good.All new songs,many written by Robert and members of his band,who really know how to lay down a groove and keep it there. this band are great live and this set has a crisp but very live feel to it,some horns and even strings on one track,do nothing but add depth and quality to a release out of the very top shelf.Kevin shirley really knows how to pull the best out of those he produces (just think Joe Bonamassa for a shart).All I'll say is go out and treat yorself to one mighty fine album that without doubt will be there when the awards come on up,and very deservedly so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very consistent set of Robert's trademark laid-back soul blues, 28 Aug. 2012
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Robert's new album was produced by Kevin Shirley (Joe Bonamassa, Aerosmith, the Black Crowes) in just two weeks but don't expect either raw blues or heavy rock. Robert does what he has always done, beautifully-crafted, laid-back soul blues but Shirley does add big band accompaniment on "I'll Always Remember You" and even strings to "I'm Done Cryin'". The songs are all written by Robert and the band (including long-time bassist Richard Cousins) except for a really good version of Bobby Parker's "Blues get off my shoulder", which fits right into Robert's style and has some nice piano from Jim Pugh in the background.

The guitar and vocals from Robert are as tasteful and controlled as ever but on the final live track Magic Sam's "You belong to me" the guitar has a bit more volume and bite and the vocals are rawer and more heartfelt, as on most of his live recordings. I don't really know why Robert can't get this kind of sound on his studio recordings. However, this is a very consistent set of songs (if possibly a bit safe) and I'd probably go for the funky "Fix this" as my favourite track, closely followed by the similar "Side dish" with its nice guitar solo. I also really liked the restrained ballad "Sadder days" which Robert sings beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much Much Better!, 2 Oct. 2012
Much Much Better from Mr Cray! Last few recordings, to be honest, i got very bored... same old same old.
But this new record is a big improvement. Loved it! Got to see him Live recently too, and again a big improvement since the last time i saw him back in 07/08 opening up for Eric Clapton

PS Checkout a english Blues Rock band called "Snakewater", debut album produced by Grammy Award Nominee Chris Tsangarides (Gary Moore / Thin Lizzy / Judas Preist)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nothin but class, 25 Mar. 2013
By 
Mr. Roger N. Allen "Roger" (Braintree ,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nothin But Love (Audio CD)
Five-time Grammy award winning legend and Blues Hall of Fame Inductee Robert Cray is pleased to announce the release of his brand new studio album Nothin But Love. Produced by Kevin Shirley the album includes material written by all four Robert Cray Band members; Robert Cray (vocals/guitar), Jim Pugh (keyboards), Cray Band co-founder Richard Cousins (bass) and Tony Braunagel (drums). The new album blends blues, rock, soul and jazz, with a lyric-sheet that examines Robert's trademark triumphs, fallouts and follies of love.
Nothin But Love is a wonderful return to form for Cray, kicking off with 'Won't Be Coming Home', excellent opener choice as it is noticeable at the start by the exceptional guitar and band sound mixed up with Robert's now familiar break-up woman blues lyrics.
Varying styles form the rest of the cd with Latin grooving `Worry', the jazz sound of 'I'll Always Remember You', the foot-tapping '50s-style 'Side Dish', His voice sounding ever more like a soulfull Sam Cooke on 'Great Big Old House'.
His trademark stamp on the blues are here as well on epic tracks like `Blues Get Off My Shoulder', `I'm Done Crying' and `A Memo' featuring some great band playing throughout.
Cray's voice has matured into pure velvet on this cd and I believe it's his best for quite some time, aided by Kevin Shirley in a very impressive production role.
This cd will be played for quite some time in my car; its infectious and melodic compositions will make the journey evenr the sweeter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars VINYL REVIEW, 4 Feb. 2014
By 
M. Jones (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothin But Love [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Not his best album by any stretch of the imagination but this maybe down to the lack of dynamics in the recording. everything seems a little lacklustre and restrained. I've got most of his albums on vinyl and this is the worst in terms of sound quality.
A pity because the ones I have on vinyl sound great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing But love, 24 Jan. 2013
By 
Paul Brynley Davies (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothin But Love (Audio CD)
I've just received this album and have been playing it constantly in the car.
The style is typical Robert Cray Chicago clean cut blues so if you love Robert Cray it's likely you'll love this.

The addition of a horn section on some of the tracks adds a soulful feel reminiscent of the old 'Stax ' label sound. Stand out tracks for me are ' Blues Get Off My Shoulder ' and 'I'm Done Cryin '

Can't wait to see him live in March.

Paul Bryn Davies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another really belting output from RC, 29 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really cracking CD which shows Robert and his very talented band off at their best.
Songs come from RC and from the Band Members and they are performed beatuifully.
A well produced album , no unecssary frills ... just great Blues music - If you like Robert Cray ....or you want to get to know him a wee bit better .... this is a good place to start !
Recommended !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 27 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I went to see Robert for the first time this year. I got the new album on the back of that experience and this CD is just great.
Beautifully constructed songs played with excellent musicians. Roberts voice and guitar are exceptional.
With a Robert Cray album you get guitar work that compliments the song. This is a must for any music collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Robert Cray, 6 Dec. 2012
By 
Thomas Page "BaggyGeoff" (wolverhampton W.Mids UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this album after hearing him play and sing on a TV Programme. I like this style of music and was satisfied with the majority of the songs although there two I was unimpressed with. That is the chance we take when buying an album, and disliking 2 out of 11 is better than sometimes can be achieved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 14 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been a fan of Robert Cary for many years, I was expecting much the same as previous albums. However, this album is a little different. It's very upbeat and quite rocky in places. It just gets better the more you play it. I would totally recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nothin But Love
Nothin But Love by Robert Cray (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews