Customer Reviews


511 Reviews
5 star:
 (392)
4 star:
 (81)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Speedy for greedy...
We've had a few different types of in-car chargers and they've all either broken within a couple of uses or they were painfully slow (or didn't work at all) with power-greedy iPad and newer iPhones. However, the 3A of available charge in this PowerGen one means it's a super-fast charger for iPads (compared to standard ones), it really does make a difference. It's also...
Published on 14 Jan. 2013 by techpuppy

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not impressed
Bought this item to charge my nexus 10 @ 2.1a and galaxy nexus @ 1a but it does not output the specified ampage as it says it will charge both at the same time but it only out puts a maximum of 2.5 amp so charging of my galaxy nexus is slow (slower than USB ~200ma)but charging my nexus 10 is ok I just wanted a car charger that charged both at there respected outputs so I...
Published 22 months ago by Jack


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Speedy for greedy..., 14 Jan. 2013
This review is from: PowerGen Dual USB 4.2A 20W Car Charger for Apple iPhone 6 Plus, 6 iPhone 5S 5 4S, iPad Air, mini; Android Phones: Samsung Galaxy S5 S4 S3; Note 4, 3, 2, Tab; HTC One (M8) Google Nexus and Sony [Designed for Apple and Android Devices] (USB Cable NOT included) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
We've had a few different types of in-car chargers and they've all either broken within a couple of uses or they were painfully slow (or didn't work at all) with power-greedy iPad and newer iPhones. However, the 3A of available charge in this PowerGen one means it's a super-fast charger for iPads (compared to standard ones), it really does make a difference. It's also fine with other, less greedy, devices too and they have their own 'NA' socket (presumable NA is Non-Apple?) and although you can use both sockets at once this does slow down the overall speed of charging.

It has a chunky, solid look and seems well-made. There's a red LED which lights when connected to power - not sure what purpose it serves except to locate the charger in a dark car but it isn't bright enough to be distracting when driving at night. It would be nice if the 'A' and 'NA' ports were more clearly labelled, so you don't feel you need to pull it out of the socket to check which is which, but you soon get used to it. I've come to prefer this style of adaptor with just USB sockets, rather than the cable adaptors we had before and which kept breaking. You'll probably have your device USB cable with you anyway, so your recharge problems are solved in a simple speedy way. (Device was received FoC for review.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What the cigarette Lighter was made for!, 2 Dec. 2012
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: PowerGen Dual USB 4.2A 20W Car Charger for Apple iPhone 6 Plus, 6 iPhone 5S 5 4S, iPad Air, mini; Android Phones: Samsung Galaxy S5 S4 S3; Note 4, 3, 2, Tab; HTC One (M8) Google Nexus and Sony [Designed for Apple and Android Devices] (USB Cable NOT included) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
This is just so simple and yet so good. It is a double USB portal that fits in the cigarette lighter. It works with anything that uses a USB port to charge including IPods and Kindles as well as a whole slew of other things, I have used it in three cars including a Mini (new one), Transit, Vauxhall Astra and I lent it to a friend who has a Seat and he didn't want to give it back, so I am thinking it must have done the trick.

You can also charge two things at the same time but the ports are for different items, the A portal is for iPad, iPhone and ipods and the NA is for iphone and all other devices, if you use the wrong one it will work but just take longer. However the total output is limited to 3.1 Amps and so if charging two then that will be split, also comes with a 12 month warranty. All in all a great little product that looks good and does the job, recommended.

Note: received in exchange for an honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PowerGen Dual USB 4.2A 20W Car Charger for Apple iPhone 6 Plus, 6 iPhone 5S 5 4S, iPad Air, mini; Android Phones: Samsung Galaxy S5 S4 S3; Note 4, 3, 2, Tab; HTC One (M8) Google Nexus and Sony [Designed for Apple and Android Devices] (USB Cable NOT included) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I have used this charger in the car for my iPhone while using a Sat Nav app and it kept it fully charged. It seems to do what I needed (though I have not used it with my ipad3 yet which is really why I bought it). I have ordered another one this morning for my dad as I am confident in it's capabilities to charge his ipad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PowerGen Car Charger for Apple iPhone/iPad, 30 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PowerGen Dual USB 4.2A 20W Car Charger for Apple iPhone 6 Plus, 6 iPhone 5S 5 4S, iPad Air, mini; Android Phones: Samsung Galaxy S5 S4 S3; Note 4, 3, 2, Tab; HTC One (M8) Google Nexus and Sony [Designed for Apple and Android Devices] (USB Cable NOT included) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
This is the third product of this type I have tried in the last couple of years. Previous ones have either popped out the socket or been very inconsistent in charging, requiring constant fiddling around to connect, drove me nuts!! This piece of kit worked the first time and continues to do so, without any fiddling around. Would recommend it.Have only used on my iPhone don't tend to travel around with my iPad, see no reason why the performance should be any different with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PowerGen Dual USB 4.2A 20W Car Charger for Apple iPhone 6 Plus, 6 iPhone 5S 5 4S, iPad Air, mini; Android Phones: Samsung Galaxy S5 S4 S3; Note 4, 3, 2, Tab; HTC One (M8) Google Nexus and Sony [Designed for Apple and Android Devices] (USB Cable NOT included) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
a great little charger, i can use my iphone for sat nav while driving and using bluetooth for phone all while my wife is charging and using her ipad, at the end of the journey the iphone and ipad are fully charged ready for use when we get to our destination. It is of good quality, fits nice and just looks good to do the job, "and it does" unlike other makes which are more expensive yet fail time and time again. Save your money and buy this, you won't reget it. I don't normally leave reviews but this product really deserves it. PowerGen Dual USB 3.6A 18w Car Charger for Apple iPad 1, iPad 2, The New iPad 3, iPad mini, iPhone 5 4s 4 3 3Gs, Android Phones, Samsung Galaxy Tab, Google Nexus 7, Nexus 4, Nexus 10 (USB Cable NOT included) - WHITE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not impressed, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PowerGen Dual USB 4.2A 20W Car Charger for Apple iPhone 6 Plus, 6 iPhone 5S 5 4S, iPad Air, mini; Android Phones: Samsung Galaxy S5 S4 S3; Note 4, 3, 2, Tab; HTC One (M8) Google Nexus and Sony [Designed for Apple and Android Devices] (USB Cable NOT included) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Bought this item to charge my nexus 10 @ 2.1a and galaxy nexus @ 1a but it does not output the specified ampage as it says it will charge both at the same time but it only out puts a maximum of 2.5 amp so charging of my galaxy nexus is slow (slower than USB ~200ma)but charging my nexus 10 is ok I just wanted a car charger that charged both at there respected outputs so I didn't have to keep swapping the USB lead about.....not impressed!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Durable and good quality product, 27 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PowerGen Dual USB 4.2A 20W Car Charger for Apple iPhone 6 Plus, 6 iPhone 5S 5 4S, iPad Air, mini; Android Phones: Samsung Galaxy S5 S4 S3; Note 4, 3, 2, Tab; HTC One (M8) Google Nexus and Sony [Designed for Apple and Android Devices] (USB Cable NOT included) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Delivered as promised, just tried once to make sure it is working. When inserted it glows a gentle red light to confirm power is available. Feels solid and well built so expect it to last. I've been looking for a in-car charger, after reading the excellent reviews bought one and like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 21 Jun. 2013
By 
Ollie (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: PowerGen Dual USB 4.2A 20W Car Charger for Apple iPhone 6 Plus, 6 iPhone 5S 5 4S, iPad Air, mini; Android Phones: Samsung Galaxy S5 S4 S3; Note 4, 3, 2, Tab; HTC One (M8) Google Nexus and Sony [Designed for Apple and Android Devices] (USB Cable NOT included) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
As devices get more and more power hungry nowadays, most of the chargers (even wall chargers) are just not powerful enough to adequately charge one device, let alone two. This one does the job brilliantly!
iPad in A port
Blackberry in NA port
and my Android devices (Nexus 4 and 7 and wife's S3) in either one of those.

Not going to go into all mA and A explanation, but be assured it charges while you are using the device too, unlike many others.

Highly, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Product, 14 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PowerGen Dual USB 4.2A 20W Car Charger for Apple iPhone 6 Plus, 6 iPhone 5S 5 4S, iPad Air, mini; Android Phones: Samsung Galaxy S5 S4 S3; Note 4, 3, 2, Tab; HTC One (M8) Google Nexus and Sony [Designed for Apple and Android Devices] (USB Cable NOT included) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I haven't had this PowerGen Dual USB charger long, but seems to work ok, very handy having a double charger we have had two phones charging at the same time and they both charged ok. Product looks good, good fit in the cigarette lighter. It's got a 12 months guarantee so you can't go wrong. Delivery was very quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for Nexus 7, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PowerGen Dual USB 4.2A 20W Car Charger for Apple iPhone 6 Plus, 6 iPhone 5S 5 4S, iPad Air, mini; Android Phones: Samsung Galaxy S5 S4 S3; Note 4, 3, 2, Tab; HTC One (M8) Google Nexus and Sony [Designed for Apple and Android Devices] (USB Cable NOT included) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
With the Nexus 7 used in the car with Route 66 navigation software the Nexus 7 will deplete the battery rather than charge it. 45 minutes drive resulted a 31% to 19% drop. I used OEM cable. By way the most energy was used by the screen.

I'm sure otherwise it's good charger however it does not work well enough with my Nexus 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews