Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great price
christmas stocking filler and has been a big hit. Apparently it takes a bit of studying at the beginning for all the moves and plays but that is all part of the fun according to my 13 year old.
Published 8 months ago by Danielle

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Madden game another piece of awesomeness but i was wrong
As a regular madden gamer. This instalment was bad in my opinion. No more training challenges so hard to lend it for non Madden fans who want to learn how to play it. No more offline Season mode, so makes it impossible to play it when not on the net. So I had to do endless exhibition games instead. Really stupid by EA to make this a multi player On-line focused only.
Published 13 months ago by H. Elmi


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great price, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madden NFL 13 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
christmas stocking filler and has been a big hit. Apparently it takes a bit of studying at the beginning for all the moves and plays but that is all part of the fun according to my 13 year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 24 Jan 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Madden NFL 13 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Despite it being late in the year to buy madden 13, i think its worth every penny. hours of fun for a NFL fan, but i would wait for the price to drop a little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much has changed, 2 Oct 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madden NFL 13 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The last madden I bought was madden 10, and only now have I deemed a madden worthy of purchase. Many things have changed this year, mostly for the better.

Connected careers is one great addition. Many people are complaining that features have been removed but this is not how I have found things. Having played full seasons as both a player and a coach, I have been much more engrossed in the experience. As a player there is the allure of season goals, hall of fame recognition and player progression (which makes this superstar mode much more playable and purposeful). As a coach now you can be fired which adds an element of pressure, and goals adapt to your success or failure to make next season more realistic and enjoyable. Free agency is pretty interesting too, as you can see who has bid for players and watch as the offers are wittled down. My only issue is the lack of notification when you successfully gain a free agent (i only found out when checking my roster). The draft is another great improvement. It feels so life-like in the way that cpu teams trade up and down picks, and the back stories behind players is a nice touch. Scouting is a huge part of the game now, if you don't scout the right players you will end up guessing on players and inevitably wind up with first round busts. Finally, the added news feed is interesting to read throughout the year, and can be helpful for scouting players, as it hints at who is playing well in the college leagues etc.

Gameplay feels different too. The new physics engine definitely has flaws - players running into each other will react no matter who they are or when this happens (even after the end of plays). It can get frustrating as a running back to trip over a lineman in the back field when you can see a huge lane opening up. But thankfully, this is rare and with more practice it becomes a rare occurence. Ultimately running is more interesting (no more guaranteed TDs by juking/trucking everywhere) and tackles often feel much more powerful and wince-worthy, which is always a plus. Tackles and sacks generally look more pleasing, and the new ball hawk interception system is fun without making interceptions overly simple.

The one problem i did have however is with defence this year. While playing as the bills, with a great d, it was still really tough to get stops, especially against superstar players (to the point that any team with a running back or receiver over 80 tended to win games against me). Eventually i found that commiting to a type of play using the left trigger was one way of dealing with it, and in a way it makes things more challenging, but it can be frustrating.

In conclusion, while many say this madden is terrible, I think it is in fact one of the best yet. I was on the fence with this but haven't regretted it at all. The graphics are great, the gameplay is vastly better and the game modes have more depth - you feel more inclined to play in your league's universe for as long as possible. With fantasy draft being added apparently there really isn't much of a reason not to get this game.

+ great gameplay, with a physics engine, means no repetitive animations
+ immersive career modes, franchise and superstar are still here! And they have improved for the better
+ it seems EA have listened and are adding fantasy draft

- defence can be a b%$, especially against speedy players
- players tripping over each other isn't a great look, and can really ruin some great plays
- i guess if i'm complaining, why wasn't this changed earlier?

Verdict: 8(.5) out of 10 - a great, slightly flawed, but largely well executed madden, if you're sitting on the fence you won't regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Game, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madden NFL 13 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Good game, bought for a knockdown price, easy to understand and has a few more additional features to the previous version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh yeah!, 8 Dec 2013
By 
Shaun Johnston "xJohnOx" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madden NFL 13 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Game was class but I have now moved on to Madden 25 which to be honest is a lot better. But Madden is 13 is cheaper and you know it is a great way to test if you like the game before paying more for the most recent version. Delivered very fast and it's a great game, Ultimate team is sooo addictive, trust me you will be hooked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun game, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madden NFL 13 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Shipping: Game arrived on time, and in good condition. 5/5

Game: A fun game. I don't get the Madden's every year, but the last one I got was Madden 11. There's been some improvements since then, I mostly play offline mode, but the player career is a bit frustrating. It seems Madden will never be able to make realistic player personnel decision - you can be NFL MVP one year but be put on the bench the next year just because the team signed a free agent with a higher overall rating.

The challenges to gain points could be more immersive too. The game is a lot more difficult, playing as QB you'd think everyone on the defense is Deion Sanders, always seeing the plays when your receivers never do.

But with some slider adjustments this is a pretty entertaining game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Madden game another piece of awesomeness but i was wrong, 17 Aug 2013
By 
H. Elmi (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madden NFL 13 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As a regular madden gamer. This instalment was bad in my opinion. No more training challenges so hard to lend it for non Madden fans who want to learn how to play it. No more offline Season mode, so makes it impossible to play it when not on the net. So I had to do endless exhibition games instead. Really stupid by EA to make this a multi player On-line focused only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far greater improvement, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madden NFL 13 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Since being a Madden fan since '06 you can tell the improvements each year are leading to something really great. Madden 13 is probably my favorite Madden so far, with the new tackling system, passing trajectories and motion blur. Still a lot to work on, such as glitchy tackles and jumps some times, and far more drops than need be, but it is a far better game both in the gameplay and presentation. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 8 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madden NFL 13 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have never played other Madden games, so I'm can't compare.

But I enjoy this Madden a lot - playing with my brother on MUT is great. Career mode is great fun, solo or with other players - either as a pre-existing coach or your own made up coach. The difficulty is a little weird, as it's either very hard or extremely easy - no middle ground.

MUT is, as all other Ultimate team games, outrageously expensive. But who cares - getting Joe Montana was worth the extra £20, right? Right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xmas present, 26 Dec 2012
By 
L. G. Roberts (Newark UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madden NFL 13 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Brought for son who loves the Madden series.
Excellent game. Any issues with previous game have been resolved, and play is more fluid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Madden NFL 13 (Xbox 360)
Madden NFL 13 (Xbox 360) by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
£9.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews