Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 February 2013
Who in their right mind could fault Dickens; I certainly would never dream of it.
My problem is with the company who created the electronic version.

What slipshod practices are afoot when there does not seem to have been much, if indeed any, attempt to proofread the final copy. Errors and omissions abound: and that is only on the first tale I have read (The Old Curiosity Shop) so it is almost a certainty the whole book will be of similar ilk. I will not further tarnish the image of Dickens, or that of the reading experience, by continuing with this copy.

I'm off to the High Street to buy myself a hard copy by a reputable publisher.
33 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
As far as content is concerned, marvellous. How could it not be? I do find it, however a little fiddly navigating from one book to another. Also the Kindle treats the collection as just one book, so it is difficult sometimes to know how far through an individual book I have read
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
Apart from a few typos this is an excellent anthology, I would recommend it to anyone who wishes to catch up the classics.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
Great to have all Dickens' books in one place where it is easy to find and read each individual work!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
What a cornucopia, what an abundance of the finest literature in the English Language and how fortunate we are, how privileged are we who can dip into it whenever the impulse prompts us.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
I have always enjoyed Dicken's works. It is great to have complete works at your disposal. I am enjoying it.

Hari
Leamington Spa
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
I like it as it is stored in my kindle, and I have no problems lifting a heavy tome. I can choose which book to read at my leisure.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
Although I do have a complete copy of the Charles Dickens book, never got round to reading them, Now after downloading the Kindle version am having problems to stop reading all the time. The price is amazing and the download took very little time. Suggest you buy this version if you want to read these as this is much lighter to carry around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
Downloaded this product but can't use it. It keeps freezing when I try to move more than 1 page at a time using the scroll bar at the bottom of the kindle book screen. I am on page 43 but cannot move up and down the chapters unless I move one page at a time.....very frustrating...grrrrrrrr
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
I love all Dicken's writing's & have most of his hard back's, but to have the complete set for £1.53 in one spot is amazing. I am so thrilled with this special edition, and to have him so easily at hand is any Dickens lover dream. Many Thanks for the swift download. Margaret.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse