Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Hard Drive - Poor Packaging
I've had many makes of hard drive over the years but seem to migrate towards Western Digital as a preference. They are generally quiet and reliable, certainly I have never had one fail and indeed one I own is now a grand 9 years old and still going strong (obviously no sensitive data stored on it any more!)

I replaced a "Blue Caviar" drive with this item which...
Published 16 months ago by badlymademan

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DOA
Ordered well in advance of use then found the drive was dead so I was too late to send back.
Published 19 months ago by Mal


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Hard Drive - Poor Packaging, 3 May 2013
By 
badlymademan (Shropshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 500GB Desktop SATA Hard Drive OEM - Black (Personal Computers)
I've had many makes of hard drive over the years but seem to migrate towards Western Digital as a preference. They are generally quiet and reliable, certainly I have never had one fail and indeed one I own is now a grand 9 years old and still going strong (obviously no sensitive data stored on it any more!)

I replaced a "Blue Caviar" drive with this item which is the faster "Black". It features double the processing power on the built-in controller and is consequently much quicker to grab and write data. An added bonus is that it also runs more coolly. The previous "Blue" ran at an average 29-30c whereas the "Black" is running at about 26c. Over time too much heat kills electronics so this is good.

In operation the drive is as quiet as the "Blue" and once up to operating speed can rarely be heard. My personal advice would be to use some kind of rubber washer mountings in your case just to insulate the drive further. It doesn't need it but will benefit from it.

The only bad thing about this purchase was the packaging. It wasn't the lovely foam-padded box in the product photos. Mine came in an OEM cardboard box - no Amazon outer at all - held in place within the box by two rigid plastic inserts. Luckily the drive doesn't seem to have suffered but it caused me great concern when it arrived. I would happily pay just a little more for the Amazon card outer of old or for some of that foam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So Quick, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 500GB Desktop SATA Hard Drive OEM - Black (Personal Computers)
I chose this hard drive because it scored very highly on benchmarks. I was not disappointed. I'm running Windows 7 with an average amount of programmes on start-up. My pc boots to a use-able desktop in 14 seconds.

One problem, the packaging needs some attention. It came in a box no bigger than the hdd itself with no additional packaging to cushion it from knocks. It could have been so easily rendered useless during transit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WD 500Gb HDD, 29 Mar 2014
By 
K. W. Maeer (Lincoln, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 500GB Desktop SATA Hard Drive OEM - Black (Personal Computers)
I have found that the Western Digital Black hard drives are superior to all others i have tried. These were good value and have already been incorporated into my system. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sorted, 29 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. G. Mangham (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 500GB Desktop SATA Hard Drive OEM - Black (Personal Computers)
i always use mech drives for my OS and this more than capable for my needs good read and write speeds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent HDD, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 500GB Desktop SATA Hard Drive OEM - Black (Personal Computers)
This hard drive is very quiet and very fast. Worth the money. I recommend this Hard drive if you are looking for a fast and reliable hdd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Solid drive. Literally., 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 500GB Desktop SATA Hard Drive OEM - Black (Personal Computers)
Just from the weight of the drive i could tell it was going to be good quality, felt very solid and sturdy. Should last a good few years! performs very well too - not as well as an SSD, but for the price this is definitely the way to go. I'd rather spend a little more on a drive tha'll last years, so this is perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 500GB Desktop SATA Hard Drive OEM - Black (Personal Computers)
Super fast and surprisingly quiet. I used this for my first build and it works like a dream. Would recommend this to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So far so good, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 500GB Desktop SATA Hard Drive OEM - Black (Personal Computers)
Western Digital Black - 500GB Desktop SATA Hard Drive - OEM

Using this in a caddy as i filled a previous drive ..Caddy does not have a fan but didn't even get warm while moving over nearly 300gb ..i always use WD raptor 10,000rpm usually.. but in this case i went with the black for stability and low heat for an external 2nd back up .. its slightly more expensive .. but if you want reliability .. you pay a little extra right. Packaging was acceptable .. delivery time was a day quicker than stated .. Thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WD Caviar Black-500GB, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 500GB Desktop SATA Hard Drive OEM - Black (Personal Computers)
The disk drive seems much faster than my (crashed) drive.The price was very reasonable,it has a 5 year guarantee and it arrived ahead of suggested date.Too early to say how reliable it is going to be but other reviews have been favourable.
The only slight hiccup was getting it registered on the WD website (not amazon's fault).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 17 Mar 2013
By 
Lee (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 500GB Desktop SATA Hard Drive OEM - Black (Personal Computers)
Drive is perfectly fast, runs quietly and I have had no problems with it. I've seen a lot of reviews from people receiving dead or faulty drives but mine works just fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WD 500GB Desktop SATA Hard Drive OEM - Black
£52.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews