Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spirited
Words are not sufficient to decsribe the depth of this band. They have offer something differant and also very comforting to any head banger. Stonner metal meets In Flames. I listened and listend again to this CD. Its up there in the top drawer. A truly inavative and creative band OMG.
Published on 6 Feb. 2013 by JD

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat lethargic feeling...
Gojira have never really excited me as much as they should have, I feel. Besides "From Mars to Sirius" (a good album, full of variety), I've found their albums rather laborious to listen to; repetitive in many parts, mostly unrelenting in their "wall of sound" dynamic and with monotous vocals. Still, I've always admired the tightness between the playing of the different...
Published on 18 Jan. 2013 by Thomas


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat lethargic feeling..., 18 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L'Enfant Sauvage (MP3 Download)
Gojira have never really excited me as much as they should have, I feel. Besides "From Mars to Sirius" (a good album, full of variety), I've found their albums rather laborious to listen to; repetitive in many parts, mostly unrelenting in their "wall of sound" dynamic and with monotous vocals. Still, I've always admired the tightness between the playing of the different musicians and their willingness to experiment with angular, polyrhythmic riffs and electronic elements.

So what of this album? I'm afraid it leaves me with the same sense of wasted potential as other Gojira albums. The musicians are obviously talented yet the songs contain riffs that often out-stay their welcome, as well as sounding suspiciously similar to other riffs contained within the album. The sense of aggression seems to have been tempered too, with Gojira sounding like they're occassionally going through the motions with songs that can seem as if they are lethargically plodding along, instead of either transcending into textural expirimentation or ferociously kicking you in the face. I also note that the bouncy, almost hip-hop drum rhythms that made Gojira a more unique proposition seem to be decling in frequency.

It's not a "bad" album per se. It's done with professionalism and a high quality of musicianship and Joe Duplantier should be commended for his philosophical lyrics that don't fall prey to the adolescent, mindless nihilism that some bands indulge in, mistakenly believing their peurile texts to be some expression of deep philosophical sensitivity. Nevertheless, "L'enfant Sauvage" once again fails to live up to the bar of thoughtful, textured brutality set by "From Mars to Sirius."

We know Gojira are capable of brilliance, it's just a shame that the brilliance is the exception, not the norm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spirited, 6 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L'Enfant Sauvage (Audio CD)
Words are not sufficient to decsribe the depth of this band. They have offer something differant and also very comforting to any head banger. Stonner metal meets In Flames. I listened and listend again to this CD. Its up there in the top drawer. A truly inavative and creative band OMG.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could be the album of 2012, 16 April 2013
By 
J. Westram "Jules" (Leicestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L'Enfant Sauvage (Audio CD)
This is an AMAZING album and I must admit I play it a lot!! I didn't have anything else by Gojira before this and now am collecting everything they've done. But this album is so fantastic, you won't be disappointed!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars C'est manifique, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L'Enfant Sauvage (Audio CD)
Another great album by possibly the heaviest band on the planet! I had forgotten how good this band are but was reminded on the recent Jaegermeister Tour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heaviness untold....., 5 Nov. 2012
This review is from: L'Enfant Sauvage (Audio CD)
Bought this album on the strength of hearing Oroborus from The Way Of All Flesh and the fact that it was recommended by Kerrang as a contender for album of the year. I was not disappointed! First if all its extremely heavy ( nothing wrong with that) and stompingly aggressive. However this is coupled with melodic and addictive riffing. The drumming is quite phenomenal. All of this sits together perfectly. Songs such as The Axe, The Gift Of Guilt and Born In Winter are the most melodic and stand out because of this. The whole album has a spacey, otherworldly feel to it and would not be out of place as a soundtrack to a Lovecraft novel. This album kicks ass from the first listen, but like the best albums, it takes 5-6 listens to fully appreciate what is going on here. What is going on is the future of heavy metal and I haven't heard anything this year better than this. Vive La France! Merci pour L'enfant Sauvage!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money., 31 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L'Enfant Sauvage (Audio CD)
Admittedly, this isn't as good as "Way of the Flesh" in my personal opinion, but the more melodic direction in this album makes a nice change from the usual heavy metal. Its the sort of thing you'd want to listen to when making your breakfast on a sunday morning after a nice, long lie-in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy Stuff!, 12 Dec. 2013
This review is from: L'Enfant Sauvage (Audio CD)
Anyone that knows who Gojira are will know how instrumentally insane and talented they are!

This album from start to finish is brilliant. Heavy riffs that will literally blow your mind. Some of the grooves are brilliant, for instance when Explosia kicks into the main riff you cant help but rock out.

The album and band are an acquired taste, it can be pretty intense and stupidly heavy. If you're a fan of anything from Metallica to Meshuggah, you will probably enjoy (at least parts of) this album!

From a guitarists/drummers point of view, this is a bloody masterpiece. Have a look before you buy if you're not into super heavy music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What I wanted, 2 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L'Enfant Sauvage (Audio CD)
It was exactly what i wanted from the product although, the case was a little damaged meaning it doesn't close properly, but that's not an issue as the disk is undamaged, excelled, great speed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Killer Album, 20 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L'Enfant Sauvage (Audio CD)
This album is easily as good as both 'From Mars to Sirius' and 'The Way of All Flesh' and proves once again that Gojira have a unique sound and can move forward while retaining all the best elements of their previous albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it!!!, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L'Enfant Sauvage (Audio CD)
Extremely fast delivery, what a cd! Discovered this band on youtube and I'm glad I did, one of the best metal cd's I've purchased in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

L'Enfant Sauvage
Buy MP3 Album£7.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews