Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grown-up but still Anna
This conclusion to a beautiful trilogy catches up with Anna and her family a few years after "Bombs on Aunt Dainty". Anna is now happily married and settled in England with a successful career. Circumstances force her to return for a visit to Berlin where she finds a country that is familiar but will never be home again.

A little more grown-up than the second...
Published on 29 May 2008 by Amzieday

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars wonderful but...
Having read the other books in the trilogy I wanted to know more. There were a few gaps in her life mostly all that happened at Art College and how she met her husband, also what happened to her mother after this story ends. However I did enjoy reading this final part.
Published 20 months ago by Galliard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grown-up but still Anna, 29 May 2008
This conclusion to a beautiful trilogy catches up with Anna and her family a few years after "Bombs on Aunt Dainty". Anna is now happily married and settled in England with a successful career. Circumstances force her to return for a visit to Berlin where she finds a country that is familiar but will never be home again.

A little more grown-up than the second book and a lot more than the first, fans of Judith Kerr and the story of Anna will not be disappointed. The book deals with life after the war and the difficulty of rebuilding a life in a country that has become your home and yet where you will never completely fit in.

Anna's relationship with her family that began to be examined in the second book is looked at in more detail without making the story over-analysed.

Whilst not as compelling and Beautiful a read as 'When Hitler stole Pink Rabbit', the story of Anna is brought to a subtle conclusion whilst still leaving the reader able to imagine how it would continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable!, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been wanting this book to follow on from Judith Kerr's previous ones. Unfortunately my daughter did have them originally
but got rid of them, before I could read the trilogy. Very interesting and well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modest and beautifully crafted finish to Kerr's trilogy, 12 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Small Person Far Away (Kindle Edition)
The final part of Judith Kerr's Out Of The Hitler Time trilogy, A Small Person Far Away, is as splendid and fascinating a piece of autobiography-turned-into-fiction writing as the previous two, When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit (Essential Modern Classics) and Bombs on Aunt Dainty

Judith Kerr (fictionalised as Anna in the book) is now in her late 20s, happily married to her scriptwriter husband Nigel Kneale, (fictionalised as Richard) and beginning to make her own journey as a writer.

The structure of this third book is particularly satisfying, as various motifs and minor occurrences serve as little memory portals back to the past ( a beautiful rug, finding the receipt for the rug in her coat pocket during a particularly stressful episode, so there is a hook back to the memory, and the simultaneous experience of then and now) This is all done in a very natural, unforced, organic way. She is a remarkably good writer, there is real psychological depth going on, great observation, a really strong sense of narrative - and the ability to offer startling images in an arresting way, that feels very authentic.

As in the previous books, the major events all happened, but she has crafted and tightened and carefully chosen, I guess, central moments, and pared out and removed padding. I have a sense that her artist's eye for composition has been put to excellent use in her writing. It's not that she gets involved in a lot of visual description, it's more a sense of composing the frame and placement of narrative.

Set mainly in Berlin again, where her mother is now living, the narrative superficially inhabits a very short time frame of a few days in 1956. Anna has returned to Berlin because her mother is seriously ill; this itself is quite complex. The few days coincide with both the Hungarian Uprising and the Suez Crisis - so, again, we are in a time when another war, from two directions, seemed like a distinct possibility. Inevitably for those who lived through one devastating war, so very recently, all those old terrors and memories must have been freshly re-awakened. So, over those days, Anna is constantly revisiting her past.

"She suddenly remembered that when she was small, too, she had listened to distant trains in bed. Probably it's the same line, she thought. Sometimes when she had found herself awake when everyone else was asleep, she had been comforted by the sound of a goods train rumbling interminably through the night. After Hitler, of course, goods trains had carried quite different cargoes to quite different destinations. She wondered if other German children had still been comforted by their sound in the might, not knowing what was inside them. She wondered what had happened to the trains afterwards, if they were still in use"

I like the quiet and rather modest way she drops the reader into chasms and intense reflections, without ostentation

I can't recommend this trilogy highly enough - and I'm amazed that I had never heard of Kerr until so very recently, when these marvellous books have been around for some time (- perhaps because primarily she became known as a writer and illustrator of books for young children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect pitch, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Small Person Far Away (Kindle Edition)
This one is the story for grownups. I read it immediately after reading Bombs on Aunt Dainty- I read it in a day and a half. Once again, it's a subtle and moving personal story, as well as a totally brilliant depiction of its time and place- post-airlift Berlin, pre-wall but with the cold war running, terrifyingly, at full blast. Kerr's ability to find exactly the incidents and the style to tell her story- no exaggeration but a wonderful ability to make both Anna's Kensington present and her Grunewald memories real, and important, but not mawkish or facile, her sympathy for the late middle aged and ugly, but intelligent, Germans- Kerr's 'perfect pitch', in fact, speaks of a wonderful skill and clarity of thought. It makes me feel that she's a superb *German* author. Anna would hate that description, of course. The closing image- the little girl of the title, in her boots, climbing the steps and asking 'Ist Mami da?' brackets her life and is a proper weepy moment for me.

Terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
By 
G. M. Carley (EU) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Small Person Far Away (Kindle Edition)
The best book I have ever read and i have now bought all three of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Small Person Far Away (Kindle Edition)
I started with when Hitler stole pink rabbit and carried on to the final one. thoroughly enjoyed them all. would recomend
all 3 books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A small person far away, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Small Person Far Away (Kindle Edition)
I gave this book 5 stars because it is totally amazing!I had read the other two books in the series(when hitler stole pink rabbit and bombs on aunt dainty) and this one is a great sequel to them . It tells the life of anna when she is a an adult and the twist at the end is fantastic.BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 10 May 2014
By 
David Livesey (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Part 3 of a triology. Having been born just after the war I found these books
a great insight into that life. Very readable and I don't read much at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lovely read as last one in the end of trilogy. Shame as wanted more when I had finished. Perhaps hear about the 'next' generation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Judith Kerr, 25 Dec 2013
This review is from: A Small Person Far Away (Kindle Edition)
I saw a programme about Judith Kerr on the TV and was fascinated. I then bought all 3 of her books. They were all so interesting about the life she led before, during and, in this book, after the war. They might be regarded as written for children but I found them fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Small Person Far Away
£3.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews