Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars54
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2011
I often find that the simplest of watch designs look the best - and this is arguably the case with the 'Lorus Gents Lumibrite Dial Military Style Watch' - yes, it has a longwinded title, but the watch itself is very simple.

The Lorus is water resistant to 100 metres, meaning it's safe to wear whilst swimming or in the bath (or whilst swimming in the bath...!). In terms of its appearance, the watch has a large white face featuring black numbers and markers - this makes it especially good for those with limited eyesight, and is much easier to read than the watches which utilize a black face with white numbers. Darkness isn't a problem for the watch, as it has a Lumibrite face, which illuminates with a bright green glow (no batteries required) in dim conditions.

The Lorus has a very limited set of features - there's a small section which displays the day and the current date, but that's it - nothing else of note. The second hand moves around with a nice action, and setting the time is easily done via a pull out 'winder' on the watch's right hand side.

The face of the watch is made from glass, and as a result is pretty scratch resistant. The surround is metal, and overall, the watch feels really well made and sturdy. That said, it's quite light-weight, and certainly won't make your wrist hurt after a day of wearing it. The strap is made from a dark grey fabric and is very hardwearing - it's comfortable to wear, which is always a bonus. In terms of the battery, it takes a small and flat watch button-cell which lasts a decent amount of time (a couple of years). When the battery does finally give up the ghost, it is pretty cheap to replace - jewellers will do it for a few quid.

If it's a basic, reliable, and nice looking watch that you're after, then you won't go to far wrong with the Lorus Military Style Watch - it's sturdy, comes with a two year warranty, and most importantly it keeps good time - highly recommended.
0Comment29 of 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2009
I absolutely love this watch!
It is stylish and tough and ultra accurate. The face glows all night after short exposure to a bright light or simply by wearing in normal sun light. It is especially bright after coming indoors from outside and looks amazing. I get a lot of good comments about it all of the time.
It is actually made by Seiko and so it's accuracy is astounding. I have not tested it in water, but it is supposed to be good down to 100 metres - I love it too much to get it wet!!
I brought this mainly for its glow in the dark capability and have not been disappointed - I still look at the watch in the dark just for the pleasure of seeing it glow!
Well done Lorus.
0Comment19 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2009
The watch is made by the Seiko Corporation so quality is more or less assured. This is a very easy to read no frills watch. If it has had enough bright light (preferrably sun light)it glows eerily for a good long while, the whole dial illuminates not just the usual 'hands and pips' and with its black hands stands out really well. It still glows many hours later and although the level of illumination drops off, it is still perfectly visible in the small hours. The strap is absolute rubbish, and although it does the job, will not last very long. I swapped mine straight away for a smart brown leather 'bund' stlyle 3 piece military strap. It looks dead cool and quite 'retro'. In all a very good watch for the money, and an excellent day to day timepiece.
0Comment13 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2009
I've had one of these for 3 years now, as my "rough" watch for sports, travel and DIY, and it has been a great watch. Very light, very simple, no frills, just the job. The glow-in-the-dark face is really useful, and provides endless entertainment for my little nieces & nephews who are fascinated by it.
It seems to be water proof, though I haven't taken it down to 100m to test its full capability...
I'm going to get a new one now, as mine has finally bitten the dust after being bashed against steel filing cabinets and door handles countless times (I'm kind of clumsy). It did keep going for quite a while with a sizeable chunk taken out of the glass, and was still water tight too until yesterday. The fabric strap was getting a bit ragged after 3 years, but I guess that would be easy and cheap to replace.
All in all, a great straightforward and simple watch.
0Comment17 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2011
This watch looks good, has a very clear face, and the lumibrite feature is effective - and fun. Some People might complain about the strap, but, although it seems flimsy, it's fine. In any case, it can easily be replaced if you really don't like it. It may be worth your while to shop around a little, as these watches are available from £25 (if you collect from a store). Recommended, and well worth the money.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2010
Remarkable value for money, this neat, lightweight, compact wristwatch, well-made and accurate, is not only modestly elegant but also sporty and durable, with the bonus of day/date calendar, 24 hour dial and luminous face. I own a dozen watches, most of them chronometers, but this is the one I choose to wear daily. I managed to find an expanding stainless steel bracelet to match the satin finish of this watch, complementing it perfectly, so it slips on easily and quickly (circa 2 seconds!). If the primary purpose of a watch is to show the time, day or night, precisely and clearly, at a glance, then this Lorus fulfils that requirement admirably. I love it.
0Comment15 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
I own this watch and feel a real affinity for it. I have swum down to a few metres in it and it has not leaked at all.

The very same watch is £25 at Argos. Don't just assume Marketplace sellers offer the lowest prices.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
Just a brief review to respond to the review of alan hodkinson, who wrote that his watch was losing 10-15 minutes per day. I synced mine to an NTP pool (atomic clock online service) and, after one month, re-checked and found that my watch was still precisely 0.5 seconds behind the atomic clock, exactly as it was after I synced it. So, if anyone finds theirs is losing time, have it repaired or replaced under your warranty.

Other than that, this is a fine watch for the price. I just wish it had a perpetual calendar, but finding one of those at a reasonable price isn't easy, and IME impossible with day and date formatted the way it is on this watch.

This'll do in the meantime.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2012
this is the wot beats them all frm skeonda to rotary i had same watch for many years in the royal marines 42 commando its dun it been there falklans bosniar sudan irland dust swops rivers mud if you wont a watch that will last a life time get this
11 comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
The watch looks great, and I loved it. But then I realised it was losing between 5-10mins a week. : (

I'll be sending it back and asking for a replacement. I hoping that I have been unlucky with the time keeping on this one as no one else has mentioned it.

If the replacement is a good time keeper I'll re-write this review as the watch looks great
11 comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Buy Special Ops Watches Online. Tactical/ Military Models Available
  -  
Lumibrite 22% & 32% whitening gel at Smilox. Save with free shipping.