Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent look at an unknown aspect of Dickens
"Dickens In America" originally aired on BBC4, a channel that has produced some of the best British documentaries in years. This series is no exception, with Miriam Margolyes visiting America based on Dickens' own observations in "American Notes". Dickens is an author who is quintessentially English, so it is interesting to see his reflections on 19th century America...
Published on 30 Jun 2012 by S. Carey

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dickens and America thoroughly Margoyled
This is essentially another one of those BBC travel series in which a presenter takes us on a trip to foreign parts based upon an historical theme. In this case, actress Miriam Margolyes retraces Dickens's first trip to America in the 1840s where he toured at the height of his early fame and was greeted everywhere as a hugely popular celebrity --on a scale comparable...
Published on 15 Dec 2012 by Richard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent look at an unknown aspect of Dickens, 30 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dickens In America [DVD] - TV Series (Miriam Margolyes) (DVD)
"Dickens In America" originally aired on BBC4, a channel that has produced some of the best British documentaries in years. This series is no exception, with Miriam Margolyes visiting America based on Dickens' own observations in "American Notes". Dickens is an author who is quintessentially English, so it is interesting to see his reflections on 19th century America. Margolyes visits New York, Boston, New England and also makes a trip to Canada at the end of the series.

Nathaniel Parker (who starred as Skimpole in Bleak House the same year) voices Dickens and reads extracts from "American Notes".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable excursion with Miriam, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dickens In America [DVD] - TV Series (Miriam Margolyes) (DVD)
This is a very interesting tour of the places visited by Charles Dickens in America. Miriam Margolyes is a very engaging presenter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dickens In America [DVD] - TV Series (Miriam Margolyes) (DVD)
Being a Miriam Margolyes fan I was pleased to see some of this series on TV in Prague when I was living there. Since I got back to the UK I had been looking for a DVD in the hope that I could watch the entire series. Now it is available and what a delight it is. Informative as well as entertaining. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 22 April 2013
This review is from: Dickens In America [DVD] - TV Series (Miriam Margolyes) (DVD)
Excellent series delivered by a genuine Charles Dickens lover. I learned a great deal of fascinating information about one of Britain's most prolific, iconic authors. The series also provides excellent insight into the culture of the USA. Great fun, very engaging. Before I watched this I did not know much about Dickens life or that he had toured the US. Thank you Miriam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 30 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dickens In America [DVD] - TV Series (Miriam Margolyes) (DVD)
Great series. Would recommend this to a fan of either Margolyes and or Dickens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dickens In America [DVD] - TV Series (Miriam Margolyes) (DVD)
Absolutely fascinating informative and funny! !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dickens and America thoroughly Margoyled, 15 Dec 2012
By 
Richard "Not here." (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dickens In America [DVD] - TV Series (Miriam Margolyes) (DVD)
This is essentially another one of those BBC travel series in which a presenter takes us on a trip to foreign parts based upon an historical theme. In this case, actress Miriam Margolyes retraces Dickens's first trip to America in the 1840s where he toured at the height of his early fame and was greeted everywhere as a hugely popular celebrity --on a scale comparable today of a major pop star. Since the investigative itinerary he worked out for himself reflected his passionately idealistic personal social and political agenda for reform, we get the opportunity to explore an evolving America on the cusp of greatness in terms of its climb towards super-power status. The idea of the series is to compare Dickens's vignettes of that (as recorded in his American Notes) with today's America. As such, Ms. Margolyes's episodic adventures making the program are at least as important to the story as are her hero's recorded impressions. Therein lies the problem with this series for me.

What emerges qualifies less as a genuinely insightful historical view, then as a mildly entertaining/interesting vehicle for projecting Miriam Margoyles as a screen personality. As a history program adequately covering the topic (America then and now) it's deeply compromised by the need to entertain as a travelogue giving two personal impressions of a couple of strongly opinionated Brits. While that might understandably be a bit annoying for American viewers at times, it's also problematic for everyone else depending upon how positively engaged one is by Ms. Margolyes's perspective. Or should I say performance, because she is constantly being the Luvvie. Personally, my own subjective response was that I can take or leave her and as such would have much preferred less of her and more Dickens.

So be warned, potential viewers: despite its title, this isn't really a history series, but rather a contemporary travelogue. As such it's not bad, being a typically polished example of the genre; slick and nicely shot and full of scenes featuring nice Americans being friendly for the camera. You also get quite a bit about Dickens along the way: albeit through the lens of one particular, highly enthusiastic, fan. I thought the best insights and appraisals on Dickens's own perspective came from certain of the American commentator's interviewed. I couldn't care less about Ms. Margoyle's own comparisons between her own American impressions and Dickens's, however. Between the too, I definitely feel more confident in buying into Dickens's assessments, which although ill-received at the time by the American reading public when published as American Notes, seem to be accepted as largely valid, clear-sighted and historically useful appraisals by most of the current-day American interviewees in this series.

Watching this series made me wish someone would do a proper historical-drama mini-series on Dickens's relationship to the U.S.A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dickens In America [DVD] - TV Series (Miriam Margolyes)
£15.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews