Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Listen with Prime Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars37
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Saw this on the Military History channel & thought what an extraordinarily piece of war documentary. It really opened up my eyes to the real horror & heroism in Vietnam. Not being American & not fully understanding the politics of this war, Vietnam hasn't really grabbed my attention to read up on - this documentary now has. One not to miss.
22 comments|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
I discovered this series on YouTube before it was ready for the UK market and I bought this set as soon as it was available. If you are interested in a soldier's eye view of the Vietnam war then this is it! Excellent movie footage, excellent blend of history, real-time video, present day reflection, and superbly produced. A factual and emotional set. AND I highly recommend their other Lost Films e.g. WWII.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2012
Being born half way through America's till then longest conflict, the reverberation of that sad adventure was comparable back then as Operation Iraqi Freedom (Op Telic) is to our present generation. A vivid insight through rare footage revisits the ghosts of that bitter campaign.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
This film is a very good watch. Actual footage and soldiers stories bring to life what actually happened in Vietnam.

One of the best I have seen.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
This is a fantastic journey through Vietnam as seen through the eyes of those who served there and those lived through those times.

At times exceptionally emotive and compelling.

I would recommend this documentary to anybody interested in modern or military history.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2012
Yes it's another Vietnam war DVD. The difference is this is just awesome. The stories of individual lives from the Combat cameraman, Military and wives of military serving are a tragic incite into this war which was fought by Politicians who caused so many brave souls to lose their lives and their minds. The film footage is as in your face as it gets for this war and demonstrates the bravery on both sides. The tradgedy and sad return of the Forces on returning home is covered and they were treated very badly by the American public.
This is a must see and have for the collection. First class
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2013
If you ever think life is tough watch this first!!! watched on history channel but worth buying to run through home cinema
I like the personal touch from the forces wife's and family also the neatly timed overlay from past to present.
The stats they give for bombs dropped and average combat days compared to WW2 is staggering
This sort of material should be used to educate in senior schools in my opinion, you then may get a little more respect for people of this generation
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
At times you forget this is actual war footage and not a film, brings the horror of war to your TV
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2012
This collection is an asolute must, the first hand stories are very moving and the film, most of which has never been seen, is fantasic.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
Certainly full of interesting footage. I must append a warning to all the glowing reviews though: the perspective is overwhelmingly pro-American, so much so that I will admit I only watched the first one. It is narrated by Americans, its authority comes from American journalists who apparently insisted on going into battle and who reflect tearfully from their grand retirement homes. The bravery is apparently all on the American side, the wounded and dead seem to be entirely American, martyrs carried away to an accompaniment of epic orchestral music. The first episode describes a major battle of 1964 in which, we are told, Americans outnumbered eight-to-one win a victory which can be compared to the victories won on the beaches of Normandy. This "victory" involves landing hopelessly under-supplied troops in a pocket of ground where they are attacked and overwhelmed by an underestimated enemy for three days, incurring heavy casualties, before finally calling in emergency air strikes. These strikes kill further American troops in "friendly fire" incidents but, again, apparently no Vietcong are killed or wounded, at least if the footage and narration is to believed. But, the air effort "pushes the enemy" back long enough to rescue what remains of the American forces. God Bless America for this victory.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)