Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overview of a vast subject
Kindle edition has photographs

History in an Hour is a series of books which each deal with a big subject in a short and punchy way to give you the grand overview before you delve into other, far more detailed, books.

As with the other books in the series, there is a quick paced overview before a section of biographies about the main people involved...
Published 19 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Russian revolution
Hard going at times but does what it says history in an hour would recommend though to anyone interested in this
Published 1 month ago by Neil


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overview of a vast subject, 24 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Russian Revolution: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
Kindle edition has photographs

History in an Hour is a series of books which each deal with a big subject in a short and punchy way to give you the grand overview before you delve into other, far more detailed, books.

As with the other books in the series, there is a quick paced overview before a section of biographies about the main people involved in the story along with a timeline of events.

The story rapidly moves across Russia and Europe as coup and counter coup, both governmental and internecine, takes effect before finally we are left with Stalin. The book starts in the 1800s with an enlightened Tsar trying to enfranchise the people before everyone misreads everyone else's intentions and events spiral downward towards WW1 and the Bolshevik take over.

It is sometimes hard to keep up with who are in exiled in which country but that only goes to illustrate the size of the subject they have condensed into such a short book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for general grounding, 18 Oct 2012
By 
A. Shepherd (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Russian Revolution: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
I'm a history teacher and learnt at the last minute I'd be teaching the history of Russia which I'd never done before. This was an easy, quick read. My mind didn't drift once (which happens with some history books) and I got a good grounding in the main events of the Russian Rev. Of course it lacks the detail that a student GCSE and above would need, but for a foundation and a feel of the period it was a good starting point
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Rupert Colley, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Russian Revolution: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
These history in an hour books are first class. I've read 12/13 now and enjoyed everyone. I have also gone deeper into some of the subjects raised because these books excite the imagination.

Rupert Colley has written a lot of the history subjects. He does a fine job. No fancy words that have you searching the dictionary. No convoluted sentences that don't make sense. Just straight to the point factual overview of the subject area.

And above all he makes history interesting. After this one I now understand the timeline leading up to the Russian revolution. I have a grasp of the leading figures involved. I also have a newly awakened desire to read further in this area. I just hope the further reading will be as succinct and well written as this book. ( Past experience leads me to expect otherwise).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Russian revolution, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Russian Revolution: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
Hard going at times but does what it says history in an hour would recommend though to anyone interested in this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good introductory guide, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Russian Revolution: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
If you are interested in this period of history try this before one of the bigger tomes, such as Montefiore or Figes. Lots of good information to allow you to five in many directions in depth with other more detailed books. Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Introduction to Russian Revolution, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Russian Revolution: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book to better appreciate Russia's journey in the build up to WWII. This definately helped clarify the main points of the revolution and the proceeding fallout which greatly influenced the major players through the war. Its pretty short but serves as a good introduction, if like me, you have no prior knowledge of the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good bitesized summary, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Russian Revolution: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
This is the first of these books that I have read and it's a good summary of key events and people. I will probably read more in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well written overview, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Russian Revolution: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
The Russian Revolution covers Russian history from the rule of Tsar Nicholas through the failed revolutions of the early 1900s to the triumphant revolution of 1917. Colley writes about the civil unrest in Russia at the time and the mismanagement of this by the Tsar, which led the way for revolutionary groups to gain a foothold. We learn how the Bolsheviks (the party of Lenin and Stalin) went from being a small, fringe group of extremists to the rulers of Russia (aided a bit by the Germans, who wanted Russian anarchy). The Russian Revolution also examines the history of Russia after 1917, how the Reds won the resultant Civil War and how Stalin used Lenin's death to maneuver himself into power, even though he was unpopular.

I was actually very impressed with The Russian Revolution. As it was so cheap, I wasn't expecting much from it, but it exceeded my expectations. I was already familiar with a lot of the history (I studied the Russian Revolution for my GCSE History, but that was years ago!) so it provided an excellent refresher. Although there just isn't the space for anything to be covered in depth, there's a good breadth of information and everything is explained clearly and concisely, something a lot of history writers can struggle with.

The Russian Revolution isn't a book to go to if you are looking for analysis or commentary on historical events. It sticks to the bare outlines of what happened and is good for providing a general overview of a topic. I finished the book eager to read more about the Russian Revolution and I'm already scanning my shelves, trying to decide which book about it I will pick up next. If, like me, you're interested in a topic but feel like you need something introductory before reading a more in depth book on it, the History in an Hour series would make a good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Russian Revolution: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
Knowing little about the Russian revolution this little book gave me an insight into reading more about the Russian revolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Russian revolution in an hour., 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Russian Revolution: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
Just what I want..an insight into history without having to work too hard. Easy to read, easy to understand and easy to remember..Perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafea8fc0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews