Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars78
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 August 2012
I had the luck of seeing this flm early. I was hoping this film was going to be better than Van damme's last film 'dragon eyes' which was quite bad.

Boy was i in for a shock, this film was EXCELLENT, Firstly the bad side about this film if there was any, was the film had a close story to Taken, which was a great film. Then again if Hollywood pay big bucks to companies to do remakes why can't the not so rich companies copy some type of story.

Right then onto the film, a former mma fighter's daughter gets kidnapped and they get told to go and see Van Damme as he is the best in the business to get their daughter back, but unbeknown to them his last mission went wrong and he keeps on seeing these 2 dead girls every now and then.

Okay i suppose that every time a Van Damme film comes out everyone wants to hear about the fights in the film, well Van Damme uses a knife early on in the film to good effect, there is also a good fight in a night club that does not involve Van Damme until the fight is almost over, then the rest of the film centres around gun play and the occasional fisty cuffs.

Altogether the film goes at a good pace and it's put together very well, Van Damme's pained character is nicely played and the scenes with his real life son, who plays his son onscreen, there is great chemistry there.

See this film and you won't be dissapointed, there are a lot worse films out there. I will be buying this film when it comes out.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 October 2012
I could always take or leave Jean Claude Van Damme's action films, even in the eighties - he was always second fiddle to Schwarzenegger and Stallone. Then he seemed to go off radar for years into an abyss of B and C movies that went straight to DVD.

And here he is again, going straight to DVD. However, for a change, this one's actually pretty good. JCVD plays an ex soldier or mercenary (they call him both, but it doesn't matter) who now works as a butcher, in between rescuing kidnapped children from the clutches of vile child-trafficking gangsters in Eastern Europe.

So, when an American couple lose their fourteen-year-old daughter, who ya' gonna' call?

One way to describe Six Bullets would be `a poor man's Taken' as it has elements of the hit Liam Neeson film where he has to rescue his kidnapped daughter in similar circumstances and surroundings. But that would be a little unfair, as Six Bullets does just enough to try and make it its own film in its own right.

For a start, the American couple don't just sit back and let the Muscles from Brussels do all the work, they take up arms and give him a helping hand.

There's not much here that's new, but it's done in a decent enough way to be worth a watch if you fancy seeing another action film.

Solid and definitely Van Damme's best film in years (not including The Expendables 2).
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2012
It shocks me to say this, but Six Bullets stands out as one of this year's best action movies.

It shocks me further to admit that Jean-Claude Van Damme can indeed act. Over the last ten years or so you have probably seen two versions of Van Damme on screen:

1) The JCVD who winks as he's disposing of bad guys in a failed attempt to recapture his heyday, and
2) The angry, disillusioned JCVD who appears slightly bored with making an endless list of low budget action movies and is filled almost with a self-hatred for blowing his A-List status on drugs all of those years ago. He appeared a shell of his former self, smaller, ravaged by age and looking like a guy who didn't want to be there.

In Six Bullets, however, we get a Vam Damme we have never seen before (or at least not seen for a very, very long time). he appears to have a new found self belief, possibly with some thanks to the confidence he has regained since piling on a few stones of muscle mass after hooking up with Sylvester Stallone for The Expendables II last year. Dolph Lundgren enjoyed a similar show-stealing movie in the first Expendables film, the Stallone-effect appears to have struck twice here as Van Damme followed up his great appearance as the villain in that franchise's sequel with this fantastic offering.

Van Damme has his confidence back, and he isn't shying away. He's got his 'guns' out for most of this action movie, when he doesn't he is wearing trademark needlessly skintight t-shirts and wandering around like that 'stranger you know you shouldn't mess with' character we first saw in old classics like Hard Target.

The action is very well done. The movie looks much more expensive than it actually was, thanks to good direction and a great supporting cast behind JCVD. The one fault of his movies has always been that, aside from JCVD himself, you didn't have any interest in any other characters in his movies. That's why epic bad guys such as Lance Henriksen and Dolph Lundgren stood out in his 90's classics. In this movie the entire supporting cast does their job superbly. The MMA fighter who's family the movie centers around is a great supporting actor, as is the actress playing his wife.

The one scene which sums up the movie is where Van Damme telphone's his son and says the immortal line, "I'm back, this is what you wanted." The way his son smiles, it's almost autobiographical of JCVD's self-loathing for his action hero gimmick coming full circle and embracing what he truly does best. He's serious, he's angry and, amazingly, he's still got it.

JCVD has made some good straight-to-dvd action movies in the last decade (Replicant, Assassination Games, Wake Of Death), several notches ahead of the likes of Seagal and Snipes, but nothing which defeated his late eighties and nineties prime. Until now.

Six Bullets does that. This is a legitimately very good action movie and is well worth checking out. Van Damme excels.
22 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
This is probably the best Van Damme film I have seen in year. Yes the man has lost a lot of his trademark flexibility, but he is forced to use what work for him. Let’s face it doing the splits show amazing flexibility (especially for a man), but it is not effective in a fight. I am much happier with the fighting style (much more functional), more locks and weapon strikes; in an early fight scene he does even mange to get his trademark high roundhouse kick.

The story/plot is strong. Van Damme a former soldier is hired to free a kidnapped young boy for a child trafficking gangster. After explosively and brutally completing his mission, he gets the other children killed. Six months later, haunted by the children he could not save. He settles in the old family business of butcher. A high profile MMA star trying to make a comeback in his career is flown in with his family. His 14 year daughter is kidnapped. The police and people face the usual code of silence through fear or corruption. A member of the US embassy is suggests Van Damme might be able to help.

What the film lacks in martial arts fighting finesse it makes up for with the use of weapons, tactics and technology. I think the line the girl says, "Old people are just not good with technology", stick in my head as the fact Van Damme being more willing to use tech makes this film better and show as such he may have many good films to come in the future.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is another teen abduction/ Eastern European sex trade/ rescue movie. Samson Gaul (Jean-Claude Van Damme) is the village butcher who moonlights as a mercenary. His accent varies throughout the film. His son (Kristopher Van Varenberg) who works at the US embassy, sends him clients.

When Andrew Fayden(Joe Flanigan), an American cage fighter's daughter Becky (Charlotte Beaumont) is kidnapped, he calls on Samson who is reluctant to take the case. On his last case he generated a significant amount of collateral damage that wasn't as funny as when MacGruber does it.

The movie has a slight twist which really wasn't much of a twist. Monica Fayden (Anna-Louise Plowman) mouthing statistics in the middle of the film made me think this was a 93 minute public service announcement. In addition to beating up people, Samson uses elaborate high tech stuff. He is capable of setting up complex traps in a matter of moments. The movie "Taken" has set the bar for this genre and unfortunately this one doesn't measure up. Will work as a rental.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, no sex, no real nudity. Women in strip clubs scantily dressed. One woman with large pasties...nothing we haven't seen at Superbowl half time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2012
Like other posters I was pleasantly surprised by this one.
What a difference a good strong story makes.
Well worth watching.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
Just lately, Van Dammes movies have been getting a lot better than they should be. This could be partly thankful to JCVD, or he has started to listen to his fans and choosing better roles.

I was surprised how well this movie was made, and how good he was in it.

He plays a specialist who finds kidnapped children who are being sold for pleasure. When a job causes the death of two children, he starts having doubts about his career choice.

Went the daughter of an MMA fighter is kidnapped, he reluctantly helps, and then Van Damme is back in action.

The only thing i found silly in this film, was the visions he was having about the two dead girls. This really didn't need to be in this and detracted away from the feeling of the movie. We knew he was suffering, so we didn't need to see this.

Fighting is minimal, apart from the opening act, but it's quite good to see a sadistic Van damme in this. He tortures, maims, and kills without remorse and it gives the film a real gritty feel to it.

So all in all, if you are a Van Damme film, you will be happy as this proves that his career is in full swing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2012
I genuinely loved the film. Sucks how the UK takes months for a film to come out, which is frankly ridiculous!. Anyway, the actors such as; Joe Flanagan and Jean Claude Van Dam are amazing! If you liked Stargate Atlantis's John Shepperd? Then you will love seeing him in this.

The story is identical to Taken (Liam Neeson) But it's still worth watching :)

If you're a fan of Jean Claude and Joe Flanagan? Rent it first and see for yourself. if you like it? Buy it and add it to your collection.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2015
I loved this movie. Its one of the better Van Damme movies in the recent years. The story is really good. Van Damme is a ex-mercenary who did a raid but his actions caused the death of two innocent victims. Retired from his profession he is owns a simple butcher shop but not for long. When another kidnaping of a 14 year old American girl happens Van Damme is asked to help and get her. Its not easy as it seems as the prostitution ring is a very dangerous world filled with horrible people abusing teenage girls. Van Damme tries everything and I mean everything to find her even though with all the corruption and many obstructions going on. Now what surprised me the most is the blu ray quality. It looks fantastic. The detail is very high and it looks like what a blu ray movie should look like. I was very impressed with how it looks. The story is great, the picture quality and sound is great so what more do you need. Just get this great Van Damme movie. Its worth every penny. Great seller. Fast delivery. Thank You.
review image review image review image
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
Samson Gaul (Jean-Claude Van Damme) is a local ex-mercenary with his own butcher's shop and a drink problem - exacerbated when an earlier attempt to rescue a young boy lead to the deaths of two young girls. Reluctantly he agrees to work for an MMA (mixed martial arts) fighter, Andrew Fayden (Joe Flanigan - Star Gate Atlantis), and his wife (Anna-Louise Plowman - Star Gate: SG1) after their daughter is kidnapped by Russian mobsters whilst visiting Moldova.

This recent outing for the ’Muscles From Brussels’ is a well-crafted film and one of Van Damme's best. It is closer to the believable end of the spectrum when it comes to JCVD movies - or action movies in general come to that - which is a good thing in my opinion. It is a well-constructed and clever thriller. The visuals are somewhat drained of colour overall, but that does suit the dark subject matter.

A few minor quibbles: I agree with the reviewer who questioned the necessity of showing the two dead girls as if haunting Gaul in his shop. It would have been better if we had seen them in flashback when Gaul is recalling the horror of what he had inadvertantly helped bring about. Also, I can see why the film has everyone speaking English, but it was a little jarring to see shops signs and local newspapers in English. And finally, the explosions and smoke from burning cars were clearly CGI generated, and that never looks as good as the real thing, but I suppose they had a budget to consider.

If you are a fan of JCVD, or action films in general, I think you will enjoy this film.

PS: Does anyone know why the film is called 'Six Bullets'?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.00
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)