Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Come on, Andy!
I bought this book, not having read much of Scalzi's previous work, mainly for its intriguing premise. What if, several centuries in the future, in a universe somewhat like that of "Star Trek" - starships, a galactic federation, aliens, diplomacy, space battles - the junior crew (and in particular, Ensign Andy Dahl) on one of those ships start to ask awkward questions -...
Published on 19 Jun 2012 by D. Harris

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting idea but terrible execution
I had high hopes for this book, having seen it was on a few 'Best of..' lists. Certainly the premise appealed to me as a fan of Sci-Fi shows and Star Trek in particular. Sadly it was a poor book. It is written almost entirely in dialogue, with each speech bubble being followed by a 'said SO-AND-SO.' After a while that gets really irritating.

'Shall we go down...
Published 16 months ago by dirkfeelgood


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother - even if you are a trekkie, 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Redshirts (Paperback)
Great idea but so badly written, Every other sentence was, he said, then she said, then he said etc So poorly written that even as a a trekkie I only made it through the first couple of chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book great concept, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Redshirts (Kindle Edition)
Great book great concept...not written brilliantly in parts, and introduces too many characters at once, but it makes up these faults with the comedey and storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining But Lacks Depth, 12 Feb 2013
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Redshirts (Kindle Edition)
I read very few pure sci-fi books. Peter F. Hamilton usually gets a look-in, although his recent novels have been less than wonderful, and I'll try the odd other writer from time to time. John Scalzi is about the only writer of what I would describe as 'space operas' who I will happily read no matter what the subject matter. From Agent to the Stars to Old Man's War and Fuzzy Nation, he hasn't produced a bad book yet. Plus his blog, 'Whatever', is consistently entertaining.

However, I would have to say that 'Redshirts' is one of his weaker efforts. It's not a bad book, just not up there with Old Man's War and The Android's Dream, two of my favourites. Its definitely more of a Zoe's Tale in terms of quality.

My problem with Redshirts is that one of the key things that make Scalzi's best works so enjoyable is missing. One of the reasons that I find his novels accessible is the fact that he writes great characters, instilling them with genuine humanity even when they aren't actually human. There are no cliched 'lantern jawed heroes' or Han Solo-esque rip-offs in Scalzi novels; just real people in unreal situations getting on with their jobs as best they can, grounding the books otherwise fantastical premises and making them relatable.

Redshirts follows that trend almost to an extreme, with the average Joe on-board ship being thrust front and centre. What it fails to do however, is provide any of the eponymous 'Redshirts' with any real depth. In fact none of the characters are given much character development and remain at best two dimensional.

The result is a book that is undoubtedly clever (although it does feel a bit like a rip-off of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead mixed with elements of the movie Galaxy Quest [Blu-ray]), amusing if not laugh-out loud funny, and consistently entertaining, but one that lacks genuine depth. It feels like the author was focused on trying to prove how clever he can be with ideas of narrative interconnectedness and satire, but in doing so forgot to include real emotion. The plot works like clockwork, but at no point did I really care about any of the characters on the page.

As a result the best I feel able to award Redshirts is 3 stars. Its still a good book, but I know that John Scalzi can and has produced stuff that is so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Redshirts (Kindle Edition)
Incredibly funny, thought provoking and thanks to that final coda - extremely emotional. I would recommend this book to absolutely anybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read if you're a Sci-fi fan, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Redshirts (Kindle Edition)
Great read if you're a Sci-fi fan, I found it really enjoyable from start to finish and it's made me hunt out other books by John Scalzi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed, 13 Nov 2014
By 
C. Jack "colinjack" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Redshirts (Kindle Edition)
The first two thirds are good but the last third is awful, it really disappears up its own behind. Pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 4 Nov 2014
By 
Peter Debney (Ilkley, Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Redshirts (Paperback)
A good read though not an outstanding one. I suspect that it won the Hugo for the last two codas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars My hero falls flat, 10 Jan 2013
By 
M. Olbrich "SciFi Rules 1" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Redshirts (Paperback)
I devour Scalzi books with gusto. Great characters, goodly helping of humour or most probably a clear reading about all our dreams of the future in space. This one however is a huge let down. Somehow he seems to try tto hard to suck up to the film industry (be it TV version on this occassion). Numerous references to himself as script writer leave bad taste in my mouth. I wish him every success of course and can't wait for new 'proper' books but why should I be made to spend money on what is a glorified CV builder? Compared to other books characters are not fully defined, plot borders on ridiculous from the first page - when we still don't know his real agenda. Why on Earth would the flagship battle cruiser be allowed to be run by obvious iditiots and psychopaths? Of course penny drops soon after but by then the book was bought we're stuck with the dilemma of putting it away or suffering this nonsense some more. That said we are all allowed one mistake. John has done his. All is forgiven, let's get a good 'un next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Redshirts (Kindle Edition)
Excellent parody of Star Trek with a bit extra!

Another excellent book from John Scalzi! Excellent author, cant ask for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars more than the sum of its parts, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Redshirts (Kindle Edition)
Bought as an easy read I was pleasantly surprised to find this turning into something more ... its in part a satire of lazy sci-fi but, at the same time, an ode to love. By the end of the novel you're dealing with something altogether more layered than before. You, along with the eponymous final ‘author ‘ have shared a life. More than just a red shirt ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews