Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it
Excellent book , didn't expect 80% of it to happen! enjoyed it all, Amy cross never fails to impress x
Published 12 months ago by Leanne allen

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lots of potential
I've now read three collections from this author. I'm still not sure how she writes her books. She implies on her website that she prefers the episodic nature of the soap type genre but as the other reviewer states she doesn't seem to link the episodes and creates inconsistencies. This series had potential and I liked the storyline and the ending and have now learnt to...
Published on 29 July 2012 by Valveguy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lots of potential, 29 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghosts: The Complete Series (Kindle Edition)
I've now read three collections from this author. I'm still not sure how she writes her books. She implies on her website that she prefers the episodic nature of the soap type genre but as the other reviewer states she doesn't seem to link the episodes and creates inconsistencies. This series had potential and I liked the storyline and the ending and have now learnt to look past the spelling and grammatical errors. This author appears to have a talent for writing good fantasy stories but without planning and with the apparent quick turnaround leading to too many plot and grammar errors she is selling herself short and letting down potential readers. Having said all this it is worth reading if you are prepared to overlook inconsistencies and it does have fewer errors than the previous collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You get what you pay for, 12 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghosts: The Complete Series (Kindle Edition)
Well, you get what you pay for, I picked them because they were cheap. These books could be good. Could.

I decided to read through till the end before I put a final judgement on them, but I have to say, they aren't worth it. They feel more like rough outlines for books, not even a draft. They lack detail, emotion, a real plot line and the writer can't even stick to her own rules in her books. For example, ghosts can't touch things and interact with the living, remember their deaths in one book, and then several books later they can do all three. There are obvious plot holes and it's incredibly off putting, it's like a five year old was told to write a story when they really didn't want to.

The characters have no personalities or emotions which on a few occasions led me to become confused when the characters POV's switched. I mean, you've just died / watch someone be killed, why no reaction? And why does every female character call everyone 'honey' and why does EVERY character say at least once 'Damn it all'.

The lack of detail is really off putting. Some of these scenes could be incredibly epic if fleshed out, but Cross goes for less than the basics. Without giving anything away, characters obviously die and they all experience things for the first time; surely they'd feel the need to look around occasionally? Plus, they are constantly stating they have all the time in the world, they have time to talk about how they're feeling, what's around them, who they're with, all that kind of stuff, but no, no they do not.

I'm giving it two stars as like I said, I got what I paid for, I wasn't expecting the next Harry Potter, Twilight, Bible and whatever other bestsellers you want to add in. I was however expecting something that could pass as a thought out story, so based on that, two stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Strange, 30 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghosts: The Complete Series (Kindle Edition)
I found this book to be very strange, and also uninvolving. All the chapters were written by various different characters in the first person, so sorting out the different voices was quite a puzzle. Suffice it to say that God, Satan, an Angel, sundry Old Testament characters and various children were involved, all of them alive, dead or ghosts at different times..Other characters would appear in the narrative then disappear for no logical reason and without moving the story on. Even the main characters showed very little emotion or any surprise at what happened to them. I don't think the author cared either, it seemed as if she was just ticking off a list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghosts: The Complete Series (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book , didn't expect 80% of it to happen! enjoyed it all, Amy cross never fails to impress x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 12 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghosts: The Complete Series (Kindle Edition)
This book of short stories was a quick read and was just for a quick scare to share at Halloween, not all stories that scary some gory. Was not gripping edge of seat stuff, but I enjoyed it non the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Ghosts, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghosts: The Complete Series (Kindle Edition)
Interesting concept involved in these stories, but I liked it, and the pace kept going all the way through. I read the complete series, which I was grateful for, as the individual books themselves may not make sense on their own! Buy as a series would be my recommendation. I have also read • Dark Season: The Complete First Series (All 8 books) by the same author and enjoyed that too, and have downloaded the further two series of that one as well.
Amy Cross has an interesting way of writing in the first person, which takes a bit of getting used to, but enables you to get inside the head of that particular character who is narrating at the time.
Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars i like them, 18 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghosts: The Complete Series (Kindle Edition)
This is an amazing value for your money 8 books....... would recommend to read I would read more from This author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing writer, 6 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghosts: The Complete Series (Kindle Edition)
I'm hooked on her style of writing, so many twists and turns, brilliant characters and story lines. Highly recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Ghosts, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghosts: The Complete Series (Kindle Edition)
It was slow and uninteresting wasn't what a thought it was going to be, not my kind of book after all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ghosts Amy Cross, 21 July 2013
This review is from: Ghosts: The Complete Series (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoying this book, I'm still reading it and can't put it down. I love the story line and would recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghosts: The Complete Series
£2.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews