Customer Reviews


358 Reviews
5 star:
 (210)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (54)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a competent USB charging cable
It really is difficult to find USB cables that really will charge at 2A (the minimum rate at which most modern phones/tablets expect). While cheaper cables will work, the charging cycle is often considerably longer than when using the original cable: this is often due to two reasons:

1. the cable is of inferior size/quality; the AWG rating really does make a...
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fragile
Poorly designed. Managed to bend plug after one day, as metal plug doesn't extend far enough into the plastic body. Does charge devices fast though.
Published 10 months ago by Mr. Sd Hill


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a competent USB charging cable, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow Specialised Fast Charging Micro USB Cable for Blackberry, Xperia, HTC One, Google Nexus, Other Fast Charging Devices (Accessory)
It really is difficult to find USB cables that really will charge at 2A (the minimum rate at which most modern phones/tablets expect). While cheaper cables will work, the charging cycle is often considerably longer than when using the original cable: this is often due to two reasons:

1. the cable is of inferior size/quality; the AWG rating really does make a difference. Go for 24AWG or less (lower is better with AWG)

2. cables are often universal in duty: they often have all pins connected and usable as both to charge and in data connection; whilst useful in some circumstances the device can surreptitiously connect as a data link and this can cause a reduced charging current.

This product avoids the above issues. I can vouch that, for the 150cm version at least, the charging current capability is as good as the OEM cable. I am very keen to understand if the 250cm performs as well: I am yet to find good performance from a cable greater than 150cm.

To check the capability of your charger/cable combination, I recommend a Google Play app called "Galaxy Charging Current: Lite", if you have a Samsung device (except Tab 2). Take regard of the Max/Ave current and ignore the "Now" value. For other devices I recommend "Battery Charge Source Current".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin!!, 11 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow Specialised Fast Charging Micro USB Cable for Blackberry, Xperia, HTC One, Google Nexus, Other Fast Charging Devices (Accessory)
I received this yesterday, and used it today connected to a 2 amp cigarette lighter adapter on my Galaxy S3. I've a 25 mile commute that usually takes about 45 minutes and run the Waze navigation & traffic monitoring application on my phone, this requires a GPS signal and usually has the screen on constantly. Using a regular data transfer USB cable which I'd hacked to emulate a mains charger (shorting the two data wires), my phone would show as AC charging at 1 amp, but the battery level would decrease to about 80% over the trip. On this morning's drive, which took an hour and 5 minutes, the charging icon disappeared after about 30 minutes, and I suspected a problem with the cable and expected the battery to start to drain. Checking the battery status, it showed as 100%, and remained at this level for the remainder of the trip, so certainly seems to be able to provide sufficient power for screen & GPS, with a bit left over to charge the battery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PortaPow strikes again!, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow Specialised Fast Charging Micro USB Cable for Blackberry, Xperia, HTC One, Google Nexus, Other Fast Charging Devices (Accessory)
Bought this simply to go with PortaPow 4 USB mains charger.
Absolutely brilliant, fast charges, class cable.
Yes there are cheaper cables, tried different ones, not as robust feeling as this one.
More than happy with this cable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says., 12 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow Specialised Fast Charging Micro USB Cable for Blackberry, Xperia, HTC One, Google Nexus, Other Fast Charging Devices (Accessory)
I does what it says it will do and allow charging at 2A. However, users must realize that the lead is just one link in the charging chain. You need a suitably powered charger, a device with a battery that can be charged at the higher rate, and a device with a micro USB port that is also suitable. Get any one of these wrong and you'll just charge at the minimum rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars its a charge lead, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow Specialised Fast Charging Micro USB Cable for Blackberry, Xperia, HTC One, Google Nexus, Other Fast Charging Devices (Accessory)
i ordered my son a new lead for his google nexus which always seemed to be plugged in on charge. this lead got a wow from him when he saw the charge status after a much shorter period of time than all other cables he has had.. so in this case it does what it claims in our experience . CHARGE away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seems to Work, 1 Jan. 2014
By 
E. Smith (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow Specialised Fast Charging Micro USB Cable for Blackberry, Xperia, HTC One, Google Nexus, Other Fast Charging Devices (Accessory)
After getting sick of how long my new Nexus 7 was taking to charge, like 5 or 6 hours, I felt there had to be something better. I decided to give this a go and am impressed so far. I haven't timed it, but the 7 is definitely charging much faster now.

I also use it on my Nexus 5, with the same impressive results. In fact I'm so impressed that I've ordered another 3 for distributing around the home and work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Dec. 2013
By 
B. Patel (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow Specialised Fast Charging Micro USB Cable for Blackberry, Xperia, HTC One, Google Nexus, Other Fast Charging Devices (Accessory)
The cable is great and I purchased it specifically for using with my Anker Dual-Port USB Car Charger which is a fast charger.
Does the job so no complaints and the wire is long enough to reach from the charger to the windscreen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fragile, 23 May 2014
By 
Mr. Sd Hill "Flyboy" (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow Specialised Fast Charging Micro USB Cable for Blackberry, Xperia, HTC One, Google Nexus, Other Fast Charging Devices (Accessory)
Poorly designed. Managed to bend plug after one day, as metal plug doesn't extend far enough into the plastic body. Does charge devices fast though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fast at charging. Even faster at breaking apart, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow Specialised Fast Charging Micro USB Cable for Blackberry, Xperia, HTC One, Google Nexus, Other Fast Charging Devices (Accessory)
This product seems like a life saver for all those power guzzling devices. And if you're lucky, it will be. The problem is the micro USB connector is a pain to stay put because the fins that hold it in place are ridiculously tiny specially for such a bulky design. This means that even though it will charge faster than usual you will be very lucky if it will manage to get a full battery before it randomly disconnects midway through.

Used it on my Nexus 7 and a friend's HTC One

UPDATE: The micro USB plug literally came apart after a single month. Buy at your own risk, I do not recommend at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only lasted 4 months, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow Specialised Fast Charging Micro USB Cable for Blackberry, Xperia, HTC One, Google Nexus, Other Fast Charging Devices (Accessory)
Whilst this did everything you could want from a micro usb cable it has fallen apart after just over 4 months use. It sits permanently plugged in by my bed and the micro-usb end has started to fall apart - the metal part is coming out of the plastic outer. It's not had a hard life so it's not a brand I'd use again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews