Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Exciting
I started reading this book this morning and could not put it down, I ahve been reading it all day. It is essentially a cybercrime book but mainly a very fast paced thriller. It starts mainly as a Cyberattack on an American Bank, which causes chaos as people's accounts are wiped out. When the FBI are called in they quickly decide that the attacker is Rob Donovan one of...
Published on 24 July 2012 by Wendy Jones

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed with the ending.
A nice plot, and well paced, but slightly let down by a couple of minor plot holes - and very badly let down by the twist at the end! Which was technically plausible, but was put in in such a way as to seem contrived. A sudden and convenient bit of information, turning up out of nowhere at just the right time to rescue the hero and make everything work out all right, just...
Published 18 months ago by Paul T.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Exciting, 24 July 2012
By 
Wendy Jones "wjones7423" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Unauthorized Access (Kindle Edition)
I started reading this book this morning and could not put it down, I ahve been reading it all day. It is essentially a cybercrime book but mainly a very fast paced thriller. It starts mainly as a Cyberattack on an American Bank, which causes chaos as people's accounts are wiped out. When the FBI are called in they quickly decide that the attacker is Rob Donovan one of the computer experts at the bank. Protesting his innocence, Rob is believed by no one and goes on the run to try to prove his innocence. But there is so much more to this book and there are many twists and turns that no one could see coming. Andrew McAllister's writing style draws you right into the story and had me on the edge of my seat wondering what would happen next. I loved the characters and could picture each and everyone of them. For a man, McAllister describes the women well (sorry I don't mean to be sexist here, it's a compliment). I felt I knew each and every character personally, whether they were on the side of good and evil, and sometimes you were stunned by which side they were actually on. I would say this book was equally for both men and women, and would be enjoyed by both. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who likes a good story and a high octane thriller.

I was given a free copy of this book by the author for review purposes. I do not know the author and have given it a fair and unbiased review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 22 Sep 2012
This review is from: Unauthorized Access (Kindle Edition)
What a roller coaster of emotion, tension and action. When I first started reading this book I could not have envisaged the total absorption I would feel along the journey. By the end of the prologue, I had tears in my eyes. This is an excellent study of human nature and the overwhelming power of loyalty and jealousy. I would highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unauthorized Access (Kindle Edition)
I got this book from Amazon on my Kindle, for free. Thank you. Couldn't put it down. Can't wait for his next one. Thank you Andrew McAlister, don't give your work for free, would have been happy to pay for that book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed with the ending., 16 April 2013
By 
Paul T. (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unauthorized Access (Kindle Edition)
A nice plot, and well paced, but slightly let down by a couple of minor plot holes - and very badly let down by the twist at the end! Which was technically plausible, but was put in in such a way as to seem contrived. A sudden and convenient bit of information, turning up out of nowhere at just the right time to rescue the hero and make everything work out all right, just does not work. A disappointing ending to what had been quite a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent thriller, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unauthorized Access (Kindle Edition)
A great on the edge of your seat thriller. Lots of twists and turns. Very believable story, could really happen. Super writing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Solid Read, 11 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unauthorized Access (Kindle Edition)
Good read, in fact read it in one sitting as I couldn't put it down!!

The characters are well developed and relationships explored in enough depth to have you rooting for them to succeed. Personally I feel a chapter exploring the dynamic between Tim and his father could have strengthened Tim as a character.

In terms of a story the plot has enough reality to make up for the more outlandish events that occur. All in all a very enjoyable read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Limited access, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unauthorized Access (Kindle Edition)
A well-told tale but I'm not entirely sure the plot wasn't one or two bits short of a byte. At a pinch I could believe Tim's part in inserting his code into the program without it being discovered, but I found Rob's attitude and Lesley's easy acceptance of his guilt just too far-fetched.
Logic drives the IT world and its application ought to have come to the thought processes of the bank's computer people. Rob was good at his work where attention to the tiniest detail is vital and he would NEVER have left the obvious evidence, even if the police believed it, and he had a decent motive (which he didn't).
Also Landry was, at base, a lot more incompetent than he should have been. For example, a pro would have decided Rob didn't know any keywords within ten minutes of them being alone.
Overall, I liked the writing style and would give Andrew McAllister another chance or two. He can tell a tale. I didn't fall deeply in love with the story, it was more like a one-night-stand: pleasant but not entirely satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not a book to put down, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unauthorized Access (Kindle Edition)
This booked gripped right from the first page to the last. So many twists and turns. You felt as if you were part of the story it was so absorbing. Great would read this author again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mechanical and pedestrian, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unauthorized Access (Kindle Edition)
The main problem with this book is that all the characters are one dimensional. Tim is jealous. Rob is a stand up guy. Lesley is sweet. Shayna is hip. None of them sound like any recognizable twenty-something living in the 21st century. In fact Shayna's dialogue is so 'go-girl' teeth-grittingly bad it should win an award. Wincing, I skipped Lesley's tearful conversations with her mother out of a basic sense of decency. People may talk like this on Ophra but in real life? No.

While the plotting isn't bad and the pacing is good, there's no grit or humour or sense of place or anything to bring the story to life. With the exception of a few techie references this story could be taking place at any time in the last 50 years. The result is that the characters move mechanically through the plot and it's all neatly tied up at the end - but you don't really care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fast-moving thriller, 2 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. D. W. Cozens (North Hykehan, Lincs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unauthorized Access (Kindle Edition)
In an age when we have become so dependent on computers in almost every aspect of our daily lives, this is a gripping tale which moves at a fast pace. A thoroughly good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unauthorized Access
Unauthorized Access by Andrew McAllister
£2.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews