Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Programmable minimum beightness, no buzz, great
Got worried when I first wired it up because my lights flashed on and off, then they wouldn't dim. Turns out, RTFM! The dimmer has a programmable minimum brightness setting, and the flash when I first turned it on was letting me know it was in programming mode. Once I'd set the minimum brightness, all was well.

The dimmer works as advertised, no buzzing as...
Published 9 months ago by gingercat

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unstable?
I purchased three of these switches and two need replacement within a few days. These failures seemed to coincide with the breakdown of one of the LED lamps. LED lamps are supposed to last for a considerable length of time, they are however vulnerable when first installed as they are untested before sale. Once the dimmer switch is working it seems fine and perhaps I am...
Published 9 months ago by mr ken pratt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unstable?, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Varilight Brushed Steel, LED Dimmer Switch - V-Pro Series, 1 Gang (Single), 1 or 2 Way, 400 Watt (Trailing Edge)
I purchased three of these switches and two need replacement within a few days. These failures seemed to coincide with the breakdown of one of the LED lamps. LED lamps are supposed to last for a considerable length of time, they are however vulnerable when first installed as they are untested before sale. Once the dimmer switch is working it seems fine and perhaps I am being a little harsh in awarding only two stars, however, Varilight need to address this issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Programmable minimum beightness, no buzz, great, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Varilight Brushed Steel, LED Dimmer Switch - V-Pro Series, 1 Gang (Single), 1 or 2 Way, 400 Watt (Trailing Edge)
Got worried when I first wired it up because my lights flashed on and off, then they wouldn't dim. Turns out, RTFM! The dimmer has a programmable minimum brightness setting, and the flash when I first turned it on was letting me know it was in programming mode. Once I'd set the minimum brightness, all was well.

The dimmer works as advertised, no buzzing as I've previously found with cheaper models.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for those modern LED bulbs., 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Varilight Brushed Steel, LED Dimmer Switch - V-Pro Series, 1 Gang (Single), 1 or 2 Way, 400 Watt (Trailing Edge)
As I was replacing the 'bulbs' in a light fitting (5 bulbs) with dimmable LED types, this was needed. Those original "standard" or common cheap dimmers basically hum like mad as the LED load is not suitable.
In short, this works perfectly. Silent in operation, it appears to control the brightness level electronically so it's not harsh on the bulbs no matter how harsh you operate it! When you switch it on it takes about half a second or so to bring the light up to full, which should prolong the life of any 'bulb'. (Apparently can be used on any dimmable bulb type, but I've only used the LED ones).
The fascia panel is slightly smaller overall than our current 'standard' ones, but it does fit into a 'standard' UK light switch housing so it was a straight swap, no problems. We need to redoecorate round it now though, or get one of those surround panel things.
As some have said, do read the insert manual as it clearly outlines how to set up the minimum brightness level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars does not dim enough, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Varilight Brushed Steel, LED Dimmer Switch - V-Pro Series, 1 Gang (Single), 1 or 2 Way, 400 Watt (Trailing Edge)
knob feels a bit loose and wobbly, finish is good. it does not dim as much as I would like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect replacement, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Varilight Brushed Steel, LED Dimmer Switch - V-Pro Series, 1 Gang (Single), 1 or 2 Way, 400 Watt (Trailing Edge)
Fitted with 8 LED lamps, like for like lux levels on our halogen bulbs with no buzzing and dimming levels down to 20%.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost there, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Varilight Brushed Steel, LED Dimmer Switch - V-Pro Series, 1 Gang (Single), 1 or 2 Way, 400 Watt (Trailing Edge)
Dim-able LEDs are still fairly new in household lighting and present problems with standard dimmers because of their low load. This unit works fairly well, but has trouble dimming all the way down to 0.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Varilight Brushed Steel, LED Dimmer Switch - V-Pro Series, 1 Gang (Single), 1 or 2 Way, 400 Watt (Trailing Edge)
I have looked everywhere for a product that actually does as it claims in its write up and this item certainly did. Very pleased to have purchased it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Varilight Brushed Steel, LED Dimmer Switch - V-Pro Series, 1 Gang (Single), 1 or 2 Way, 400 Watt (Trailing Edge)
Really nice - see my review for the 2 gang version of this for more info.

Feels quality, knobs have a nice solid feel to them and I love how it fades the lights in and out when turning on and off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Varilight Brushed Steel, LED Dimmer Switch - V-Pro Series, 1 Gang (Single), 1 or 2 Way, 400 Watt (Trailing Edge)
Just replaced 8 GU10's with LED's and purchased this to use with them - excellent product and works well and looks just like my original. Is adjustable too so make sure you read the instructions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent dimmer for dimmable LED bulbs., 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Varilight Brushed Steel, LED Dimmer Switch - V-Pro Series, 1 Gang (Single), 1 or 2 Way, 400 Watt (Trailing Edge)
Excellent dimmer and no noisy 'hum' from it. I bought some dimmable LED bulbs Integral LED ILP45E14O4.5D03KADMA E14 Small Edison Screw 4 Watt LED 320 lm Mini Globe Golfball Dimmable Bulb, Warm White for a light fitting containing 5 bulbs. This is a 'trailing edge' dimmer and works perfectly with these bulbs - they dim almost to nothing. Most cheaper dimmers are 'leading edge' dimmers and are fine for ordinary bulbs but they don't seem to work with this type of LED bulb. Be careful of the negative review on this product - as far as I know, standard LED bulbs (non dimmable) will not dim whatever dimmer you use - you have to buy dimmable LED bulbs (which contain additional electronics inside each bulb) and use a 'trailing edge' dimmer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews