Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars1,716
4.5 out of 5 stars
Size: 1TB|Style Name: 7200RPM|Change
Price:£39.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 April 2015
Firstly the drive itself. In my experience you'll nearly always get a slight hum / vibration when a HDD spins at anything over 5400rpm, as far as 7200rpm drives go, this is a quiet one. How your drive is attached to your chassis / case will have a big bearing on what reaches your ear.

The wake up times are very good when compared to a Caviar Green, so it's good for an everyday storage drive for say downloads etc as there's very little pause when waking after the drive been put to sleep to save power etc, say 1-2 seconds compared to say 6 with a Green. All in all, I definitely recommend this drive, especially for the price. Obviously the only thing that matches an SSD is an SSD but as far as transfer speeds go, I was getting around 120-130mb/sec sustained when moving large files across internal mechanical drives.

Now why only 3 stars? Well I went to register the drive and check the warranty. I'd had the drive about 2 days, ran the serial and it came back as having about 5 months remaining out of the 24 months you get with a new Blue drive! I queried this with Western Digital, they revealed what I already suspected... I had been sold a recertified drive. These are basically knackered drives that Western Digital then refurbish and put back out, usually for resellers to flog at a discounted rate. The fact they only give them 6 months warranty says allot. The fact that the seller puts them out as a new drive also says allot.

So the moral is, make sure when buying that your drive is DISPATCHED FROM AND SOLD BY AMAZON themselves and not a third party seller. Even if it's fulfilled by Amazon it can still be sold by a third party.

I returned the drive for a refund and purchased a new drive from Amazon themselves, this time with a full warranty. I have attached images showing the differences between the two drives. The most obvious being the difference in the stickers, the brand new drive has the Blue sticker, the recertified has a black sticker, but both have the same part number. There's also a shot of the faint 'Recertified' stamp that I missed when fitting (*face palm*) hopefully this review will help people avoid being fleeced by unscrupulous sellers charging the same for a refurbished unit with a dead warranty as a brand new unit with a 2 year warranty.
review image review image
1313 comments|301 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
arrived quickly, easy to install, holds 1tb of data, has not exploded and killed my family. Until I've had it a few years can't speak to the reliability.
99 comments|132 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
Does the job black WD HHD probably would of been best as there a little faster i believe but as this was cheap priced at £49.99 i couldn't really argue with that. My games run fine with it and most of my games are with steam so steam is installed on this drive so I'm happy with it but as people have already mentioned it will probably be my last HHD due to the SSD dropping slowly in price so i will invest in something like that in the near later future. But as for now my 120gb SSD for boot and programs and HHD for Games and larger programs.

A Note for new builders Remember to go through a New volume setup and then format the hard drive.
type this in the search bar diskmgmt.msc for windows 7 users probably same for windows 8 and other OS your see the drives in there and just right click on the new drive and your see what you got to do from there as stated above. Hope this helps non experienced people
66 comments|61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
ordered this hard drive turned out to be faulty.had it replaced with another one,4 months down the line, faulty again.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
Bought one of these and as soon as I installed it, it reported SMART errors. I requested a replacement and the same happened. Both manufactured on 5th July 2014 so assuming it's a bad batch, but enough to put me off.
22 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
arrived fairly quickly and works. However this is not a new drive and nowhere in the avert does it make it clear that it wasn't new. What is even more worrying is that the hard drive wasn't even wiped it already had a installed copy of windows 8 with the files of the last user, honestly if this wasn't the case i would probably would of not known it was an old hardisk. This is lazy work and more importantly irresponsible practices by this company.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2012
Old drive on my desktop started clattering and occasionally saying unable to find boot drive. This hard drive was larger than the original but took the ghosted copy of the system and worked first time. Now giving silent and speedy service.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 14 February 2016
Up until a few years ago i exclusively used Samsung Spinpoint Hard Drives simply because they were competitively prices, reliable and were quiet in operation. Sadly with Samsung moving to SSD production they have since stopped producing 3.5" drives and now only make 2.5" designed for laptops.

Whenever i build a PC (either for myself or a customer) and mass storage is required then Western Digital Blue is the only range i now use. The "Blue" range is suppose to be Western Digitals all purpose Hard Drive. So far they seem reliable and are well priced and run at 7200RPM with 64mb cache. This particular HDD uses SATA-III (6GB/s) and conforms to the 3.5" drive standard. While there are some MINOR differences between this and the black (some internal structure looks different) speed wise they perform near identical. Indeed the reason why the Western Digital Blacks cost so much is because they have an extended warranty of 5 years as opposed to 2 years you get with the blue!

VERDICT: Use a small SSD for your main boot drive containing the OS, then add one of these to hold all your games and music. It's a great combination. This is a OEM edition meaning you literally get the Hard Drive in the box and nothing else so ensure you have a spare SATA data cable. For the Money these are great!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
I purchased this WD Hard drive as a new item to discover it was used and defective. The repair shop technician was surprised to note the shoddy packaging, the fingerprints and the severe scratches on the surface.In fact it is in a worse condition than the one being replaced. Amazon beware of your clients and their business practices. I will be more cautious in future when buying anything from your site. Buyer beware. I see I must give a star rating so 1 star is all I can give It should be minus 5 stars
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
Had to send back after only 2 months as drive failed
22 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 217 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)