Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars95
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 January 2004
Out there in musicland’s vaults there’s some great albums just waiting to be found… and here’s one! A shuffling, bustling fusion of acid-jazz & blues based on clever sampling and superbly tight playing that demands attention first time through and, like all great records, just gets better & better with repeat listening. And… if you’ve got the extra cash and your dancing shoes on buy the Limited Edition version for it’s second CD containing three excellent club re-mixes – in particular the extended version of “Sure Thing” with it’s quite marvellous John Lee Hooker sampled vocals. Wonderful stuff!
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2003
This was my first purchase from amazon ever. I bought it on the strength of the first song, Rose Rouge. I loved every minute of it. It has a good house-music leaning, but is very much jazz-influenced. Buy this album if you are quite open minded, and like a good jazz tone to your music. I had never strayed into jazz orientated music before, being a child of oasis etc. This album opened my eyes to many new arenas. A great chill out CD, and, depending on circumstances, a good party album too. Buy it, it is great. If you are loking for more house orientated stuff, see some of Ludo's eariler work, like Boulevard or Detroit to St. Germain.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2000
From Detroit to St Germain was the second full length release from Ludovic Navarre and was just a retrospective of everything he had done previous to his debut album Boulevard. Boulevard was great: chilled, funky and jazzy. But with Tourist, Navarre enters even more funky territory. He has lost the over-long tendancies of Boulevard in place of a raw, funky jazz sound. He has also shown that his beats are more diverse than the average 4-4 he is believed to represent. Whilst Boulevard did show this off on a few tunes, (most memorably sampling Tribe Called Quest beats) Tourist goes even further in throwing of the shackles of the "house" beat.
But forget all this jargon, this is simply a great album that launches jazz into a new, more approachable sphere, and that has to be good. I have been a big fan of Navarre's production, but this album has gone even further than I thought he was capable of. I'm not a huge fan of jazz, but I was drawn into the excellent live capabilities of the St germain band, as well as Navarre's crisp, fluid and raw production/
If you love your funk or your jazz, or if you are a house bod who wants to take some rest from the hardcore lifestyle of clubs clubs clubs then this must be an album to consider. Nice!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2000
One of the original French dance artists, alongside Laurent Garnier, long before the likes of Daft Punk and Air, Ludovic Navarre, or St Germain as he is better known, has waited five years to produce a follow up to his first album. With Boulevard, he was already spicing up his deep house with blues, gospel and jazz, long before Moby. But Tourist is in a different league altogether. First, the man has landed a deal with the jazz masters' label, Blue Note. Second, with Tourist, Navarre takes his bluesy deep house further into jazz land. From the opening track, Rose Rouge, with its infectious groove, to the last, it is groove all round. On every track, you can feel the influences. Hampton, Armstrong, Monk, they're all there. But Navarre does use these influences in style. Here, the masters are at his service. Tourist is one of the most enjoyable albums of the year so far, and St Germain is slowly but surely becoming one of the major talents on the international dance scene.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2001
I bought this on the strengths of the reviews above, and I was definitely not disappointed. It is a chilled out blend of funky sounds and lyrics with excellent jazz undertones. Complete with a perfect lack of monotony and pretentiousness, you can stick this on repeat play and not get bored. Perfect summer CD, which will also get me through the winter. I really think that this album will appeal to an array of people who might be anything from Jazz fanatics to complete amateurs like myself. I had never heard of St Germain, or any of his music. I read a review in a magazine, looked it up, and ordered to see what it was like. I urge you to do the same.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2000
After the compulsive opening track which is irresistably diverse Rose rouge a mid tempo perecussive belter, sheened with Nina Simone style vocals and the smokey tinges of Miles Davis and Coltrane ,the track carries a fifties jazz juice feel The album gets better. The whole collection is a fuse of latin, reggae. African drumming and every other extension of quality dance music,New fresh street sounds for a post millenium . Ludovic Navarre's Tourist lies somewhere between Buck shot Le Funk and an advanced Nuyorican Soul. Nonstop party or dancing round the living room. St Germaines Tourist is a must!!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
An excellent second album from St. Germain with the stand out tracks "Rose Rouge" & "Sure Thing". Easy listening for the modern day, lay back and enjoy the musical wanderings from Ludovic Navarre
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2001
I bought this on the strength of the 'Blue Note' label - although I'm not a hard-core jazz fan. I've yet to find anyone who doesn't end up raving about it. Now that it's charting St Germain should find a wider audience. (Not that they seem to need one - their London gig is a sell out.) 'Tourist' is one of those CD's that comes along once every 5 yaers or so - superb, mellow, funked, jazzed - just treat yourself.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2001
I first heard 'Sure Thing' at a gym. Intrigued by the track I took a chance and bought the album. It is really superb. I encourage everyone to take the same chance and buy the cd too; you won't be disappointed. The music is rhythmic, sophisticted, jazzy and funky. I am an overnight fan of Navarre and have just ordered Boulevard his earlier compiliation.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2003
Heard this album in my local music shop one day, and liked the one track that i heard so much that i decided to buy it. Let's just say i'm not unhappy that i did!
i've always been a fan of jazz, but i've all too often found that most jazz music (except the classics) wanders off into boring little self-indulgent tunes. Not so for this record. Although the album does use samples for some of the tunes, it more often than not revitalises the samples that are used.
You'll probably have heard some of the songs on various film shows etc.
If you're a fan of jazz, or electronica/funk for that matter, you MUST own this album!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)