Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best read after knowing your stuff
This is the authors 2nd book about Loki and the Norse Gods, and as my review title states it's best you read this after reading "Loki". The author himself even mentions this in a review note at the end! The main idea of this book is to have some amusing short stories about the tricker God's life in the run up to Ragnarok, where the stories naturally take a darker...
Published 17 months ago by Li-Kun

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe this book is by the same author!
I had ordered this slim volume at around the same time as Mike Vasich's entirely enjoyable 'Loki', and I simply can't believe this book is written by the same author. Whereas 'Loki' delighted with beautiful language, entirely suitable to Norse tales, these 'Nine Naughty Tales' are written in colloquial language which - for me - simply doesn't gel with the book's...
Published 15 months ago by H. O'Sullivan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best read after knowing your stuff, 6 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the authors 2nd book about Loki and the Norse Gods, and as my review title states it's best you read this after reading "Loki". The author himself even mentions this in a review note at the end! The main idea of this book is to have some amusing short stories about the tricker God's life in the run up to Ragnarok, where the stories naturally take a darker turn.
Unlike his personality in "Loki", Loki in this set of stories is a lot more lustful, which some fans will no doubt enjoy. The majority of the other Gods and Goddess are the same in fact- sex never really being far from their minds. Although this is needed in some places, for example, when he goes to Jotunheim with Angrboda and when he lays with the mason's horse, in other places it feels a little bit like fan service.
There's some hilarious scenes, however, such as Sif's rambling metaphor about Leeks and Onions and Thor's predicament after the Lay of Thrym and all in all it's a very good book to read.

My only....concern... with this book is the ending. Although something Loki would no doubt find to be the ultimate prank the use of the birth of Christianity might be a little bit too close to the nerve for some readers. I was left unsure about my opinion on it and others may feel the same. Plus on a more scholarly note it completely changes Loki's fate in Ragnarok which is a bit annoying really.

Well worth a read, but read "Loki" first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe this book is by the same author!, 3 Feb. 2014
By 
H. O'Sullivan (Co. Kerry, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had ordered this slim volume at around the same time as Mike Vasich's entirely enjoyable 'Loki', and I simply can't believe this book is written by the same author. Whereas 'Loki' delighted with beautiful language, entirely suitable to Norse tales, these 'Nine Naughty Tales' are written in colloquial language which - for me - simply doesn't gel with the book's characters. 'Loki' is a lovingly written book, full of carefully constructed sentences and perfectly crafted chapters. The 'Naughty Tales', however, makes a very slap-dash impression on me and I am thoroughly disappointed with it.

Had it been well written, I probably would have enjoyed these nine short stories of Asgardian soft porn, but as it is, I don't even feel like gifting this book to my local charity shop. Pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantabbie, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loki: Nine Naughty Tales of the Trickster (Kindle Edition)
Some great works of Loki, interesting spin of with the ending and the new christian religion. I do love to imagine him as Tom Hiddleston though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 30 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well who doesn't Loki? Wonderful little trickster that he is. And it was great to learn more about some of the mischief he made before Stan Lee and Joss Whedon had him unleash all kindsa hell this year so that was a treasure to read.

Very well writen and interesting take on the legends and I enjoyed every moment of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loki: Nine Naughty Tales of the Trickster (Kindle Edition)
Definitely best to read this after reading Loki. This book goes into much more detail about how Loki's mind works. Love how it ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chuckle, 24 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loki: Nine Naughty Tales of the Trickster (Kindle Edition)
Well if you ever wondered why the Loki was looked at as being mischievious....read this little offering its great, if you cant laugh then dont bother
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loki's trouble knows no bounds in this retelling, 2 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loki: Nine Naughty Tales of the Trickster (Kindle Edition)
Another thrilling piece of writing from Mike Vasich, taken from the old legends of all the trouble Loki causes. Really brings this fascinating character who is full of facets to life for the reader. Especially in the Loki-horse escapade. Only flaw was the final piece dealing which put a spin on the rising of christianity which may disturb and even anger a few people who read it. Although I must admitt (even though it did not quite match the ending of the novel Loki) it is something his character could have gotten away with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews