Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!
I have become completely addicted to Debbie Macomber's Cedar Cove series, and although this isn't one of them, it is set there, and that's good enough for me. I was so pleased to see some of the old characters appear briefly to interact with the new. They are like old friends, so it was good to catch up with them again.
This book is a little different in several ways...
Published on 19 Aug. 2012 by Basement Cat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read
I love the series books of debbie macomber
I liked that she has brought in old faces
Look forward to reading the next book
Published 17 months ago by Kizzy


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 19 Aug. 2012
By 
Basement Cat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have become completely addicted to Debbie Macomber's Cedar Cove series, and although this isn't one of them, it is set there, and that's good enough for me. I was so pleased to see some of the old characters appear briefly to interact with the new. They are like old friends, so it was good to catch up with them again.
This book is a little different in several ways to the Cedar Cove series. First of all, the main character, the owner of the B&B, is the narrator, so we see some of the story through her eyes. The other thing is that there is a lot of sadness in this book. Debbie Macomber has recently lost a son, and I'm sure that this will have had a profound effect on her writing.. The B&B owner is a war widow, and both of her guests are suffering from the loss of people close to them. But it is not a sad book. Ultimately there is healing, and I felt that it was a very uplifting book.
Debbie Macomber's books are so enjoyable, and so addictive that I feel a bit sad that I've finished it. She is a wonderful writer, and I'm so pleased that I discovered her books. They are not literary or pretentious in any way, but are always a very good read. This new series looks as though it's going to be just as good as the others, and I hope it won't be too long until the next one comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fab start to her new series, 24 Aug. 2012
By 
Sharon (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although The Inn at Rose Harbor is set in Cedar Cove this is not part of the Cedar Cove series but the the first book in her new Rose Harbor series.

At the Rose Harbor Inn we meet Jo Marie who has decided she needs a fresh start so she has bought the bed and breakfast inn in picturesque Cedar Cove. Both of her first guests though are reluctant returnees to Cedar Cove and both hope to get through their stay as quick as possible and then leave...

Josh has not returned to Cedar Cove since his stepfather Richard kicked him out shortly after the death of his mother. When Josh is contacted to advise that Richard is dying he returns to retrieve a few of his own and his mother's possessions but he knows he won't be welcomed with open arms by Richard.

Meanwhile Abby has to overcome the demons that haunt her about the terrible accident that killed her best friend Angela when they were teenagers. She's not been back to Cedar Cove for over ten years but as her brother has chosen to get married there it's something she's going to have to face.

It was nice to see a few of the old Cedar Cove characters make brief appearances throughout the book but the main emphasis was on the three main characters, Jo Marie, Josh and Abby. Between the three of them there is a lot of sadness as they're having to cope with death, grief and guilt and a lot of healing is needed to enable them to look forward to the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars comfortable, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inn at Rose Harbor (Kindle Edition)
I was a little sceptical that this would be another 're-cap' of previous stories, but this was very enjoyable with just enough old characters popping in to give a feeling of knowing the area in which it is set. I was left wanting more, and look forward to the follow up books. Good light reading as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet and enjoyable, 24 April 2013
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Inn at Rose Harbor is the first book (apart from the prequel eShort, When First They Met) in the Rose Harbor series by popular American author, Debbie Macomber. This is a new series but is set in Cedar Cove, Washington, so fans of the long-running Cedar Cove series will be pleased at occasional glimpses and cameo appearances of characters from that series. Jo Marie Rose is a young widow who has bought a B&B in Cedar Cove, a move she is hoping will help her heal from the loss of her husband, Paul. Her first guests are people who also need healing: Abby Kincaid is a guilt-ridden young woman who fled Cedar Cove fifteen years ago after being the driver in a car accident that killed her best friend; Josh Weaver has returned to Cedar Cove to tend his ailing step-father, the same man who kicked him out of his home after his mother died. Macomber is the queen of feelgood and manages to organise forgiveness, reconciliation and true love for both Abby and Josh over the course of three days. It seems that Jo Marie's healing is advancing too. Olivia Griffin, Grace Harding, Corrie McAfee and Peggy Beldon make appearances, as do a few spirits, a dubious character looking for a handout, a cranky handyman and a dog named Rover. Macomber sets up the next book in the series, Rose Harbor in Bloom, by having Jo Marie take bookings for the next two guests, and also includes a couple of knitting patterns. Sweet and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait to read the next one, 24 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inn at Rose Harbor (Kindle Edition)
This is a lovely extension of the Cedar Cove books. The characters are interesting and their stories unfold naturally as the book goes on. I loved the way some characters from the previous Cedar Cove books "dropped in" on the story, like old friends. Classic Debbie Macomber.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back to Cedar Cove, 9 Sept. 2012
This will hopefully be the first in a series of books. I read and loved every single book about Cedar Cove and like many other readers was upset to find out the series had finished. Even though this is a stand alone book, it is still set in Cedar Cove and many of the old characters were mentioned which was lovely to find out how they were doing (I know, I know, they're not real!!!) Debbie writes with such an easy style, so lovely to read and understand and makes you care about the people she writes about.Can't wait for the next one to find out who's going to be 'cured' by staying at the Inn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book, 1 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's great to revisit Cedar Cove, which we thought Debbie had left behind forever, and meet some new characters. The inn is a place of healing and hopefully many more books will follow set in this beautiful place where guests can come and confront their issues and eventually leave with their life turned round for the better. Another great book from Debbie which leaves you feeling good about life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inn at Rose Harbour, 17 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Received this book and read it within about 4 hours. Another Debbie Macomber classic. You either love her books or hate them - I am a lover of all her books. This is about finding healing for the inner man where you least expect to find it and also that troubles are much better faced up to head on at the time than letting them fester for years and years. It works for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Healing, 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inn at Rose Harbor (Kindle Edition)
The idea of a physical haven of peace and healing is so appealing to me. Debbie Macomber' s story of an inn where healing the spirit takes place resonated with me in a major way. She is idealistic but also realistic. Her characters seem so real and her stories so compelling that I hate to come to the end of them. Can't wait to start the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rose Harbor, 4 Jun. 2013
By 
Anne Mcgovern "A McGovern" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This story is what you come to expect from this author. Telling the tale of three people who stay at the Inn - the new owner and her first two guests.

You find out why they came to this place and how they cope with their personal issues

This is an excellent story and I look forward to reading the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Inn at Rose Harbor
The Inn at Rose Harbor by Debbie Macomber
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews