Customer Reviews


269 Reviews
5 star:
 (156)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (42)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a competent USB charging cable
It really is difficult to find USB cables that really will charge at 2A (the minimum rate at which most modern phones/tablets expect). While cheaper cables will work, the charging cycle is often considerably longer than when using the original cable: this is often due to two reasons:

1. the cable is of inferior size/quality; the AWG rating really does make a...
Published 9 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor durability
Fast charging however has a week connection at the micro-usb end which would not stay in after only a few weeks use, wont be buying another
Published 8 months ago by Bill Hall


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a competent USB charging cable, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow Specialised Fast Charging Micro USB Cable for Blackberry, Xperia, HTC One, Google Nexus, Other Fast Charging Devices (Accessory)
It really is difficult to find USB cables that really will charge at 2A (the minimum rate at which most modern phones/tablets expect). While cheaper cables will work, the charging cycle is often considerably longer than when using the original cable: this is often due to two reasons:

1. the cable is of inferior size/quality; the AWG rating really does make a difference. Go for 24AWG or less (lower is better with AWG)

2. cables are often universal in duty: they often have all pins connected and usable as both to charge and in data connection; whilst useful in some circumstances the device can surreptitiously connect as a data link and this can cause a reduced charging current.

This product avoids the above issues. I can vouch that, for the 150cm version at least, the charging current capability is as good as the OEM cable. I am very keen to understand if the 250cm performs as well: I am yet to find good performance from a cable greater than 150cm.

To check the capability of your charger/cable combination, I recommend a Google Play app called "Galaxy Charging Current: Lite", if you have a Samsung device (except Tab 2). Take regard of the Max/Ave current and ignore the "Now" value. For other devices I recommend "Battery Charge Source Current".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin!!, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow Specialised Fast Charging Micro USB Cable for Blackberry, Xperia, HTC One, Google Nexus, Other Fast Charging Devices (Accessory)
I received this yesterday, and used it today connected to a 2 amp cigarette lighter adapter on my Galaxy S3. I've a 25 mile commute that usually takes about 45 minutes and run the Waze navigation & traffic monitoring application on my phone, this requires a GPS signal and usually has the screen on constantly. Using a regular data transfer USB cable which I'd hacked to emulate a mains charger (shorting the two data wires), my phone would show as AC charging at 1 amp, but the battery level would decrease to about 80% over the trip. On this morning's drive, which took an hour and 5 minutes, the charging icon disappeared after about 30 minutes, and I suspected a problem with the cable and expected the battery to start to drain. Checking the battery status, it showed as 100%, and remained at this level for the remainder of the trip, so certainly seems to be able to provide sufficient power for screen & GPS, with a bit left over to charge the battery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PortaPow strikes again!, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow Specialised Fast Charging Micro USB Cable for Blackberry, Xperia, HTC One, Google Nexus, Other Fast Charging Devices (Accessory)
Bought this simply to go with PortaPow 4 USB mains charger.
Absolutely brilliant, fast charges, class cable.
Yes there are cheaper cables, tried different ones, not as robust feeling as this one.
More than happy with this cable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars its a charge lead, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow Specialised Fast Charging Micro USB Cable for Blackberry, Xperia, HTC One, Google Nexus, Other Fast Charging Devices (Accessory)
i ordered my son a new lead for his google nexus which always seemed to be plugged in on charge. this lead got a wow from him when he saw the charge status after a much shorter period of time than all other cables he has had.. so in this case it does what it claims in our experience . CHARGE away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seems to Work, 1 Jan 2014
By 
E. Smith (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow Specialised Fast Charging Micro USB Cable for Blackberry, Xperia, HTC One, Google Nexus, Other Fast Charging Devices (Accessory)
After getting sick of how long my new Nexus 7 was taking to charge, like 5 or 6 hours, I felt there had to be something better. I decided to give this a go and am impressed so far. I haven't timed it, but the 7 is definitely charging much faster now.

I also use it on my Nexus 5, with the same impressive results. In fact I'm so impressed that I've ordered another 3 for distributing around the home and work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Dec 2013
By 
B. Patel (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow Specialised Fast Charging Micro USB Cable for Blackberry, Xperia, HTC One, Google Nexus, Other Fast Charging Devices (Accessory)
The cable is great and I purchased it specifically for using with my Anker Dual-Port USB Car Charger which is a fast charger.
Does the job so no complaints and the wire is long enough to reach from the charger to the windscreen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best cable and best company to buy from!, 21 Jun 2014
By 
Paul GF (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
DO NOT BE PUT OFF BY OLD REVIEWS! THE CABLE SUPPLIED NOW IS STRONGER AND BETTER THAN THE PREVIOUS CABLE SUPPLIED!!!
READ BELOW!

I recently bought one of these and my situation was similar to many others here in the reviews.. Charged great but the end of the cable became loose after a month or so. I went to the PortaPow website and saw that these cables have a one year guarantee! I contacted them via the contact page on their site ( [...]) and within half a day I had a response telling me to take a quick pic of the broken cable and they would replace it. They also informed me of the following:

'We are now making an improved design which is more robust and this will be available for sale within 1 week, we will send this out to you.'
They also said that the new, improved cable should 'last me years and not months'.

Within a week I had a replacement cable.
The new cable has now been in use a couple of weeks and I have to say I can already tell that it is of stronger stuff!
The way this company dealt with my complaint and with such courtesy, is enough for me to recommend them and I will certainly buy from them again.
Not many companies take the time to listen to their customers and review their product to improve the problem, just look around at all the crap you can buy online nowadays! PortaPow are a pleasure to do business with. Cables aren't too bad either! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says., 12 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow Specialised Fast Charging Micro USB Cable for Blackberry, Xperia, HTC One, Google Nexus, Other Fast Charging Devices (Accessory)
I does what it says it will do and allow charging at 2A. However, users must realize that the lead is just one link in the charging chain. You need a suitably powered charger, a device with a battery that can be charged at the higher rate, and a device with a micro USB port that is also suitable. Get any one of these wrong and you'll just charge at the minimum rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Charging Nexus 7 in the car, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow Specialised Fast Charging Micro USB Cable for Blackberry, Xperia, HTC One, Google Nexus, Other Fast Charging Devices (Accessory)
spent a small fortune looking for a solution to charge TWO Nexus 7's at the same time in the car. The solution seems to be a Griffin Power Jolt dual (2 x 2.1A outputs - the charger with different cables didnt work, showed a USB trickle charge but ultimately when on the Nexus used more power than it got) but with these cables they both go from flat to full (being used) in about 90 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor durability, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow Specialised Fast Charging Micro USB Cable for Blackberry, Xperia, HTC One, Google Nexus, Other Fast Charging Devices (Accessory)
Fast charging however has a week connection at the micro-usb end which would not stay in after only a few weeks use, wont be buying another
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews