Customer Reviews


10 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For All Eternity-Philip Catshill, 26 April 2015
This review is from: For all Eternity (Mike Newman Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
For All Eternity is made up of a few short stories designed to introduce you to characters who appear in the subsequent Mike Newman Mysteries. First among them is police officer and rugby player, John Collett. Save for Mike, whom he has known since childhood, John is friendless, secretive and reluctant to share his problems. His police career is marred by his involvement with the deceased in an unsolved murder, where he remains the principal suspect. Despite his passion of open spaces, within weeks of knowing her, John marries the agoraphobic, shy and stammering Susan. In order to elicit Mike's help, John finds he needs to share one of his guarded secrets. (Taken from description). I found the characters real and gritty, the story exciting and overall very easy to read and hard to put down! Can't wait to read another Philip Catshill story. Too bad it took me so long to discover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Enjoyable, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For all Eternity (Mike Newman Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I loved reading this. Much more my cup of tea compared to "A Penny for them." I like a story that grabs me in the first few pages and this does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Compelling Read, 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For all Eternity (Mike Newman Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Initially, Mr. Catshill has crafted a great hook. This in itself will ensure his readers feel compelled to purchase and read the other books in his mystery compilation.

As if this were not enough, Mr. Catshill has also created an air of mystery and intrigue around many of his characters. Which, in my opinion, will leave the reader wanting to read more.

Chris-Jean Clarke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crime with a twist, 5 July 2012
This review is from: For all Eternity (Mike Newman Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant prequel to the Mike Newman stories. A must read for people who like crime fiction with an unual twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Entertaining Read, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For all Eternity (Mike Newman Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book read a bit like a soap opera with each story focusing on a separate character or issue, but nevertheless connected as a whole. The characters were skilfully drawn and the author succeeded in grabbing my attention and making me want to find out more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Confident and well written, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For all Eternity (Mike Newman Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Billed as a book of short stories I found each one of them flowed naturally into the next with Catshill using the short story format to skip over time gaps skilfully until complete they formed one whole tale. Very enjoyable to read and very well written this book introduces us to Mike Newman, a policeman, who is trustworthy and honest in a police force where it seems not everyone is bound by the same moral code. He also has the most ghastly wife and a man of greater kindness and patience I am yet to meet! Catshill writes confidently of police procedure as well as painting wonderful pictures of his characters and their personalities as he brings them alive. This is the first book I have read from this author I recommend it and I shall definitely be reading more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Realistic and Absorbing, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For all Eternity (Mike Newman Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
For All Eternity by Philip Catshill (The Mike Newman Mysteries) is not your run of the mill thriller, filled with super human feats and characters with incredible super powers. Here the author presents the day to day trials and tribulations faced by ordinary men and women, working an extremely difficult job. Not only is Mike forced to deal with villains, but his domestic life is far from straight forward and you start to care about the lives of the characters and this acts as a glue to retain the reader's interest.

I thoroughly enjoyed this realistic take on police work and would recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of well written fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good characters, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For all Eternity (Mike Newman Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book as it had lots of short stories about the main character which led into each other will definitely look for the next one of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good guy, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For all Eternity (Mike Newman Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
predictable, but enjoyable. a tale of girl meets boy, with a twist. interwoven stories add depth to story. Would be a suitable read for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Enjoyed It - great read, 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For all Eternity (Mike Newman Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Well thought out characters against an authentic background with an interesting and page turning story. Will definitely be getting Book 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews