Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First black vocal group to become major stars
In the fifties, it was hard for black singers to sell music to white record buyers, but the Platters managed to do just that, thus helping to blaze the trail for the many others that followed. Some of their songs were covers of songs from the thirties and forties, suitably updated for the fifties. Some people mistakenly think of songs such as Smoke gets in your eyes and...
Published on 1 Mar 2005 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In my view not as original as depicted
The photograph on the cover of this CD is from an LP on a MERCURY label that I bought in 1958,most of the recordings on this CD differ from the origional.I played the LP so much, it is now unplayable. When I saw The photograph I expected to hear the origional tracks, DISSAPOINTED but Ill still play this CD,The PLATTERS are ageless, and the lyrics are just as special...
Published 23 months ago by johns view


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First black vocal group to become major stars, 1 Mar 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In the fifties, it was hard for black singers to sell music to white record buyers, but the Platters managed to do just that, thus helping to blaze the trail for the many others that followed. Some of their songs were covers of songs from the thirties and forties, suitably updated for the fifties. Some people mistakenly think of songs such as Smoke gets in your eyes and Harbor lights (both dating from the thirties) as being Platters originals - I was among them for many years.
The Platters were much more successful in America than in Britain, but the few UK hits that they had have left a lasting impression. The great pretender (a 1987 top five UK hit for Freddie Mercury), Smoke gets in your eyes (a 1974 top twenty UK hit for Bryan Ferry) and Only you (a minor hit for several artists down the years) have all charted for other artists since the Platters charted with them in the fifties.
Although this is the first of two volumes, it contains all of their most famous recordings, whether they are originals or covers. Apart from those already mentioned, their other British hits include Twilight time, My praer, You'll never never know, I'm sorry and Remember when. The only one not here is It isn't right - it was the flip side of You'll never never know and you can find it on volume 2.
If you just want a single CD containing their important tracks, this will do. If you enjoy it enough, you can always buy volume 2 later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the best of..., 22 April 2007
By 
Ronald Van Scherpenzeel (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This wonderful "cheap" Spectrum compilation of the authentic 50's

Platters is a real treasure. The absolutely best DooWop group of all

times (with the best black voice ever of Tony Williams) can be found

on this CD with unbeatable quality. More than half of the Platters'

Greatest are in full stereo although we're still in the fifties!!

All the charting hits are there. This is a "must" for all record

collectors!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Original Recordings, 1 April 2007
These are the original recordings with the great Tony Williams on lead vocals, the cd bears a Spectrum logo which is owned by Universal Music which in turn owns the Platters "Mercury" recordings fron 1955-1961 which is ther classic period, a great cheep cd with all the major recordings, agreat listen from start to end clocking in at 47 mins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value Collection, 30 Aug 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're looking to reprise The Platters' 1950's Mercury hits on CD, you won't go far wrong with this collection. These are the original recordings featuring the recognised lineup of Tony Williams, Zola Taylor, Herb Reed, David Lynch and Paul Robi.

This is the quintessential vocal group sound of the era, complete with tinkling piano and some great saxophone fill-ins and solos. Williams' superb lead vocals are solidly backed up by his colleagues. The inclusion of Zola Taylor was not just for her good looks - she was an accomplished vocalist in her own right, and is a featured soloist on other Platters albums ("The Flying Platters" for example).

The group would not have achieved what they did without the massive input of songwriter/arranger/producer/manager Buck Ram, who wrote several of their big hits and was the driving force behind their success. It was simply a question of the right songs at the right time. As well as his originals like "Only You", "The Great Pretender", "The Magic Touch" and "Twilight Time", Ram selected standards like "My Prayer", "Smoke Gets In Your Eyes", "Harbour Lights", and "Red Sails In The Sunset" and breathed new life into them.

Inevitably, as time passed, The Platters' golden era came to an end and there were personnel changes. It's a question of "buyer beware" - there are reissues on various labels which, although competently done, do not feature the classic Platters performances usually associated with the Mercury label.

Whether you're an ageing aficionado like myself, or a younger listener curious to know what The Platters were all about, go out and get this CD and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Satisfied Customer, 4 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. M. J. Reynolds "M J Reynolds" (Nantwich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this at the request of a friend of my mum's. She lives in a nursing home and has taken an interest in revisiting music of her youth. I've bought several CDs on her behalf but as she and my mum listened to this one she said "It's the best yet". It brought back memories of dancing with her husband when they were both young. She said to mum, "after you go I listen to it again and have a good cry." Her husband had died several years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love music at it's best, 29 Mar 2003
This review is from: The Best of (Audio CD)
if you haven't listened to the platters on a romantic evening, then you are defenitley missing out. Quiet doo wop sounds that are for the young and old for that special evening. a reall smoochey record I recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In my view not as original as depicted, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The photograph on the cover of this CD is from an LP on a MERCURY label that I bought in 1958,most of the recordings on this CD differ from the origional.I played the LP so much, it is now unplayable. When I saw The photograph I expected to hear the origional tracks, DISSAPOINTED but Ill still play this CD,The PLATTERS are ageless, and the lyrics are just as special. Incidently the CD that was delivered has a slightly different photograph, the origional LP, just for the record, (sorry for the pun) had -- GLORY OF LOVE and BEWITCHED BOTHERED AND BEWILDERED. A bit like me when I played this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who could dislike the Platters?, 24 April 2011
Today the Platters are a franchise same as the Drifters.When they appeared here in Blackpool not one member had even been born at the time of their hits
But this is the real ones who'd once been minor names on the Federal label before their manager Buck Ram blackmailed Mercury into signing them as part of the deal to get the Penguins (who remained the One Hit Wonders they'd always been)
They began with a remake of a Federal song-Only you (and you alone) followed by The Great Pretender which had a great B side called Bark Battle & Ball.
In the U K both these singles were issued as one with Bark Battle & Ball never seeing light of day.
And that's how legends begin
Take a leter coupling-It Isn't Right/You'll never never know.In an email I sent David Godard of the Aquatones I mentioned that their lone hit YOU (1958,Fargo) began its last verse "It isn't right you'll never know" and he told me the member who wrote the song was thinking of the then new Platters single.
It Isn't Right also became Vera Lynn's rarest single which she recorded for the German market only
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Platters, 4 Oct 2010
A really tremendous CD all original recordings it brought back marvellous memories of how great this group was I actually saw them live in the early 70's Tony Williams in my opinion had the best lead
voice I ever heard and Herb Reed a tremendous base. This group had none of the accoustics that are available today they really had to sing. A must for any music lovers collection. Reggief
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great memories of our music in the late 50's, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are of an age when rock and roll hit GB in the mid to late 50's this will bring a big smile and memories of the time when our music changed out of all recognition. Before, the pirate ship time radio Luxembourg was a major source to most of us trying to catch this new exciting and very different music. This album has some of the great classics of the Platters." Smoke gets in your eye's, Only You and the Great Pretended2 being three of my favorites. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of the Platters
The Best of the Platters by The Platters
Buy MP3 Album£4.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews