Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars10
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2013
I bought this on a whim and absolutely loved it! Never heard of the author Wol-vriey but liked the front cover if I'm honest and once I opened it I didn't put it down again until I'd finished.

In fairness it really doesn't have anything to do with Alice In Wonderland per se, more of a case of borrowing characters but the idea and execution (for me) was excellent and after reading it I picked up everything else I could find by Wol-vriey on my Kindle.

If you have a passing interest in 'Alice' you'd love it, steam punk - again, love it or just fiction in general - love it

It is a little saucy in places so be prepared

Captain
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
This book is barking mad.
It's very episodic: something happens and then something else happens; nothing seems to follow on from anything else and you can't tell whether any effects are permanent.
It's like some crazy dream.
I enjoyed it immensely.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
Alice in wonderland meets steam, set in Victorian America. Oh and jack the ripper is in there. It's a funny, well-written romp and worth the read. Beware some offensive and non-pc language
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 March 2015
Very intelligent novel that's a cross somewhere between the Alice books and Neal Stephenson's A Diamond Age.

Lots of sex, violence, clockwork and airships.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
A disappointment - some nice ideas, good descriptions of the steampunk technology, and some good jokes, but ultimately not very well written, with too much unjustified graphic violence and poorly described sex. I like sex, violence and violent sex as much as the next person, but this didn't work for me. Actually the Alice in Wonderland motifs made it worse - it felt like they'd been crowbarred in to keep a running joke going, and it would have been better without them. Somewhere in here there's a better book trying and failing to get out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2014
Bloody brilliant read! Done and dusted in 24 hours. Good story, good characters and best of all not to expensive.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2016
The characters are the same as in Alice in Wonderland and through the looking glass all set in a steampunk era which adds to the craziness. The main difference s is that Alice is from this world and not from another like the original story. I wasn't sure at first about this book but it is a great read it flows really well. The Cheshire Cat (s) butler is still my favourite character.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2016
Fun, imaginative, silly...oh and spicy too!
Queens at war! Retarded nephews and a killer on the loose!?
Huge steam powered war machines?
And to top it all off, a mad Hatter?

I will never see chocolate sauce the same again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
A really good twist on the classic tale. Found this book to be a spell binding read and will look for other work by the author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2016
Quirky, starts out well but gets to eat a little too much magic mushroom for my taste, not likely to buy a sequel
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse